We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Divina Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CasKaffeSu(Mindo)
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Hotel(Quito)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
216
18
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
18
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip liningbutterfly farmnight hikecloud forestbird watchingobservation deckgalapagos cruisewonderful hostsbreakfast and dinnermorning birdingcolorful birdshand madebirding packagethe owneran excellent guidefamily styleother guests
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at Casa Divina and did not want to leave. Our accomodations were spacious and clean and our hosts Molly and Efrain were fantastic. They helped plan and organize our outings in Mindo. We did the zip-trekking through the forest and had a great time. Walking to the next zip lines we passed beautiful orchids and saw many colorful birds. Casa Divina is a relaxing, calm oasis in the forest where you can just sit a listen to all the birds around you or hang out in your hammock reading a book. I can't forget to mention the food. Molly's cooking is divine and I'm sure we put a few pounds on! If we ever get back to Ecuador we will definately be heading back to Casa Divina.

Liz, Daryl and Julie
Vancouer, Canada

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverCanuckbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We were so lucky to discover this new property! And our family of 10 (including a 20 month old) is still talking about how beautiful and special Mindo and Casa Divina were. We loved all the great activities available to guests at Casa Divina- ziplines, hiking, waterfalls, butterfly garden, cloud forest nature walks, birding with Efrain (we saw the 'cock of the rock', toucans and countless other birds!), campfire with smores, river tubing, cloudforest cable car, etc. with everything organized so seamlessly by the owner, Molly Brown. The food was fabulous, from hearty breakfasts of homemade cinnamon waffles,endless fresh fruit, great coffee and fresh squeezed juices, to gourmet dinners, with cold beers and wine at the ready, topped off with scrumptious desserts, even kid-friendly meals, and of course everything was completely hygenic / safe to eat. Casa Divina is a great place for small groups of 2 or 4, or bigger groups like ours. We really appreciated the owners' help in organizing our daily activities - they provided lovely maps, details and costs of any extra (off-site) activities, and helped to arrange any transportation needed at a moment's notice. They also helped with arranging transport to/from Quito. Because it is a family-run eco lodge, their warm welcome meant so much to our family of all ages, and we really appreciated their flexibility of setting meals, etc. around our schedule and preferences. We all loved the privacy, comfort and high quality and craftsmanship of the rooms and cabins, especially the nice bathrooms. The beds were warm and comfy, and we got a lot of use out of our porch and hammock. And the warm & welcoming main lodge all designed and built by Efrain, the owner. Casa Divina is close to town and all the activities.
We also appreciated the owners' personal longstanding dedication to protecting the environment of Mindo, and its incredible biodiversity. July was a great time to be there too!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We went to Ecuador with 7 adults and four young children (among them a 20 month old!) Thanks to Casa Divina, our trip was so easy and so amazing! The kids still talk about this being the highlight of their trip. It was a PERFECT retreat for our big family, and Molly and her husband Efrain took care of every detail as if it were a custom trip just for us. Molly helped us plot out all of the activities (including all transportation) for each day and arranged them all for us. She even arranged babysitting for the baby when we wanted to go zip-lining, and other activities not suited for a baby! Efrain took some of us to see the Lek of the Rock at 5am and was the best tour guide and so knowledgable. They also arranged a special after dinner campfire complete with smores. The kids loved that! Molly's cooking is delicious and every meal was better than the last, even down to her cinnamon waffles and sugar cane syrup. The facility itself is GORGEOUS and was built by Efrain himself. We were so comfortable, I felt like we were at a 5 star resort in the middle of the cloud forest. I can't recommend this place highly enough. If you go to Mindo (which you should if you are going to be in Quito), Casa Divina promises to make your stay one of the most enjoyable, comfortable and memorable of your trip!! www.mindocasadivina.com

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank konakat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We arrived in a first rate thunderstorm but were warmly welcomed into the lodge and received the first of several excelent home cooked local quisine meals prepared by Molly. She told us all about the area and advised us on activities to suit us less athletic older travelers.

The cabins were large, clean and comfortable with a backdrop of a gurgling stream and lush vegetation full of birds. We spent three days there, relaxing one day and hiking with Efrain who is an excelent guide and knows all the haunts of the birds and animals in the area. We needed longer to see everything in the Mindo area and will book a longer stay if we have a chance to return.

It was nice to be away from traffic and man-made noises but Molly could call a car any time our legs needed a rest.

Thank you both for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wombleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We spent 2 nights with Molly and Efrain in their new lodge, the Casa Divina. This is located outside of Mindo in a quiet reserve. It is a 20 minute walk into Mindo, and Molly will call a local truck to take you anywhere--to town, to the zip line, to the waterfall etc. The cabins are new and spotless--the best bathrooms in Ecuador! Wholesome food is served for lunch and dinner. This is more like a luxury B&B (for a jungle...) than an impersonal lodge. If you want a quiet, non-electronic way to enjoy Mindo's cloud forests, this is "divine". Note: bring cash. Credit card payments must be paid via paypal in advance and at this time there is no ATM in Mindo.

Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
1  Thank TR_46OrmondFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews