We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my top 3 favourite places in Ecuador.”
Review of Casa Divina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Divina Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Forge Creek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my top 3 favourite places in Ecuador.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Gorgeous location, excellent accommodation, family friendly, relaxing, great food and service. Staff are helpful and friendly, plenty to do and see, they will organise activities to do, or you can just relax and spot the many birds from main house view room. Would stay again anytime if opportunity arose.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KezSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadivina, Owner at Casa Divina Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Casa Divina. This review just goes to show you can sum up a great stay in just a few sentences! We are seeing the rewards lately of all the garden work we have been doing over the last 6 months or so. The flowers are blooming, the sun is out and the butterflies are everywhere. The birds love the garden as well, we have many trees with fruit at the moment as well as our year- round feeding platforms. And the hummings birds are loving the new flowers. So, come and see for yourself - looking forward to having you here! Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
94
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Casa Davina and would definitely stay there again. We were the only guests during our stay so had the run of the place, making our stay more like cross between a visit with friends and a private retreat than a hotel stay. We were on the upper floor of a large “cabin” (“cabin” is too rustic a term for the nicely furnished, very comfortable structure) with a balcony that looked out over banana trees. Our room had a double bed as well as a single, a small table, and armchair and a wall of big windows so we could see the birds early in the morning from the comfort of our room. The balcony had both a hammock and chair allowing us to read, watch the birds, or just enjoy the sounds of the cloud forest. The breakfasts and dinners that were included with our room were delicious and filling. Molly and Efrain were gracious hosts, providing suggestions on how to make the most of our time in Mindo. Neither of us is a birder, but we enjoyed a birdwatching day with Efrain who has an encyclopedic knowledge of the birds of Ecuador. We were impressed with his ability to spot birds and sight them in his scope at great distances! It was an easy walk to other Mindo attractions including the butterfly farm, chocolate shop, and orchid garden (which grew out of Efrain’s sister’s interest in orchids).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadivina, Owner at Casa Divina Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for such a positive review! We take pride in the personalized service that we are able to give to our guests. I'm glad you noticed that we make such an effort to make each guest feel at home here. Whether the lodge is fully booked, or you are the only guest - you can be sure that we give the same personalized service.

The reason why we decided to create Casa Divina as a small-capacity lodge, is because we want to set an intimate setting for your vacation. So yes, you will probably meet my kids, you will definitely talk to my husband\guide/carpenter and we hope that you feel relaxed and inspired to experience the cloud forest in all its glory while you are here.

We love making birders out of our guests! It is so easy to appreciate the flora and fauna here, so even if you have never picked up a pair of binculars, we recommend you check out one of our guided tours - you won't regret it. You'll come away learning so much about this precious eco system that is the Choco Corridor, like these lovely guests have expressed in this review. Thank you and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here with a friend of mine and can't say enough good things!!! Molly and her husband and Laura were so helpful and accommodating and were amazing hosts! They are so knowledgable about the area and are able to help you with whatever activity or information you need. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept and there is always somebody working on the property making it even better! The food was delicious...every meal was better than the next..everything was super fresh and local..great selection of wine and beer as well..I have no complaints about the stay and will definitely return again on my next trip to mindo

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cnilan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadivina, Owner at Casa Divina Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your generous review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. We work hard in the kitchen to ensure that each meal we serve is fresh, with delicious local ingredients and prepared with love. Most of what we serve is made from scratch here in the Casa Divina Kitchen - including our house made yogurt made from local milk, freshly made ice cream and our killer chocolate sauce! Well, those are just a few things that happen behind the scenes at Casa Divina.

I'm glad you mentioned Laura, our hostess and administrative assistant. She is such an important part of our team here. Her creativity and fresh perspective really help us keep things ever-evolving and interesting. She keeps everyone laughing with her great sense of humor - not to mention she can make some great cocktails for happy hour! So thanks Laura for all your hard work, it really shows as we can see in our guest reviews.

Happy travels and can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and spent most of our time bird watching with Efrain. He is an amazing guide. The lodge itself is set back in the forest. We were surrounded by trees and plants. We saw many birds around our cabin and the main lodge. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The atmosphere was very relaxing. Dinners were great. Molly and Laura and the rest of the staff were very friendly. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellen907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadivina, Owner at Casa Divina Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Casa Divina Lodge! We are always happy to hear from our past guests. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the bird observation on the property. The third floor of the main house is really ideal for birding, as well as from the dining area on the first floor. Well, just about anywhere on the property, indoors or out, is good for bird watching!

Our housekeeping staff works hard to keep each room up to high cleaning standards, so thank you for noticing what a good job they do! Hosting and serving our guests is always such a pleasure as we are priviliged to meet people from all over the world who have such great stories to share. Thanks for supporting small family run business and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Tasty food, smoothies on request, welcoming hosts and excellent bird watching - in all a wonderful stay. Efram took us on a bird watching trip like no other - a fantastic range of colourful and exotic birds, which somehow he spotted amongst the trees. A very relaxing and pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zigster280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Mindo is an amazing place and offers a variety of activities including tubing, zip lining, cable cars, butterfly farm, orchids and of course , birding.

We had 3 glorious days in Casa Divina and absolutely loved it. It is hard to imagine better hosts and our bird watching with the extremely knowledgeable and passionate Efrain was extraordinary. The cabins are wonderful, the food sensational and the chance to spend time with such a lovely family was a real treat. From watching the hummingbirds feed at breakfast to sitting in the canopy on the balcony of our cabin watching toucans through bromeliads and orchids, this was a unique experience.

Our only regret was that we did not spend longer there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a great place to stay. We started out by spending the day traveling from Quito to Mindo with Efram (owner and birding guide). We saw 25 species of hummingbirdgs before we even got to the lodge. Once there we were shown to our cabin. What a beautiful location, tucked away in the cloudforest. It was so peaceful and relaxing. There is also a newly finished viewing deck on the top floor of the main lodge.

Spent 4 nights at the lodge. The food was great and the owners and staff went out of there way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The lodge is a little ways out of town, but they will arrange taxis for you as there is a lot that you can see and do in this area.

Well worth at least 3 nights stay as you can go birding, to see the Cock of the Rock, ziplining, tubing, on cable cars to hike and swim in the waterfalls, to see orchids and butterflies, and to the chocolate factory as well as night hikes.

Great spot and I highly recommend staying here..

Room Tip: There are only 5 cabins. We stayed in the furthest from the main lodge and it was extremely quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
17.7 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
248 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 19 in Mindo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Divina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Divina Lodge

Property: Casa Divina Lodge
Address: 1.2km Via a la Cascada Nambillo | Pichincha, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Divina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Divina Lodge is located 1.2 km (3/4 mi.) outside the town of Mindo in the western lowlands of the Pichincha Province in Ecuador, South America. About 2 hours northwest of Quito, the valley of Mindo forms part of a larger biodiversity hotspot known as the Andean Choco Region. We are proud to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation in the middle of the cloudforest. The town of Mindo offers many activities for the outdoor, nature-seeking traveler. World class birdwatching is at its best in and around the Mindo area. Please inquire about birdwatching packages and personalized tours.At Casa Divina Lodge we provide delicious home-style meals and comfortable accommodations for those who want an adventure by day and an elegant and cozy place to rest by night. As well as an experienced bird guide, Efrain, owner and builder, is a talented carpenter and has demonstrated his love for wood in each of the hand-built cabins as well as almost all of the wooden furniture in the lodge. We are a family-run business that holds high standards in service to our guests and also towards our employees. We value those that work with us greatly. We are proud to have a dedicated staff that is happy to be here and has been with us for an extended period, making the atmosphere here that much more warm and family-oriented.We welcome families that travel together, as well as guests with young children. We have two children and know what a great opportunity and advantage it is for children to experience a broader sense of the world through travel. We run a small capacity lodge on a private nature reserve, so whether you are dedicated birdwatchers, honeymooners or a traveling family Casa Divina Lodge offers the perfect cloudforest experience.We support community tourism by working with other family-run businesses in the area. We encourage our guests to get out and experience the variety of activities available in the region. For the adventure seekers there is zip lining through the trees, tubing down the Mindo River and rappelling down one of many local waterfalls. Delight your sweet tooth on a rainy afternoon at the local chocolate factory. For nature lovers there is a morning at the butterfly farm, a tour at the orchid garden and the after dinner night hike. For avid bird watchers you can't miss the cock-of-the-rock lek, a visit to the Paz de Las Aves Reserve and humming bird observation.But you won't want to spend all of your time out of doors. Casa Divina is a place where life slows down. A place where you are invited to relax on the sofa with a good book, or in your hammock for a refreshing siesta.Our meals are a healthy blend of traditional Ecuadorian and international fare. And don't forget the desserts. Each evening a unique sweet inspiration is served from the ovens of the Sweet Goddess Bakery. For those who can't get enough of our cooking (or just want to stay in for the day) we offer lunch, snacks, drinks and-of course-coffee and tea all day long. Unlimited filtered drinking water is also available in your room as well as in the main house.Mindo is a small town located in the Ecuadorian western lowlands (more commonly know as cloud forest) where so many ideals come together: the climate is just right (the nickname for this valley is "the land of eternal spring"), the biodiversity will make even the most amateur nature seeker giddy with excitement, malaria does not exist here (no pills, no side effects), and the community is conscientious and moving ahead in the eco-tourism movement. You will see informative signs posted throughout town about the effects of pollution and all households and businesses separate our waste into organic and non-organic bins. The young people from Mindo are proud of their town, their work and the opportunity to have an international experience in a small rural town.Although Mindo still has a long way to go in its development as an "eco-destination," change and progress are happening and it's exciting to be part of the process. We invite you to come and kick up your heels at Casa Divina Lodge and participate in community tourism in the making. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Divina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Divina Cloudforest Retreat Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing