We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful environment, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mindo Casa de Piedra
Ranked #2 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. Many types of banana trees, bromeliads, orange trees, lemon trees, guava trees, but not in the sense of a cultivated farm, all growing together naturally. Beautiful views. The accommodations are SUPER CLEAN. The service was wonderful. We arrived very late but they still made us dinner, and the food was all very high quality and very delicious.

Tom, Nancy, Xavier, Joanna

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

I came to beautiful Mindo for hiking and excellent outdoors activities. I decided to camp and my friend got a room in the hotel. Both were of excellent value! I set up my tent in a lovely area by the stream underneath the trees. The outdoor living area, bathrooms and showers were clean and of good size. The water is cold but that was expected for camping. I was allowed full use of the indoor kitchen, which was not only HUGE, but it was IMMACULATE! I love to cook as it saves money and is healthier, and I was astonished at how well equipped this kitchen was, even more so than my own at home!

The rooms are large and cozy, and the breakfast, though not included, was very tasty!

I speak little spanish though the friendly front desk girl, Sarah, utilized an online translator to assist me in everyway possible. She has two polite children that always brought a smile to my face.

The hotel is 40 feet from a beautiful river. It is only a 3-4 minute walk from the town square/parque, so it is very close. However, it feels nice and secluded and the walk across the bridge over the river is gorgeous. I saw some of the biggest, prettiest birds, hummingbirds and butterflies in the yard! There is a large and very clean swimming pool in the back yard, and the river has an excellent swimming hole as well, right out the front door!

I extended my stay in Mindo 2 extra days simply because I enjoyed myself so much. Sarah was helpful selling tickets to activities, arranging (the cheapest!) cab fare and offering information.

Room Tip: I was more than satisfied pitching a tent in the yard. Though for not too much more you can get a fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaitlinAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This place is a bit of a find given that its not right in the main area of Mindo. The grounds are the absolute highlight - big and sprawling, each of the three buildings occupies its own beautiful space. We stayed in the house that was the furthest back, in a triple room. The house itself was beautiful with well decorated common areas and a patio with super comfortable couches to sit on and read in nature. You really feel secluded here.

The rooms are separated only by thin wood which means noise travels very readily. You can hear everything that happens in the other rooms - that's the only negative to speak of. The room gets very warm during the day but cools down at night. Mosquitoes were a bit of an issue, our feet got bitten quite badly. Beds were comfortable though the blankets could be better. Since it doesn't get that cold, not a huge issue.

Breakfast is included with the room but it wasn't particularly impressive. Just a basic breakfast. Since the property can be tough to get to at night, they provided flashlights for people heading out after dark which was appreciated. The main house has a pool table and foosball table on its patio. We played with other guests which was a great meeting point. There is a pool but it is not deep, more of a wading pool than anything. Overall, I could see this being a fantastic place for large families to rent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbsfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Quiet little shared cabin style hostel... however there are private cabin rental available and especially recommened for big groups. Staff are very friendly and hospitable. Located accross the river but still 5 minutes from centre - walking through a trail of fireflys at night! It is so quiet at night, you will sleep like a baby hearing the river behind you.

Room Tip: If traveling in a group - book in advance one of the private cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tobias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry G, Gerente at Mindo Casa de Piedra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thamon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
224 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
0 mi away
CasKaffeSu
CasKaffeSu
#7 of 8 in Mindo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
2.4 mi away
Mindo Rio Hosteria
Mindo Rio Hosteria
#40 of 48 in Mindo
21 reviews
0 mi away
The Bicok Lodge
The Bicok Lodge
#1 of 48 in Mindo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mindo Casa de Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mindo Casa de Piedra

Address: Calle la Magdalena s/n | Barrio La Magdalena, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Mindo
Price Range: £36 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mindo Casa de Piedra 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Piedra is a paradise. A lodge with an unbeatable location, facing the Canchupí River, just 3 minutes walk from the center of Mindo. Surrounded by beautiful gardens with exotic plants & fruit trees, the inn offers an outdoor pool, a playground with billiards & foosball, a Bamboo Lounge for delicious cocktails, coffees & teas. There is also a small restaurant with snacks, & meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mindo Casa de Piedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing