We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Terrabambu is a beautiful property located with beautiful views of Mindo and the surrounding cloud forests. The eating and "lounge" area is great as well. After reading previous reviews on tripadvisor, we were excited to arrive for our two-night stay. However, when we checked into our room, we found that it hadn't been cleaned recently, was full of bugs (including cockroaches), and was generally falling apart around the edges. While Terrabambu is located in what is basically a rain forest, I was quite disappointed to find a dirty room in obvious disrepair given the price we were paying (fairly high for Ecuador). Not only was the room unclean upon arrival, it wasn't cleaned nor were we given fresh towels during our two-night stay. While staff was helpful and friendly, I would not recommend Terrabambu. I would think there are much better places to stay in Mindo--it's just not worth the price, unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    18
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Choosing Terrabambu for our stay was the perfect decision. The size of the bungalows is perfect for a family or friends. Location is good since you are close to las cascadas. Food is really good here and most of all the attention from the owner is also very attentive. I will definetely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful retreat just outside of Mindo. Outside of the hustle and bustle of town, but ideally located for zip lining, hiking, tubing, and the butterfly garden. Easy and cheap to get a taxi into town or a nice 25 minute walk. Lots of room for the kids to run around. Friendly and helpful staff!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stempleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

An amazing place - beautiful views, great individual cabins with outdoor seating and comfy beds, spotless pool, gourmet food and a wonderful host. So much to do in the area (butterfly gardens, chocolate tour, Terabita canopy ride). Osvaldo helped arrange taxis and activities and made sure we were well taken care of. A real gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

don't you love it when you can't decide where to stay and the place you pick is awesome? We definitely made the right choice in Mindo- our host was worldly and gracious, the setting beautiful, and the food fabulous. Lots to do and see nearby, but also great for just relaxing and watching the birds and wildlife.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This Awesome Place Offers Beautiful Cabins On Top Of A Mountain. A Perfectly Situated Swimming Pool With A Magnificant Mountanreous Backdrop. And An Owner That Aims To Please. Thank You For A Great Stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank miracles0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We wanted to finish off our 2 month trip through Peru and Ecuador at a beautiful and relaxing place, and we found just that at Terrabambu. The two-level bungalow with a nice deck overlooking the valley was perfect for our family of 4. From the deck, we could sit and watch parrots, toucanets, aracaris, hummingbirds and tanagers feed on the trees. The pool and grounds are beautifully landscaped. There is a lot of space between the various bungalows, so the place feels very private. Owner Oswaldo is very welcoming, hands-on and helpful in every way. Food is excellent, in fact we ate at the hotel almost every night--which is not typical of us. Breakfast was really good (warm fresh baked goods, fresh squeezed juices, good coffee). Staff, especially Evelyn, was warm and wonderful. We highly recommend this lovely place in Mindo.

Room Tip: All the bungalows looked great, but ours was perfect for 4 or 5 people. The whirlpool in the upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.2 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
2.5 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 18 in Mindo
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mindo Lago
Mindo Lago
#36 of 47 in Mindo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge

Property: Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge
Address: Camino a Las Cascadas s/n, Mindo 170167, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TerraBambú Restaurant and Lodge is just 79 kilometers northwest of the city of Quito and 1250 meters above sea level in one of the areas of greatest biodiversity in the world. Terrabambú Restaurant and Lodge is situated on the banks of the Bosque Protector Mindo-Nambillo and a few minutes from the town of Mindo. TerraBambú Restaurant and Lodge is transformed into a haven for relaxation and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Terrabambu Restaurant Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing