We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of CasKaffeSu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mindo
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent two days and two nights with Caskaffesu (CAScada, KAFFE, SUsan), and had such a great experience. The hospitality here is off the charts.

The hotel and restaurant is run by American expat Susan and her Ecuadorean husband Luis and feels like an extension of home from the moment you walk in the door. They serve coffee grown from their own plantation 7km down the street and roast it themselves on the roof (!!!). It is freaking GOOD, too. The rooms are large, comfortable, and dirt cheap. Hot water in the showers, laundry services provided (one load wash and dry for $5), and incidentally one of the best restaurants in town. Very quiet at night and the wifi is really fast (only available in reception and restaurant/cafe area).

Would absolutely return if I come back to Mindo again sometime in the future, such a wonderful experience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Antesa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Whilst I was in Mindo the weather was quite inclement but each night the log fire at Caskaffesu was lit. It was a lovely hostel where the owners provided a friendly ambience and nothing seemed too much trouble. The breakfasts and evening meals were lovely as was the coffee for which the place was renowned. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After a day of torrential rain on a motorcycle, it was so very nice to meet Susan. She welcomed us with open arms and was so friendly we forgot our woes of the day. Very cute property, in the heart of Mindo. We only stayed one night, but we would warmly recommend it to all seasoned travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinlays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent 5 days in Caskaffesu Hostal. The staff were really nice, helpful, and friendly. They have a beautiful garden. The food in their restaurant is excellent too! I would recommend this hostal for anyone who is spending time in Mindo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 765masi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

the owners really know what they are doing. restaurant was great and was 100 times better than any other restaurant in town. very detailed service. friendly. bi-lingual Eng-Span. Our room was very nice, not that cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located in the heart of Mindo, with an attached restaurant. All the rooms are ranged around an interior courtyard, and people are quite happy to shout across it to each other. Add to this the clattering of pots and dishes from the restaurant, the clanging of the prison-like door hardware at all hours, and top it off with a hand-cranked coffee roaster and this tea-drinking nap-taker was driven out.
The rooms are dank and airless, the hot water a bit cranky and the wifi unavailable in the rooms. The coffee, however is excellent, and the dogs are charming.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spend 3 nights in Mindo while traveling around Ecuador. The CasKaffeSu hostal is situated very central near to the (one) bus station, so we very quickly checked in after arriving. The whole estate is really beautiful and the restaurant very atmospheric with an open fireplace. You have to try the Ceviche there, it was the best we had in Ecuador. I loved the coffee! The rooms were a little dark but clean with comfortable beds. Very nice hosts and good service round up the picture.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Björn-Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 9 in Mindo
115 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#7 of 9 in Mindo
41 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mindo
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#93 of 116 in Quito
12 reviews
0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range: £21 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your CasKaffeSu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing