We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Eco lodge!”
Review of Casa Divina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Divina Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Secluded Eco lodge!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed at Casa Divina for 2 nights before our trip to the Galapagos. Molly was fantastic! The rooms were fabulous: full wall of windows which made you feel like you were sleeping in the trees, hot showers, exceptionally clean, amazing food! The windows in the main house were so clear we even asked for her housekeeping secret!! The beds were super comfy and the wifi was amazing...Beautiful landscaping and a birders paradise...I would definitely recommend Casa Divina....and have a pitcher of strawberry daiquiris!! They were the best we have ever had! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabin furthest away from the main house, but you can't go wrong with any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joiev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
57
94
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The great plus of staying here is the comfort of the large rooms and the excellent meals after a day exploring the area. Molly's cooking is a draw an a welcome addition to the usual Ecuadorean cuisine.
We took a morning walk and an evening walk. We had quite a bit of rain both times which distracted from the enjoyment and there was less than usual to see on the evening walk. The lodge has a reasonable area for a walk on their own grounds. Birdlife at the feeders by the main building is rewarding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecoworld-DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My best friend and I stayed at Casa Divina for 2 nights at the beginning of April 2014. It was one of the most uniquely wonderful hotel experiences I have ever had. This is a true eco-lodge in the middle of the equatorial cloud forest. Virtually one entire wall of our room was glass/screen, so we had an unobstructed view straight into the rainforest. One of my favorite memories of my recent trip to Ecuador was laying in my bed at Casa Divina as I was getting ready to go to sleep and looking out that window at the leaves of the trees backlit by the moon and listening to the sounds (rain, birds, frogs) of the rain forest. At the time, I literally tried to imprint the moment on my brain because it was so different from anything I had ever experienced. Hotel owners Molly and Efrain are incredibly welcoming and helpful. Meals are served family-style and the food was delicious. There are 2 "bird" stations right outside the main lodge where meals are served and we enjoyed watching an incredible variety of birds snacking at the stations as we dined! Another favorite moment at Casa Divina was seeing "Juanita", the resident agouti, (picture guinea pig head on weasel-type body). When I first spotted her as I was walking from my room to the main house, I asked my best friend, "What in the world is that???" (She was adorable, but I had certainly never seen anything that looked like her before). Welcome to the equatorial cloud forest!!! Other things we appreciated about Casa Divina: (1) Great transportation from Quito: We arranged our transport from Quito to Mindo through Casa Divina. Our driver was Byron and he was professional, friendly and most importantly...safe; (2) Friendliness, warm welcome and helpfulness of Molly...she made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived and helped us with directions/transport/anything we needed; (3) Terrific birding tour from Efrain. Let me be honest...we're not official "birders"...but, we could not have had a better time on our morning birding tour with Efrain. While staying at Casa Divina, we visited the following Mindo sites/attractions: (1) El Quetzel chocolate factory tour, (2) Butterfly House, (3) Orchid Tour. We really enjoyed all three.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puglover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A perfectly hidden country getaway! Lovely cottages with upscale amenities. Enjoyed a wonderful tub (not found anywhere else). Clean. Great food. Wifi was perfect (an anomaly in Ecuador)! Staff were extremely helpful and try to make your stay very special!
There is plenty to do in the cloud forest area: tubing on the river, bird watching, hiking, cable ride.
Or you can sit and relax on the balcony, reading or watching the birds. There is a nice little hiking trail on the hill behind the cottages. A highlight on the night hike was seeing a possum.
You can walk on the roads around the property and feel very safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50somethingscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Casa Divina is a boutique lodge in the Ecuadorian cloud forest. Great food, attentive and helpful staff, unique and lovely accommodations, and a serenely dramatic environment. Clean, clean, clean. Efran, who is Ecuadorian) took us birding with other tourists and local guides . . . it was an experience of a lifetime. Molly (Efran's wife who is from California originally) is a remarkably astute overseer and welcoming innkeeper. The wonderful woodworking that is a part of the buildings is the creative work of Efran. We found them to be a delightful couple. It was definitely a major highlight of our five week adventure in Ecuador. We recommend Casa Divina as an experience both unique and satisfying. And, for the more adventurous . . . nearby there is zip lining above the cloud forest (it was exhilarating and lots of fun . . . even for a 75 year old).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great hospitality. Superior food. Excellent birding. Met interesting guests very keen on ecotourism and birding.
Superior in every respect. Efrain is a very able naturalist.
The accommodations were very comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadivina, Owner at Casa Divina Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Wow, so much said in so few words! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and installations. I think it's also important to highlight that you enjoyed the other guests. We are so lucky to have such interesting and well-traveled guests - It really makes for good dinner conversation at our family-style dinners! Please keep in mind we are happy to seat you at a separate table if you are not feeling sociable or want a more romantic setting - just let us know ahead of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We loved our time at Casa Divina! I almost don't know where to start with this review because everything was so wonderful. We stayed for 3 days/2 nights and got the Exploring Mindo Package. I wish we would have stayed longer! Their driver (Alex) picked us up in Quito (and brought us back). He was GREAT. A really safe, careful driver and so friendly and kind. I am really sensitive to motion sickness and the ride is very curvy, but I had no problem with Alex (thank you, Alex!!). The lodge and the cabins were beautiful! We loved our room -- it had a great balcony and lots of windows (so great bird watching when you wake up!). Highly recommend cabin #2. We loved the food! And that is saying a lot from 2 people who have a mountain of food allergies and restrictions. They accommodated my dairy/gluten/soy intolerant husband and me as a non-meat eater. I loved the veggies and beans -- and everything really. There was always plenty of delicious (and healthy) food! And, great bird watching right from your breakfast nd lunch seat!! (You are eating just feet away from toucans.) Definitely book some hiking/bird watching with Efrain. He is amazing. We LOVED our adventures with him. He is so knowledgeable and clearly loved the area and the wildlife/plant life. We felt bad that we were going to Mindo after the Galapagos -- how would it compete? But Efrain really made our time there special -- we saw so many birds, and they were so beautiful. The other people at the lodge are also so sweet. Molly the owner and Laura were so warm and welcoming. They made you feel like you were a regular! Oh, and the night hike with Carl is really great. Again -- so much passion for the wildlife! We were on a "stake-out" for mammals, crouching in the shrubs. Super fun.
Go to Casa Divina! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangaroo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casadivina, Owner at Casa Divina Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
What a generous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this and the glowing remarks are such a compliment. The folks that go on our tours have SUCH a good time, I highly recommend it. Thanks again and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
0.2 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
0.7 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
2.8 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#2 of 18 in Mindo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Divina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Divina Lodge

Property: Casa Divina Lodge
Address: 1.2km Via a la Cascada Nambillo | Pichincha, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Divina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Divina Lodge is located 1.2 km (3/4 mi.) outside the town of Mindo in the western lowlands of the Pichincha Province in Ecuador, South America. About 2 hours northwest of Quito, the valley of Mindo forms part of a larger biodiversity hotspot known as the Andean Choco Region. We are proud to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation in the middle of the cloudforest. The town of Mindo offers many activities for the outdoor, nature-seeking traveler. World class birdwatching is at its best in and around the Mindo area. Please inquire about birdwatching packages and personalized tours.At Casa Divina Lodge we provide delicious home-style meals and comfortable accommodations for those who want an adventure by day and an elegant and cozy place to rest by night. As well as an experienced bird guide, Efrain, owner and builder, is a talented carpenter and has demonstrated his love for wood in each of the hand-built cabins as well as almost all of the wooden furniture in the lodge. We are a family-run business that holds high standards in service to our guests and also towards our employees. We value those that work with us greatly. We are proud to have a dedicated staff that is happy to be here and has been with us for an extended period, making the atmosphere here that much more warm and family-oriented.We welcome families that travel together, as well as guests with young children. We have two children and know what a great opportunity and advantage it is for children to experience a broader sense of the world through travel. We run a small capacity lodge on a private nature reserve, so whether you are dedicated birdwatchers, honeymooners or a traveling family Casa Divina Lodge offers the perfect cloudforest experience.We support community tourism by working with other family-run businesses in the area. We encourage our guests to get out and experience the variety of activities available in the region. For the adventure seekers there is zip lining through the trees, tubing down the Mindo River and rappelling down one of many local waterfalls. Delight your sweet tooth on a rainy afternoon at the local chocolate factory. For nature lovers there is a morning at the butterfly farm, a tour at the orchid garden and the after dinner night hike. For avid bird watchers you can't miss the cock-of-the-rock lek, a visit to the Paz de Las Aves Reserve and humming bird observation.But you won't want to spend all of your time out of doors. Casa Divina is a place where life slows down. A place where you are invited to relax on the sofa with a good book, or in your hammock for a refreshing siesta.Our meals are a healthy blend of traditional Ecuadorian and international fare. And don't forget the desserts. Each evening a unique sweet inspiration is served from the ovens of the Sweet Goddess Bakery. For those who can't get enough of our cooking (or just want to stay in for the day) we offer lunch, snacks, drinks and-of course-coffee and tea all day long. Unlimited filtered drinking water is also available in your room as well as in the main house.Mindo is a small town located in the Ecuadorian western lowlands (more commonly know as cloud forest) where so many ideals come together: the climate is just right (the nickname for this valley is "the land of eternal spring"), the biodiversity will make even the most amateur nature seeker giddy with excitement, malaria does not exist here (no pills, no side effects), and the community is conscientious and moving ahead in the eco-tourism movement. You will see informative signs posted throughout town about the effects of pollution and all households and businesses separate our waste into organic and non-organic bins. The young people from Mindo are proud of their town, their work and the opportunity to have an international experience in a small rural town.Although Mindo still has a long way to go in its development as an "eco-destination," change and progress are happening and it's exciting to be part of the process. We invite you to come and kick up your heels at Casa Divina Lodge and participate in community tourism in the making. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Casa Divina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Divina Cloudforest Retreat Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing