We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to chill out by the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Viejamar Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viejamar Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best place to chill out by the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My brother and I stayed in Viejamar Surf Hostel and had a great time there.
The rooms are very nice and cosy. The shared area is really nice and big.
Rodrigo is a champ!
Will definitely come back.
Also the internet is fast
There isn't much for restaurants or good near by, but they have a fridge where you can go to Puerto Lopez and get food from.
They also provide a breakfast every morning.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jins K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viejamar H, Propietario at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you very much.
We work with you in mind.
We always try to make you have a good time in Viejamar.
Greetings and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    22
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
36
40
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I chose this hostel because I was really excited to surf. Their page on hostelworld advertised being on the beach, great surf for beginners and advanced, help to plan tours etc etc. When I arrived I found out that they do not rent surfboards because "too many tourists have broken fins" - well that may be so but you can't be a surf hostel if you don't rent boards. Further more we were told that the waves behind the hostel weren't really surfable unless you were very advanced and even then it wasn't great and there was a very strong undertoe.

They do do lessons and you can use their board for the two hours but you can only use the board for the 2 hours during the lesson AND it's a beach 20 mins away. We couldn't even do that however because the owner/surf instructor was away.

The other worker Poncho who organised other tours and such for you is unreliable and not easy to find. We asked to do diving and while he did arrange it for us, I had to ask him several times for 2 days we didn't recieve any confirmation until late the night before we were to do it.

THe hostel itself is in a great location, its very cute and a great place to relax but if you want to surf I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeoffcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viejamar, Propietario at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
You are right. We do not rent surfboards. We are a surfing school. To dive you need at least 4 people. In HostelWord can read "Surf Lessons", never say "rent boards".
I am the teacher of Surf. Also the owner (Rodrigo).
For your next visit I will try not to be in a hospital.
Thanks and blessings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent 4 days with Rodrigo, Poncho and the team at Viejamar last week and it was great! From the moment we arrived, and Poncho gave both me and my daughter a kiss on the cheek, we knew we had arrived a special place – full of new friends and adventure.

The location of Viejamar could not be improved upon. It is on one of the loveliest beaches I have ever seen and during our visit I doubt there was ever more than 20 people on the entire 2-3 mile beach! The water was very comfortable during our April visit, however the current was pretty strong. You need to be a strong swimmer if you want to spend time in the water above your knees. The waves were mesmerizing, rolling in big and beautiful around the clock. One moonlit night we were awed to watch some sort of luminescent feature in the water glow as the waves broke. It was more beautiful than words can describe. I didn't even take a picture because I want to remember it with my mind. A photo would never do it justice.

We really enjoyed meeting the fellow travelers while we were there. It was such a world wide mix, and fortunately for us, the common language was English. We were thrilled to meet travelers from Ireland, Switzerland, Canada - and a few other places I'm not quite sure of! Each person we talked with shared our sense of adventure and love of travel. It was so fun to visit with each of them.

Every member of the staff was kind and helpful. Poncho kindly put up with all my pre-trip emails with questions and arranged all our transportation for us. The lovely lady who cooked breakfast and cleaned was so kind. Every day she carefully pronounced the Spanish word for Eggs in hopes that I would learn it. I tried...! One quick comment about breakfast - the coffee is served a bit different than I have ever seen done. You are given about 1/3 of a mug of a very, very strong coffee, to which you are to add hot water to make it the intensity you want. Also there is sugar for the coffee, but no milk - bring your own milk. You can store it in the refrigerator.

The cabins, while small and simple, meet your needs. We did battle with the hot water from time to time, but hey – it’s an adventure – right?! But don’t come to Viejamar for the cabins, come for the beach and come to make new friends. Come for the surf lessons! Rodrigo was even able to get this 49 year old woman surfing for the first time in her life!! He may have initiated a lifelong passion for surfing in my 17 year old daughter! Come for the peaceful, laid back vibe which overflows the hostel common areas and leaves you feeling content. When something else on your trip doesn't go as planned, this easy going feeling helps you just roll with whatever comes along.

As this was our first time to Ecuador (or even South America) we opted to have Poncho arrange for us a taxi from Manta. In hindsight, I would not hesitate to rent a car and drive to Viejamar. The roads are good. With a car you would have more freedom to visit the other cities and sites in the area such as Puerto Lopes, Montanita and the nearby Machalilla National Park. Given our lack of knowledge of the Spanish language, and our stereotypical American lack of patience, we did not always have good experiences with the local buses and taxi drivers.

That said, don’t feel like you have to go somewhere. Peace, quiet and the wonderful beach life rhythm is just inside Viejamar’s gate. You can just stay in and enjoy it.

The kitchen at Viejamar is available to cook your own lunch and dinners; however again, due to our lack of mobility and the fact that we don’t speak Spanish, we found it hard to find basics for a meal at the local shops. There are several restaurants close to Viejamar – but be sure you can read a menu in Spanish. My daughter and I are vegetarian and we found that attempting to convey this fact to the restaurant staff was more of a challenge than our very limited Spanish vocabulary could manage. Turns out in Ecuador, vegetarian often means fish and seafood are still in the food! We finally solved this problem by taking Leslie, a new member of the Viejamar staff, out to eat with us. For the price of a meal (very inexpensive I should add), we were able to order wonderful smoothies and sandwiches in Las Tunas with her help, not to mention make a new friend.

Viejamar is not a five star beach resort hotel. It is better than that. It feels like home as soon as you arrive. From storing your own perishables in the refrigerator, to cooking on the grill, to relaxing with your feet up on the coffee table while listening to good music – it just feels like home. There is one major exception to though - an unbelievable beach, complete with warm sand, gentle breezes and good surf is there too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuralLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viejamar, Propietario at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much.
We work with you in mind.
We always try to make you have a good time in Viejamar.
Greetings and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Viejamar is the perfect place to literally be at the beach. From their private cabins you can hear the waves at night and, if you like to surf, you can check the waves at any time and get in the water when it's just right. Rodrigo and Pancho were excellent hosts and transmit their passion for waves and enjoying life. From couples to groups of friends it is a perfect place to stop by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomasaftalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viejamar, Propietario at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much.
We work with you in mind.
We always try to make you have a good time in Viejamar.
Greetings and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've travelled a lot and have stayed in a variety of accommodations. Most of what makes a place enjoyable or not is based on if it meets your expectations or not. I'll try to give an honest review of what to expect so you can decide if Viajamar will fit your needs. For us it was a perfect fit and we would have enjoyed a few more days there.

1) The hostel is nicely landscaped with mature shade trees, a cool second story overlook with a bar and stools facing the beach, a variety of interesting knick knacks surrounding a pool, outdoor (but covered) kitchen, dining room and family room (sofas w/ TV). It fits into the surrounding landscape like it has been there for decades. I think hostal is a bit misleading since it is nicer than a typical "hostal". You are invited to use the facilities as you please and the only rules are to act responsibly and respect the other guests. He has a huge bunch of bananas hanging for all to eat for free and uses the honor system for you to keep track of the waters, sodas, beers, etc that you take from the refrigerator. We immediately felt at home and found it a great way to relax for a few days after a month of traveling throughout Ecuador.

2) I should first emphasize that the hostal/bungalows are rustic but sufficient. If you do not enjoy living in a thatch roof, wooden walled bungalow and sleeping under a mosquito net, than this may not be the right place for you. There are gaps that can let in mosquitos, lizards and bugs. You are in Ecuador and these types of things are to be expected. The freestanding bungalow rooms are spacious with a double and single bed (at least in our bungalow). There was no AC but the fan kept the room rather comfortable. The bathroom had everything we needed and there was plenty of hot water (although a bit hard to regulate at first). The staff (sorry I forget her name) cleaned our bungalow each day, made the beds, etc. This was not expected and a pleasant surprise. We were there for 3 nights and had the same towels, sheet, etc for that timeframe. This was expected and in our case preferred. Viajamar places an emphasis on being ecologically responsible and there was no need in our minds for new towels, etc every day. I'm sure if we requested new towels, they would have been provided though. During our stay we received a few mosquito or flea bites as others reported. Not much different than dealing with mosquitos outside my house in Virginia. You are outside, in nature, and mosquitos and other bugs do exist and are impossible to control. The beach (like others in Ecuador) does have sand fleas which we did not find bothersome but may explain other people's ankle bites. Use common sense, use bug repellent and the mosquito nets provided and you should be fine.

3) The beach and surrounding area is remote and beautiful. The brown sand beach appears about 5-7 miles long anchored on either side by some cliffs. There are beautiful colored stones/pebbles scattered in the sand instead of shells. There were a few small restaurants within a 15 minute beach walk. Otherwise, Puerto Lopez is a $5, 10 minute taxi ride away with more "to do". If you like to have a beach to yourself, enjoy surfing or just relaxing and doing nothing, than this is the ideal place. If you want a party town I suggest Puerto Lopez or Montanita. We ate at Jimmy's down the beach for most of our meals and brought back leftovers to heat up in the kitchen. We also had a great vegetarian meal at LaLeonas which I highly recommend trying. The owner Lea, (fluent in German, Spanish and English) generally only has the "meal of the day" available plus assorted home made sweets, teas, etc. Your options are limited, but the food was excellent (vege hamburger with spinach and pumpkin the day we went). I am not a vegetarian, but found the food enjoyable, filling and one of the best during our stay in Ecuador. I should point out that there are not tables and chairs like a typical restaurant and she is only open Wed-Sun 4-7 or 8 pm. We were the only ones there and ate outside, under a thatched roof, on a sofa/futon with a small table. My girlfriend described it as a cute, romantic setup and really loved the food and atmosphere! We had a nice laid back meal and a pleasant conversation with the owner. Thanks Lea!

4) Rodrigo is a cross between your cool uncle, your father and a good friend. I've meet very few people in life that you feel like you can relate to, trust and feel at home with in a matter of minutes. I witnessed him sharing stories and welcoming ALL the other guests into his home like it was their own. He obviously loves the hostel and enjoys living there and bonding with his guests. I don't understand some of the negative reviews about him. I can see how some found him a bit rough around the edges but to us he came across as a very kind, caring and honest person.

5) The staff was very helpful. There is the owner Rodrigo (already commented on above), Francisco (Pancho) who helps with bookings, taxis, general info and other things around the hostal and the young lady (sorry forget her name) that cleans and cooks breakfast, etc. Our only complaint is that it was a bit awkward checking in since she didn't seem aware of the guest list for the day and didn't speak any English. But, she showed us our room and we received the full tour, etc from Rodrigo when he returned from his surf lessons.

6) The surfing was amazing. Rodrigo was an excellent teacher and after some intense beach drills we hit the waves and I stood up on my first try. He spent 20-30 minutes with me before sending me loose on my own to try the larger waves. I watched him with a fellow student that needed some more one-on-one time and he helped her for an hour get to the point of standing up. He has a great knack for assessing people's skills and potential and adjusts his teaching accordingly. I thought the $25 was a good price for about 3 hours of personal lessons and wave riding time. We started late in the afternoon, but I think if it was a morning class he would have let me practice until sunset for the same price.

We want to send a special thanks to Rodrigo, Fransisco and Lea who helped make our last few days in Ecuador some of the most memorable.

-Garen & Christine

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacooch74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viejamar, Propietario at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much.
We work with you in mind.
We always try to make you have a good time in Viejamar.
Greetings and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Beautiful rustic hostal located just outside Las Tunas. Landscaping among the cabins unbelievable! Small little cabins in amongst well landscaped secure area! Ron Rico and Pancho wonderful hosts/ owners, you can tell was built from the heart! Only wish I was younger cuz it was great surfing spot!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viejamar, Propietario at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias.
Nosotros trabajamos pensando en ti.
Nosotros siempre intentaremos que tu tengas un buen tiempo en Viejamar.
Saludos y bendiciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baños, Tungurahua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful vacation in Viejamar, the owner is Rodrigo, a Chilean guy who is sooo nice and helpful in every way.
I went with my family and we had a lot of fun, we met new people from different countries, we cooked and learned new recipes, we surfed and had a good rest. The beach is amazing, the pool is perfect, and you never want to leave. I totally recommend Viejamar and its light environment. The prices are fine and you can buy fresh fish or seafood and prepare it on the grill while you have a glass of wine and laugh with friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SashaNicole1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viejamar, Propietario at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much.
We work with you in mind.
We always try to make you have a good time in Viejamar.
Greetings and blessings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Tunas
0.2 mi away
Tsafiki Hosteria
Tsafiki Hosteria
#1 of 2 in Las Tunas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Finca Punta Ayampe
Finca Punta Ayampe
#1 of 12 in Ayampe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Azuluna Ecolodge
Azuluna Ecolodge
#2 of 5 in Las Tunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria la Barquita
Hosteria la Barquita
#1 of 4 in Las Tunas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hosteria Guachapeli
Hosteria Guachapeli
#2 of 4 in Las Tunas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viejamar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viejamar Hostel

Property: Viejamar Hostel
Address: Calle Guayaquil s/n | Puerto Lopez, Las Tunas 5935, Ecuador (Formerly Hostel Viejamar Surf)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Las Tunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Las Tunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viejamar Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel are located right in front of the beach with panoramic sea views and direct access to the beach close to Las Tunas. We are between the tropical forest and the ocean, beside Machalilla National Park. This is a perfect starting point for many outdoors activities and adventures. This is a great Surf spot for beginners and advanced surfers with 2 waves: Viejamar and Las Tunas. If you want to learn, we offer Surf lessons for beginners in a friendly and quiet environment.You can cook and share a dinner, organize a barbecue, chill in the pool or drink a cold beer on our high level terrace enjoying a magical sunset.To keep the balance after an adventure, surf or quiet beach day, join us for a "Party Trip" to Montañita or a local party in one of our neighbor towns! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Viejamar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viejamar Hostel Ecuador/Las Tunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing