We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Place for Reflection, Relaxation and Adventure”
Review of Casa Divina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Divina Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We had a wonderful stay in this cloud forest lodge. There are individual luxurious, spacious cabins with hot water, comfortable beds and large bathrooms all sitting in the middle of a pristine cloud forest. The cabins had fabulous porches with hammocks and rocking chairs. While sitting on the hammock,you can hear a symphony of bird songs. The owners were very knowledgeable and helpful in arranging activities to do, like zip lining, birdwatching, hiking and tubing. They also served us delicious breakfasts and dinners; the waffles and chocolate cake were the highlights for my children. It was a very special stay for us. My 2 children and I had the time of our lives and I would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlfromBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2008

We just stayed at Casa Divina, a new eco-lodge in Mindo, for three nights in late January. It’s a beautiful hideaway in the cloudforest, just a short walk (or ride) from the town, run by a local Ecuadorian, Efrain, and his wife, Molly, an American who has been living in Mindo for 8 years (and also runs a local bakery/café, known for its killer desserts). Though it was misty and sometimes rainy in January, the weather didn’t stop us from enjoying many outdoor activities in the area: hikes in the forest, a visit to the butterfly gardens, a tour of a local orchid garden, an evening “frog concert”, an early morning birding hike led by Efrain, some great meals in town, and an exciting zipline canopy tour, which has just been opened by Efrain and his brothers (I think the name is Ropes and Canopy Tour—this not-very-adventurous 57 year old let herself be talked into trying it---and LOVED it!). All of these activities can be arranged on your own or through Casa Divina; they will also help with any transportation arrangements. (At our request, they arranged for a driver to pick us up at our Quito hotel, do some sightseeing in Quito, then drive us to Mindo, stopping at points of interest along the way. The basic charge was $70 U.S. for our family of 4, and not only could we leave our luggage in the car and know it was secure, we had the flexibility to do what we wanted.) Of course you can also easily take the bus to Mindo from Quito for just a few dollars.

The lodge itself is beautiful. Three spacious guest cabins, reached by short footpaths through the lush green forest, have been handcrafted of local hardwoods, with handmade furniture and beautiful woolen bedcovers, and each unit has a covered porch or balcony with hammocks and rocking chairs to relax in. Bathrooms have plenty of hot water, and oversized tubs with shower. You can also hang out in the main lodge/dining room area, where there is a reading corner (with good resources on local birds and plants), some games, and occasionally, Molly and Ephrain’s adorable young daughters playing with their new kitten. Definitely a relaxed, comfortable place. Breakfast and dinner are included, and lunch is available for additional cost; meals are a great combination of Ecuadorian and healthy American natural foods. Molly and Efrain live in another cabin on-site, so are personally involved on a daily basis.

As expected in a cloudforest in January, it was damp and muddy during our stay, but we were provided with knee-high boots to use while we were there, and extra blankets if needed. They are still putting some finishing touches on the property—handmade wood frames for the bathroom mirrors were being installed, and some decorative touches added, but I wouldn't wait to book a stay. Though the prices may be higher than some places in Mindo, the beautiful, spacious accommodations, the tranquil setting, and the knowledge and expertise of Efrain and Molly are well worth the difference.

One last thought: it’d be a great place for a group of friends or a big family to book together—each would have privacy of separate accommodations, yet meals together and activities that appeal to all age groups.

We didn’t do the Galapagos this trip, but will be booking another stay at Casa Divina when we do. It’s beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

This is a newly opened family operated facility that has 3 cabins and a central lodge nestled privately amid natural vegetation on the edge of the popular eco tourism destination town of Mindo. The cabins are newly constructed of local hardwoods and other local materials and are comfortable and spacious, including the bathrooms. There is a ground floor and an upper unit in each cabin. I went to visit my son in Mindo and he arranged for my stay here, I was lucky to be their first official guest, before they had their grand opening. The cabins are furnished with handcrafted pieces made by local craftsmen and each has a porch with a hammock and rocking chair. There are many varieties of orchids, colorful birds including humming birds and butterflies. It is a great area for hiking, rafting, horseback riding and ziplining. We had delicious breakfasts and dinners at the lodge, both local recipes and international - the fresh juices with breakfast are fantastic and Molly makes a great chicken lasagna. They have installed a water purification system so drinking water is readily available. Efrain is a birding guide and you can arrange to have him show you around. The town itself has some nightlife on the weekends as it is a popular destination for the local city folk. We went to a "frog concert" - 40 different frog species singing - and saw a butterfly facility - both within walking distance. It is a beautiful and relaxing environment, well worht visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SeattleAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank andresmideros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Luna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014
Thank edmund s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasKaffeSu
CasKaffeSu
#7 of 8 in Mindo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 8 in Mindo
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
17.7 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Divina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Divina Lodge

Address: 1.2km Via a la Cascada Nambillo | Pichincha, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range: £160 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Divina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Divina Lodge is located 1.2 km (3/4 mi.) outside the town of Mindo in the western lowlands of the Pichincha Province in Ecuador, South America. About 2 hours northwest of Quito, the valley of Mindo forms part of a larger biodiversity hotspot known as the Andean Choco Region. We are proud to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation in the middle of the cloudforest. The town of Mindo offers many activities for the outdoor, nature-seeking traveler. World class birdwatching is at its best in and around the Mindo area. Please inquire about birdwatching packages and personalized tours.At Casa Divina Lodge we provide delicious home-style meals and comfortable accommodations for those who want an adventure by day and an elegant and cozy place to rest by night. As well as an experienced bird guide, Efrain, owner and builder, is a talented carpenter and has demonstrated his love for wood in each of the hand-built cabins as well as almost all of the wooden furniture in the lodge. We are a family-run business that holds high standards in service to our guests and also towards our employees. We value those that work with us greatly. We are proud to have a dedicated staff that is happy to be here and has been with us for an extended period, making the atmosphere here that much more warm and family-oriented.We welcome families that travel together, as well as guests with young children. We have two children and know what a great opportunity and advantage it is for children to experience a broader sense of the world through travel. We run a small capacity lodge on a private nature reserve, so whether you are dedicated birdwatchers, honeymooners or a traveling family Casa Divina Lodge offers the perfect cloudforest experience.We support community tourism by working with other family-run businesses in the area. We encourage our guests to get out and experience the variety of activities available in the region. For the adventure seekers there is zip lining through the trees, tubing down the Mindo River and rappelling down one of many local waterfalls. Delight your sweet tooth on a rainy afternoon at the local chocolate factory. For nature lovers there is a morning at the butterfly farm, a tour at the orchid garden and the after dinner night hike. For avid bird watchers you can't miss the cock-of-the-rock lek, a visit to the Paz de Las Aves Reserve and humming bird observation.But you won't want to spend all of your time out of doors. Casa Divina is a place where life slows down. A place where you are invited to relax on the sofa with a good book, or in your hammock for a refreshing siesta.Our meals are a healthy blend of traditional Ecuadorian and international fare. And don't forget the desserts. Each evening a unique sweet inspiration is served from the ovens of the Sweet Goddess Bakery. For those who can't get enough of our cooking (or just want to stay in for the day) we offer lunch, snacks, drinks and-of course-coffee and tea all day long. Unlimited filtered drinking water is also available in your room as well as in the main house.Mindo is a small town located in the Ecuadorian western lowlands (more commonly know as cloud forest) where so many ideals come together: the climate is just right (the nickname for this valley is "the land of eternal spring"), the biodiversity will make even the most amateur nature seeker giddy with excitement, malaria does not exist here (no pills, no side effects), and the community is conscientious and moving ahead in the eco-tourism movement. You will see informative signs posted throughout town about the effects of pollution and all households and businesses separate our waste into organic and non-organic bins. The young people from Mindo are proud of their town, their work and the opportunity to have an international experience in a small rural town.Although Mindo still has a long way to go in its development as an "eco-destination," change and progress are happening and it's exciting to be part of the process. We invite you to come and kick up your heels at Casa Divina Lodge and participate in community tourism in the making. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Divina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Divina Cloudforest Retreat Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing