We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grounds and dining but tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Ranked #2 of 19 Mindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great grounds and dining but tired rooms”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We came to the Mindo area as part of our first visit to Ecuador. The primary purpose of the trip was bird watching.

I will comment on the notably positive and negative.

Positive: Fabulous grounds with wide variety of birds; up to 30 hummingbird feeders with nonstop action during the daylight hours; quiet; professional and responsive staff; beautiful dining room with good food.

Negative - No hot water to take shower the first night (staff took care of this); power outage (tolerable); during torrential rain water came into room and soaked half of a bed; rooms dated but serviceable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Septagroup, Owner at Hosteria Septimo Paraiso, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We take special care in the day to day maintenance of the lodge and we keep a very high standard of service.
I regret the inconvenience you had during your stay at Septimo. That day the rain was very strong and just above your bed is room 11 that has a small balcony. Because of the wind and the terrible amount of rain the leafs blocked the balcony drain causing a small flooding and the subsequent accidental drip to your room. We have taken measures so this will not happened again, we made two more drains in the balcony and covered the walls with “Chova” a water proof material.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a comment, this allows us to keep up our high standard of service and to continuously improve our lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    28
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
33
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Septimo Paraiso near Mindo Ecuador may not be a hotel for everyone, but if you are a birdwatcher interested in birding the Mindo area - which is fantastic for birds - then this birding lodge is THE place to stay! As a bird tour leader for the past 25 years, and now owner of my own company Avian Journeys, I have stayed at many lodges in Ecuador, and other countries in Central and South America, and I have never felt more at home than at Septimo Paraiso. The lodge is situated in a beautiful forested valley, with fabulous birding right outside the front door! The lodge itself is a large wood structure - very eco-friendly constructed with recycled materials - with several separate bedrooms, each with it's own bathroom. It is perfect for a tour group, but also excellent for the individual traveler. The owner, Anna Lucia, personally makes everyone feel at home - and in fact it is like staying in her home! The food is excellent - lots of delicious home made recipes. Most important, they are VERY accommodating to the birding group, with flexible dining times (especially early breakfast). There is an excellent trail system on the property, and it is very well-situated for visits to many of the Mindo area birding locations, including Angel Paz, Milpe, Rio Silanche, and Tandayapa. I have stayed at several of the other lodges in the Mindo area, and I would highly recommend Septimo Paraiso as the place to stay.

Room Tip: Room number 10 has a mall balcony from which one can sometimes see Black-and-white Owl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The birdwatching on the grounds is wonderful; however, the bed and bedding in my room were very damp and stank of mildew. The staff needs to pay better attention to keeping ahead of the mold, airing the rooms and drying the linens.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank CMEArlington_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Septagroup, Owner at Hosteria Septimo Paraiso, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
I apologies for the inconvenience you had and that our service was not up to our usual standard. I am investigating the matter further and I will make sure it will not happened again. We have several dehumidifiers at the lodge that helps us maintain the humidity of the cloud forest out of the rooms; these machines absorb the excess humidity of the air and the linens. However during the rainy season it is a very hard task to achieve.
I must thank you for your comment because it makes us correct our mistakes and keep a high quality of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our Moon book dont have this hotel, but a taxi driver recomend this hotel to us... and for us was a really paradise (paraiso), !! is a place for relax, our room was great, confortable, hot water, the food is great, have a big pool (we dont use it, was cold), the hummingbird garden is the best!! we spent hours there!! this a hotel to relax and be unplugged. but you can bring your laptop and have wii fi . is NOt close to the Mindo downtown, if you want to go to other place (waterfalls, canopy, etc) the hotel can call a taxi (the taxi rate is $.4.00 aprox) Lorena (the manager/reception) was so nice with us!! very helpful, gave us all kind of recomendations (activities, restaurantes, etc) and the kitchen/garden staff is very friendly!... we highly recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0renaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My name is Roger Ahlman and I live and work as a free lance birdguide in Ecuador since 2005. I have stayed at Septimo an uncountable number of times with groups and I just love it! This is - to me - one of the two-three best lodges in Ecuador (San Isidro and Wildsumaco are the others). Friendly and service-minded staff, no problems with 4.30 am breakfast. The current administrator Lorena is great as was the former (Lily). The grounds are great for birding and the lodge sits at a convenient place for making daytrips to Milpe, Silanche, Angel Paz, Tandayapa valley and Mindo. No need to stay elsewhere and change lodge, stay here and you're fine.
Food is good and the rooms are spaciuos in a rustic yet very charming way.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger_Ahlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The only good thing about this lodge is its setting. It is not luxurious, rooms cramped and uncomfortable, we didn't even have a chair. Meals no better than school dinners in the 60's in UK. There was no hair drier, no room to hang or dry wet clothes..and it is in a cloud forest. If the website warned you that it was basic, run down and tatty then expectations would be lower and it would not be such a shock. The whole place was damp and my clothes in my suitcase still smelled damp when I arrived at my next hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Our family spent 3 days at Septimo Paraiso during the Christmas holiday. We were there on Christmas and it was a time we will never forget. Not only did I wake up in a beautiful specious room, overlooking a garden; but the food was delicious. We enjoyed Christmas eve dinner with the owner and other guests and we all felt like family. Loraina who is the manager was SO helpful in arranging rides for us (to go to ziplines, into Mindo, and birding)...even on Christmas day. We also hiked on the trails surrounding Septimo Paraiso, enjoyed their jacuzzi (it was too chilly for the pool) and loved spending time in the seperate building where there was a pool table, bar, couches, and fireplace. A perfect Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyguestohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
2.4 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
3.6 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#3 of 19 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mindo Rio Hosteria
Mindo Rio Hosteria
#33 of 46 in Mindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa de Piedra
Casa de Piedra
#2 of 46 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Septimo Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Septimo Paraiso

Property: Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Address: 2Km from the Y of Mindo via Mindo, Mindo, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Septimo Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Septimo Paraiso is a Country Hotel located in the Mindo Valley of Ecuador. The Hotel is set in a middle of the cloud forest and surrounded by wildlife and forest. It is just one hour from the Middle of the World and the Equator Museum; it offers incredible experiences for nature lovers and especially for bird watchers, there are 342 bird species in the reserve. : Also the hummingbirds’ area is fascinating and the walks offer fascinating views. The pool area is very spacious one with natural spring water and other covered and heated, Jacuzzi for 12 guests and several recreation areas. The game room has a beautiful fireplace and the Convention Center offers space for 100 characters. The reading room has a satellite TV and it has a quiet atmosphere, perfect to reading and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hosteria Septimo Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing