We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Frogs”

Lago Mindo Frog Concert
Ranked #8 of 26 things to do in Mindo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nightly tour of the gardens by flash light. Frogs, toads, spiders, fireflies and more!
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the Frogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Really enjoyed the tour and talk about the frogs and other creatures in the area! We should have requested an english translation. We were able to understand the majority of the talk but I think we missed some very interesting details.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrSCalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    20
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawford Bay, BC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the coolest things I've ever done!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

An evening in a gorgeous setting, the frogs chorusing as it gets darker, followed by a terrific talk and a short hike through the jungle seeing remarkable things.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only in spanish the night we went”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The night we went the presentation was all in spanish. Still got the drift of what he was saying and after all it was Ecuador :-) We arranged to have dinner afterward and that made it a nice evening.

Note: we walked up to the Lago Mindo Hosteria from Mindo and it only took maybe 15 minutes. Nice views on the way. Taxied back to our hotel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully loud!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel where the concert takes place is about a km away from town uphill, but it's not a hard walk, even in the evening, although it's safer if you go with others - or by taxi if alone. You listen to a recording (in English, but perhaps the Spanish one is live) about the man who bought the land and dug out two large ponds, which are fed by the surrounding mountain streams. He populated each pond with compatible frogs and toads, from tiny to quite large, and every night they croak in symphony. After the talk, a nature guide takes you on trails, so bring a flashlight. You can see the frogs and toads and other interesting night critters around the ponds. We saw large insects, bats, and snake and possum holes. It was one of the most interesting sights to see in Mindo, so I highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Vilbel, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not only a frog concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

You can walk there from Mindo downtouwn during 20 minutes and went back when its dark by taxi (2 USD). First you sit at the veranda with a glass of wine, cola for the kids and enjoing the frog concert. They have other music than in Europe! After that, they tell you in English and Spanish about the project. After that you will have a guided night jungle tour. You will not only see frogs, but also spiders, snakes and a lot of insects. Also bacterials, which shine at night!
It was really a great tour, much better than we expected.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simba-Espana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lago Mindo Frog Concert also viewed

 

Been to Lago Mindo Frog Concert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing