We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The nicest place to stay in Mindo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CasKaffeSu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mindo
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The nicest place to stay in Mindo!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Perfect location, clean comfortable beds, hot showers. The food is fresh and good tasting. Luis and Susan go above and beyond to make your stay unforgettable! The courtyard is lush and gorgeous.. I will return to Mindo and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 170Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    36
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
76
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Caskaffesu is a wonderful oasis in the middle of Mindo. It has two stories so guests don't feel crowded together, as well as a second floor terrace (for private parties), and a lower dining room for meals. The breakfast was wonderful, with coffee from the plantation of Sue and her husband, as were all the meals, freshly cooked and served in an appetizing way. Both owners were very helpful answering questions about sights to see in Mindo, a lovely town in the mountains surrounded by rivers and cascades. The only negative comment I have is that several families with small children were staying the weekend I was there, in rooms surrounding mine. I suppose I could have asked to change rooms because they were there 2 nights out of the 3 I stayed. I could hear the kids crying at night and then running around from room to room early in the morning, chased by their parents, who didn't think of lowering their voices at 6am out of respect for other guests. Of course, it wasn't the fault of the owners, but I would have appreciated a room 'far from the madding crowd'. Other than that, the stay was pleasant and perfect in every other way!

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for a quiet room in case there are families with small children there during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Found this hostel via Lonely Planet and we wasn't disappointed. Sue and her husband have made this a great place to relax and unwind. The rooms although basic are very comfortable and clean, and yeah you have to live out your suitcase, but if that is a concern go book a hotel! The breakfasts are amazing and generous and the coffee - well its the best cuppa coffee I've had in two months. Mindo seems to rain during the afternoons, well it did when we visited. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and recommend it, PS, WiFi won't work in your rooms, you have go on the roof terrace which is pleasant or by the restaurant. Laundry service is available for a few dollars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnessbec76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We arrived a day too early to stay where reservations were made so we walked up to this hostel and were warmly received and provided with a room. The food is great and we enjoyed a bottle of wine on the terrace. In comparison to where we had to stay the following night due to non-refundable reservations this hostel operated by a husband and wife couple was nothing short of excellent. She was extremely helpful with suggestions for our day trip to the waterfalls and stored our luggage for the day. Her excellent bilingual skills was also helpful to my fiancee and myself who have limited ability to speak each others language. This place certainly deserves a return visit on our next trip to Mindo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregQuixote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

CasKaffeSu got its name from "Cascada" which is Spanish for waterfall, "Coffee" and "Su" an American woman who co-own this very friendly, customer-centered hotel with her Ecuadorian husband. The two have made this little place a wonderful oasis. The rooms are adorable, the food is great and the courtyard in the middle help create a feeling of tranquility.

I loved the rooms here -- they feel a bit like a cave dwelling with little alcoves and small windows overlooking the garden. Very comfortable! Also, it's right in the middle of town and next door to a nice bakery, which is always a good thing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGFrankPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A nice place to meet friends (old and new) as the atmosphere is very cozy. The service was prompt and polite and the food is great.
If your Spanish is lacking this place is perfect as there is English translations on the menu and American owner.
Easy to find, take a left after passing the bus station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacmillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived at CasKaffeSu in the evening and were immediately greeted by the owner and made to feel very welcome. Our room was cozy and quiet, with a very comfortable bed. The hotel has a beautiful little courtyard where we had breakfast and relaxed. Great place; would definitely stay here again if I ever get to come back to Mindo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.0 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Property: CasKaffeSu
Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing