We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well run”
Review of CasKaffeSu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Reviewed 20 January 2014

the owners really know what they are doing. restaurant was great and was 100 times better than any other restaurant in town. very detailed service. friendly. bi-lingual Eng-Span. Our room was very nice, not that cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located in the heart of Mindo, with an attached restaurant. All the rooms are ranged around an interior courtyard, and people are quite happy to shout across it to each other. Add to this the clattering of pots and dishes from the restaurant, the clanging of the prison-like door hardware at all hours, and top it off with a hand-cranked coffee roaster and this tea-drinking nap-taker was driven out.
The rooms are dank and airless, the hot water a bit cranky and the wifi unavailable in the rooms. The coffee, however is excellent, and the dogs are charming.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spend 3 nights in Mindo while traveling around Ecuador. The CasKaffeSu hostal is situated very central near to the (one) bus station, so we very quickly checked in after arriving. The whole estate is really beautiful and the restaurant very atmospheric with an open fireplace. You have to try the Ceviche there, it was the best we had in Ecuador. I loved the coffee! The rooms were a little dark but clean with comfortable beds. Very nice hosts and good service round up the picture.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Björn-Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Like most owners they were very helpful, but they took it to a higher level, with honest recommendations and suggestions. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and spacious, and the food.... Pretty spectacular! If they had hammocks we could have stayed forever!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank adventurerealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here two nights and loved it. The Inn keepers are amazing and provide the best service. The food is also incredible here and such a great place to eat. Also, the location is excellent and right in town. If staying here I also recommend the chocolate factory tour and frog concert. This place is a must stay....you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at CasKaffeSu and had a fantastic time. The hotel itself is in a perfect location right in the center of town, with welcoming common areas and comfortable rooms. The owner Susan is awesome - she set us up with an amazing bird guide to visit the legendary Cock of the Rock, gave us information on everything around and outside of town, served up some fantastic coffee, and in general made our stay in Mindo a great experience. We would highly recommend CasKaffeSu to anyone thinking about visiting Mindo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed two nights and enjoyed the close proximity to the bus station, just around the corner. Susan was very nice to us and was for the most part a one person show as her husband (and dogs) were away during our stay. We stayed downstairs in room #4. It was cleaned daily and was small but cozy, with two double beds. We did find it a bit noisy at times as it is next to a stairway and the plumbing and other noise from the upstairs room could easily be heard in our room.
The restrauant served average food, with good service. It was a plus to be able to run a tab and pay with a credit card at the end of our stay. Seems like a small thing but is unusual for a budget hotel. We had read in other reviews that there is a charge for filling your water bottles at the hotel. This policy has been changed since the owners invested in a state of the art water purification system from the States. Now there is no limit or charge for guests to fill personal water bottles and the water tastes really good. We would stay there again but only if an upstairs room was available.

Room Tip: Upstairs may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 8 in Mindo
41 reviews
0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
224 reviews
0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range: £34 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your CasKaffeSu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing