We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surprise”
Review of CasKaffeSu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived a day too early to stay where reservations were made so we walked up to this hostel and were warmly received and provided with a room. The food is great and we enjoyed a bottle of wine on the terrace. In comparison to where we had to stay the following night due to non-refundable reservations this hostel operated by a husband and wife couple was nothing short of excellent. She was extremely helpful with suggestions for our day trip to the waterfalls and stored our luggage for the day. Her excellent bilingual skills was also helpful to my fiancee and myself who have limited ability to speak each others language. This place certainly deserves a return visit on our next trip to Mindo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregQuixote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    36
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
76
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

CasKaffeSu got its name from "Cascada" which is Spanish for waterfall, "Coffee" and "Su" an American woman who co-own this very friendly, customer-centered hotel with her Ecuadorian husband. The two have made this little place a wonderful oasis. The rooms are adorable, the food is great and the courtyard in the middle help create a feeling of tranquility.

I loved the rooms here -- they feel a bit like a cave dwelling with little alcoves and small windows overlooking the garden. Very comfortable! Also, it's right in the middle of town and next door to a nice bakery, which is always a good thing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGFrankPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A nice place to meet friends (old and new) as the atmosphere is very cozy. The service was prompt and polite and the food is great.
If your Spanish is lacking this place is perfect as there is English translations on the menu and American owner.
Easy to find, take a left after passing the bus station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacmillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived at CasKaffeSu in the evening and were immediately greeted by the owner and made to feel very welcome. Our room was cozy and quiet, with a very comfortable bed. The hotel has a beautiful little courtyard where we had breakfast and relaxed. Great place; would definitely stay here again if I ever get to come back to Mindo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.J.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Possibly the best place we came across in the entire country. Beautiful hotel with clean rooms, great food and service; exceptionally helpful and friendly Owner, Susan and Luis made us feel at home in every way. Close enough to walk to butterfly farm, zip line and great hike and cable ride plus the bus station was only a block away. The BEST place in town - And YES, Great Coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed 3 days in Mindo, which I enjoyed very much. The atmosphere is very laid back, the nature is great and the people friendly. My favorite place to eat was CasKaffeSu, because the restaurant was a nice place to relax and eat, offering good and tasteful food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie2013284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangennith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly member of Susan & Luis's staff and taken through a pretty court yard full of beautiful flowers and plants, with prettily painted walls and steps leading to our delightful room! It was so peaceful, simply, but tastefully decorated with a lovely bathroom - fab shower! Susan and Luis were so incredibly friendly and helpful, we had lovely evenings by the open fire after long walks and zip lining through the forests, recommended by Susan!! The food was scrumptious excellent value and the coffee was really special (we brought they're blended beans home with us and are now remembering our time in CasKaffeSu) - Thank you to all at CasKaffeSu. Wish we lived closer - we would definitely visit more often.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonCalvinThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#7 of 8 in Mindo
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Property: CasKaffeSu
Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing