We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Clouds”
Review of Casa Divina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Divina Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Heaven in the Clouds”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My daughter and I spent two lovely days at Casa Divina. The food was exquisite, beautifully prepared and served. The main lodge and the private cabins are built with the ultimate in craftsmanship from exotic hardwoods, and furnished with an eye to both comfort and aesthetic appeal. We enjoyed the beauties of the cloud forest in a most comfortable and peaceful environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DrPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
94
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our family 11 spent one night at Casa Divina and only wished we could have more time. Molly Brown and her husband Efrain arranged an incredible 2 days of hiking in the magnificent cloud forest to waterfalls for swiming, riding a cable car over a steep river valley, early morning birdwatching with two experts, horseback riding, and river rafting in tubes. I loved walking into Mindo and wandering the back streets of the little village and we all loved the treat of making chocolate from beans. Most impressive are the lodge and large cabins: beautifully designed, handsomely furnished, and sporting the most up-to--date amenities, porches, hammocks, spectacular views. The food was generous, excellent, and Molly's pastry expertise presented a birthday boy with an extraordinary cake. Just wish we could go back. Don't miss Casa Divina!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanston,il
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Spent 2 days with our daughter in this wonderful oasis, a short walk from the town of Mindo, having arranged with Molly to have a driver pick us up at our Quito hotel. We enjoyed the ride up, stopped at the small museum of the Equator and were pleasantly surprised to see the place was prettier than the pictures we had seen. we rented 2 rooms, both were large, had wonderful views, very upscale soaps in the one of a kind bathrooms. Quiet restful sleeping, woke to amazing sounds and sights Meals were delicious, both regular and vegetarian options.
Effrain's morning bird watching tour was a wonderful way for us novices to be introduced to the amazing diversity of avian and other wildlife nearby. We were there the weekend of the Ecuadorian conference in Mindo, and a chance to meet other birders and see Effrain's skills admired by his fellow bird watchers.
if you love, or even like nature , make this one of your stops in Ecuador. It was a wonderful experience and both hosts and their staff will do their utmost to tailor your stay

Room Tip: DOnt think there is a not good room in the place. very pretty trail from the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sitsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Just spent 2 days at Casa Divina. Heavenly.

I had read the stellar reviews and seen the spectacular pictures in advance but still.... it exceeded expectations on every front. GREAT setting, hosts, food, hikes, staff... The cabana was a perfect private oasis.

Our hosts thought of every detail -- which allowed us to make the most of our short time. (Not to mention, they conjure up a mighty fine impromptu birthday cake :)

Exceptional value.

Highly, highly recommend.

Room Tip: The second floor cabanas are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneTravels50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our family visited Casa Divina in July 2012. Molly and Efrain's hospitality, professionalism and love for the nature and the outdoors turned our trip into an unforgettable experience. Efrain is the friendliest and most knowledgeable birdwatcher you will ever meet (our 13 year old birdwatcher was thrilled to follow him around and so was the rest of our family). Molly's homemade meals were to die for and no effort was spared to please everyone's appetite. Mindo is birdwatching paradise, but anyone who loves the outdoors will have a great time for a few days: we ziplined, hiked to the waterfalls, rafted down the river.... you name it. the lodge is impeccably kept, the cabins are as clean and beautiful as they look in the pictures. This is a great Ecuador/Galapagos add-on. Very family-friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesbeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After touring Cuenca and Quito we hired a driver to bring us to this lovely retreat. The town of Mindo is a one road town with many touring comapanies and restaurants...but walk (or hitch a ride in the back of the many passing pick up trucks) up the 3 mile road and you are in the divine location of Casa Divina. Our hosts were lovely and helpful in planning our brief stay. Although we would have been happy just watching the birds eat off the feeders outside of the main house windows. It is a peaceful location and easy to get lost in your thoughts. Our 10 year old adored the observation deck on the top floor that boasts hoola hoops and swings while the adults could read or get lost in the view. Take advantage of Effrain's early morning bird tour to be amazed at his spotting and naming skills. Also the food and service during meals is wonderful. We wished we could have stayed longer. My husband has sleeping issues...and these two nights were the most restful nights he had on our vacation. Very comfortable and cozy beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Casa Divina, it's a beautiful quiet space surrounded by cloud forest. It rained while I was there and I so enjoyed sitting on the outside deck enjoying nature. The cabins are decorated simply but beautifully and the main cabin is always open, warm and inviting. I went on Efrain's cock-of-the-rock lek bird tour in the early morning, I hadn't expected it to be such a long hike down, and sometimes my knees give me trouble, but Efrain was a gem, encouraging me and helping me all the way. Once we were there it was an amazing experience to see those bulbous bright red birds and now that I'm back in Mexico, I've taken up birdwatching as a hobby, so it was a memorable experience for me. That was the highlight of my Mindo trip, but I found the town charming with other interesting places such as viewing the butterflies and orchids. I would definitely return there.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view and as there are wooden floors, sleeping on the lower floors could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xena888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
17.7 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
248 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Divina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Divina Lodge

Property: Casa Divina Lodge
Address: 1.2km Via a la Cascada Nambillo | Pichincha, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Divina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Divina Lodge is located 1.2 km (3/4 mi.) outside the town of Mindo in the western lowlands of the Pichincha Province in Ecuador, South America. About 2 hours northwest of Quito, the valley of Mindo forms part of a larger biodiversity hotspot known as the Andean Choco Region. We are proud to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation in the middle of the cloudforest. The town of Mindo offers many activities for the outdoor, nature-seeking traveler. World class birdwatching is at its best in and around the Mindo area. Please inquire about birdwatching packages and personalized tours.At Casa Divina Lodge we provide delicious home-style meals and comfortable accommodations for those who want an adventure by day and an elegant and cozy place to rest by night. As well as an experienced bird guide, Efrain, owner and builder, is a talented carpenter and has demonstrated his love for wood in each of the hand-built cabins as well as almost all of the wooden furniture in the lodge. We are a family-run business that holds high standards in service to our guests and also towards our employees. We value those that work with us greatly. We are proud to have a dedicated staff that is happy to be here and has been with us for an extended period, making the atmosphere here that much more warm and family-oriented.We welcome families that travel together, as well as guests with young children. We have two children and know what a great opportunity and advantage it is for children to experience a broader sense of the world through travel. We run a small capacity lodge on a private nature reserve, so whether you are dedicated birdwatchers, honeymooners or a traveling family Casa Divina Lodge offers the perfect cloudforest experience.We support community tourism by working with other family-run businesses in the area. We encourage our guests to get out and experience the variety of activities available in the region. For the adventure seekers there is zip lining through the trees, tubing down the Mindo River and rappelling down one of many local waterfalls. Delight your sweet tooth on a rainy afternoon at the local chocolate factory. For nature lovers there is a morning at the butterfly farm, a tour at the orchid garden and the after dinner night hike. For avid bird watchers you can't miss the cock-of-the-rock lek, a visit to the Paz de Las Aves Reserve and humming bird observation.But you won't want to spend all of your time out of doors. Casa Divina is a place where life slows down. A place where you are invited to relax on the sofa with a good book, or in your hammock for a refreshing siesta.Our meals are a healthy blend of traditional Ecuadorian and international fare. And don't forget the desserts. Each evening a unique sweet inspiration is served from the ovens of the Sweet Goddess Bakery. For those who can't get enough of our cooking (or just want to stay in for the day) we offer lunch, snacks, drinks and-of course-coffee and tea all day long. Unlimited filtered drinking water is also available in your room as well as in the main house.Mindo is a small town located in the Ecuadorian western lowlands (more commonly know as cloud forest) where so many ideals come together: the climate is just right (the nickname for this valley is "the land of eternal spring"), the biodiversity will make even the most amateur nature seeker giddy with excitement, malaria does not exist here (no pills, no side effects), and the community is conscientious and moving ahead in the eco-tourism movement. You will see informative signs posted throughout town about the effects of pollution and all households and businesses separate our waste into organic and non-organic bins. The young people from Mindo are proud of their town, their work and the opportunity to have an international experience in a small rural town.Although Mindo still has a long way to go in its development as an "eco-destination," change and progress are happening and it's exciting to be part of the process. We invite you to come and kick up your heels at Casa Divina Lodge and participate in community tourism in the making. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Divina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Divina Cloudforest Retreat Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing