We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tsafiki Hosteria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Atamari Hosteria(Puerto Lopez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ancora(Puerto Lopez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacifico(Puerto Lopez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
53
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery mealoff seasonthought of everythingcrashing waveswell taken caregreat placehidden gemstayed nightsthe ownerpuerto lopezeggshot waterlorigamesjacuzziloungersocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Clean, with nice rooms and located directly at the beach, this hotel is perfect for a stay on the coast, if you are looking for good value for your money and nothing too fancy. The owner is very helpful and the rest of the staff was also really nice. There is a Cabana with hammocks right by the beach and it is possible to enjoy your lunch or coffee there. Another nice feature was the campfire with marshmallows at night! Last but not least, there are 3 very cute and friendly dogs on the property!

Room Tip: While all the rooms seem to be quite similar, we think staying on a top floor of one of the houses is best!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here on the winter off-season during the whale migration and while the location was great, the experience itself was not. We were three families from nearby Guayaquil and from the US, and we all agreed on what the Tsafiki was lacking.

We loved that the place was right on the beach and the room rate was great because it was the off-season (and kind of chilly for Ecuador). The staff at Tsafiki were very nice and friendly, but we found their service lacking. Granted, we were large group of ten, but they didn't have enough food to feed us at the restaurant, so we had to go elsewhere. (Thankfully Jonny's place down the beach was a great option.) They also didn't clean our rooms other than the first night we were there, we only had hot water the first day, they didn't give us enough towels, we had to ask for toilet paper every day, the WIFI was spotty and was best available when we were sitting outside the cabin, etc. With better management, this place could be great, but it just seemed like the staff didn't care very much to deal with us during the winter. Maybe it's better during the summer in January when everyone is on their A-game. We all agreed that we could do better somewhere else next time we're in the area.

Room Tip: We had a two-level bungalow on the edge of the property near the beach, which was very nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSurely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We loved our time at Tsafiki in Las Tunas! We had a room in the top floor of a Bungalow overlooking the beach and the sea. The room was very nicely decorated and had a hammock on it's balcony - perfect to relax. To check emails WIFI was in the room and on the beach! Patricia and her staff was very friendly and also made very good and creative food. The only drawback was that we were asked to change the room in the last night for dubious reasons to a worse one.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

myself and my boyfriend stayed here for about 10 days while backpacking around South America. The place was gorgeous, positioned right on the beach. It was very quiet while we were there but that suited us. The owner was so friendly, and very accomodating. It will stay in my heart as a very fond memory.
Our room was lovely, with a balcony over looking the beach and stunning sunsets. Very clean and confortable, which made for a nice change from ome other places we stayed along the way!
If your looking for somewhere to chill out, surf, read books in hammock or aval of the free games room , this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, Owner at Tsafiki Hosteria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews