We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely place
If you like to stay in the middle of nature, yet close to restaurants, cafes etc. this is the place. Rooms are very basic, but there is a lovely kitchen/terrace-area, where you can sit (and also cook yourselves) amongst greenery/orchids and hummingbirds. Also there is a small corner indoor with a couch. Breakfast is good and there is good WIFI in the common-areas. Pretty good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maibrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    41
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Really friendly and full of knowledge owners. We stayed in a very comfortable, cosy private room with a hammock in the balcony. You can relax and read a book or just hear and watch birds and admire an extensive collection of orchids all around the place. Loved having humming birds all around us while enjoying the breakfast which is included in the price. Having free wifi was a bonus. I would highly recommend this place, while having everyday comfort you still have a feel of being out in a jungle. We loved the place!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genoa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

It's hard to say just how many times I have stayed here -- 30, maybe 40 times? It's easily the most relaxing place in Mindo, esp when you consider the price. Alicia is a wonderful host, who I will always hold close to my heart. If you are interested in learning about orchids or different tropical bird species, this is the place to do it. You will have breakfast every morning sorrounded by hummingbirds, tucans, and hundreds of species of orchids. Alicia and her husband are very knowledgeable and love to answer questions and give tours of the grounds. Make sure to ask about the microscopic orchids! (Literally, to see them, you must look through a microscope).

Room Tip: I always choose the cabin past the main house. For a large group, make sure to ask for the cabin wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkrupa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

If you like nature this is the place!!! Lots of orchids and birds in a very relaxing environment. The staff is exceptional, we loved our stay at
Cabañas Armonía y Jardín de Orquídeas donde la vida pasa sin apuro.

Room Tip: All the cabins are alike and among lots of vegetation, some closer and some farther from the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The cabins at Cabañas Armonia impeccably clean, cozy, and reasonably priced. More importantly, the owner Alicia and her family are some of the nicest people you will meet in Ecuador. They´ve managed to fit one of the most extensive collections of orchids in Mindo into their gardens surrounding the cabins and they are very informative about the local flora, fauna and trip options available for visitors. Breakfast is included and the property is located on the edge of Mindo city proper so walking to dinner, coffee, drinks, and tour operators is a piece of cake.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cabins with a porch and a hammock for kicking back after a day of hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Excellent stuff, very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast, with sitting next to the hummingbirds. The cabin was very nice, big, clean with veranda (inclusive hammock). Located in a very nice garden. Free Wifi (good working).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorsten r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This place is really special. The rooms are basic but clean. We didn't have a porch but our room had a treehouse feel to it, which was cool. What makes Armonia special are the grounds. Plants everywhere-lots of orchids, but other cloud forest plants as well. And birds. There are hummingbird feeders all over, and they attract many different types of hummingbirds. Other birds come for the fruit that is left out for them. I saw some really awesome tropical birds while sitting in the open-air breakfast room. (Sorry I can't identify them.) this place is a great value for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjdoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.7 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.8 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 45 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Saguamby Mindo
0.0 mi away
La Casa de Cecilia
La Casa de Cecilia
#10 of 45 in Mindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas

Property: Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas
Address: Sixto Duran Vallen y Lluvia de Oro, Casa 2, Manzana 49 | Tras del estadio, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas Armonia y Jardin de Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing