We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids!”

Mariposas de Mindo - Butterfly Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$238.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Mindo Tour from Quito
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Kids of all ages loved it. A very high density of butterflies. Couple dozen species. . . . . . . . .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    186
    71
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Oh wow! Just wow!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This butterfly house is exceptional. Beautifully designed it's a beautiful garden anyway and then it's also chock full of beautiful butterflies of every colour! Stunning! I was mesmerised for 2 hours and didn't get bored at all! The best part is they have a section where the butterflies are hatching out of their cocoons- I saw 4 different butterflies break out of their cocoons and unfurl their huge wings- nature is amazing! IKEA should take a lesson from these guys on efficient use of minimal space! These butterflies are massive and they unfurl from such tiny cocoons, impressive!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A brief tour that was followed by time to explore in the butterfly farm. It was truly relaxing to just watch the butterflies move around. We saw all kinds of colors!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food, lots of photo ops for butterflies and hummingbirds”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We got there in time for lunch and the food was very good, they even have Negro Modelo, one of my favorate dark Mexican beers. Lots of butterflies and hummingbirds at the feeders.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice surprise - loved the place”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I am a backpacker, 37 yrs old, traveling with partner, 30+ countries visited.

IMPRESSION: I was a bit sceptical, and it was raining that day so I was not sure if the place was worth visit. What a pleasant surprise, the place is under a thick net so any day is good (although nicer pics are in the sun) its relatively small but the butterflies are all around you and you can even feed them with banana; they are sitting at your hands, on the head; you can stay there as long as you want and take plenty of pictures. I was happy as a child :) worth $6.

TRANSPORT: I took a bus from Quito terminal at 9am and came back by one at 3pm. (Buses from Quito for example at 9am,11am,1pm, from Mindo at 3pm, 5pm during the week) Ride takes about 2 - 2.5hrs. There are more frequent busses at the weekend. It's about 30 - 40 mins walk from the village.The village itself is quiet and nice so if you have time I would stay there for a few days to explore the forest and see more birds.

Helpful?
Thank frogANDpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariposas de Mindo - Butterfly Garden also viewed

Mindo, Pichincha Province
 
Mindo, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Mariposas de Mindo - Butterfly Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing