We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”
Review of Hostal Kundalini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Kundalini
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a booking for 7 nights but stayed only 2. The location is super great - right on the beach, not exactly in the village, so you avoid the busy nightlife but you can be there in 5 minutes by walk. The surf Point is about 10 minutes along the beach. View is great.
But - rooms are only basic, did not feel much comfortable and relaxed. Bed is not very comfortable, room is dark with a very small window and sterile white tiling on walls. The biggest problem was poor ventilation, so without a/c it really gets hot in the night (fan does not help too much). And wi-fi sygnal does not reach to the room, so u have to take you lap top to the common area. Also breakfast is too simple - scrabled eggs, toast and banana everyday. Signs that you should not take more that one cup of coffee and one glass of juice were already too much.
Overall - if you are looking just for a place to sleep when you come from a party at 2am or later and do not want to spent much time relaxing in the hotel, it is a great place for you. If you want more comfort and good sleep, find something else.
PS: If the staff bothered to give us some smile or at least answered to our "Buenos dias" we would definitely stay longer. Sometimes these small things may be very important.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thanks for your comments! we really use comments to improve our service. I want to let you know that we have put air conditioner in almost all the back rooms that are the most affected by the climate! Also, we take off the signal of "only consume one per person". Its true that wifi signal is not good in the rooms, but this is a problem of Montanita in general, the internet provider is not good, so we preffer to have good internet in the social area for common use, we just put internet for the hammock area infront of the beach and in the breakfast area! Hopping to have you again in our hostel and sorry for all the inconvenience, we promise you the next visit will be better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was probably my favorite hostel in all of Ecuador. The location is perfect. Close enough, but far enough from the noise. The breakfast was good and the coffee was lovely. This family run hostel deserves it's #1 spot on trip advisor. Water was always hot and the views from the balcony are amazing. I will always remember the times I had at Hotel Kundalini. I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: I would also suggest you get an upstairs room with a balcony facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larryj357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Good location and the front rooms have terrific views, but the rooms are somewhat crummy (torn screens, very cheap furnishings, and below-average beds.

The hotel is set in a quiet location just a few minutes walk from downtown, is right on the beach, and features hammocks on balconies and in a shaded area in front of the hotel - all terrific. That said, the beds are not comfortable, the top bunks are not guarded and the pillows, blankets etc are very cheap.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms facing the beach are the pick of the litter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalKundalini, Manager at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014
Google Translation

Querido cliente! gracias por su critica, siempre son positivas para mejorar. Mes a mes analizamos las criticas y tratamos de tratarlas a todas con mucha importancia para mejorar, al fin y al cabo son nuestros clientes los que nos ayudaran a salir adelante y mejorar día a día. Tenemos la satisfacción y el orgullo de contarle que en Diciembre del 2013 todas nuestras instalaciones fueron mejoradas y renovadas, ubicando aires acondicionados en todas las habitaciones, facilidades en cuanto a espacios, closets y mejora de colchones. No sera la ultima renovacion, a medida que pase el tiempo y con la ayuda de nuestros clientes seguiremos mejorando como Hostal! Un saludos grande, lo esperamos nuevamente!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We spent a few days at the Kundalini and were not disappointed. This place is in the perfect spot. Close to town but far enough away to avoid the the bar and music noise. On the beach and a great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaakre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife and I spent a week here after reading a number of nice reviews. One needs to consider the age of the reviewers when making decisions regarding creature comforts. My son and his friend, both 22, loved this place, however, my wife and I, both in our 50's were less enthralled. It brings back memories of dorm living. Crowded rooms with cheap bunks, no chairs, thin sheets and poorly working AC. Easy enough to overlook if you come home at 4:30 in the morning drunk. If you prefer to retire at 10:00 it makes for a long uncomfortable night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Hi! we have change all the pillows and sheets! We have improve the hot wter system and pressure system as the air conditioners in rooms! There are No 5 star hotels In Montañita with all the luxuries, since it is a simple and quiet beach where customers spend most time doing activities or on the beach. In Kundalini have always tried to keep us with the best possible quality in terms of bed linen, mattresses and towels considering that we are a hotel of $20 dollars per person, but not the best hotel in a big city. Maybe you came in January and February, where the majority are young people and really do not recommend these dates for people over 40 ! you will have nice vacations out of this dates! we love April and May to rest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I loved this spot. Not only where the prices great $15 for a single bungalow, 20 ft from the beach, you have HOT water, good water pressure, clean room service everyday, its safe and quite. They have bunkbed rooms for folks traveling w friends and its a bit off the hidden path, so the fun nights and noises are right outside your bedroom. Montanita is a great place to surf and this is where I will stay again on my return. The management is really kind and helpful and they are always making upgrades to the place. Each bungalow has its own hammock and tables outside and they have a large TV with DVDs if thats your thing too. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: call ahead during high season as the bungalows are limited and they fill up quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalKundalini, Propietario at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Hi Sassy! thanks a lot for your comments!

We hope to see you around, next time will be even better! Have a nice trip.

Diego Gonzenbach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Our room and bathroom was small and minimal, but had a great balcony facing the ocean (semi-private), with hammocks to relax in all day- so it was still a good value. The location is just past the noisy club and bar area, so all you can hear is the sound of the ocean waves. It was also easy to find once we were on the beach, we just walked towards the point, rather than look for it via the roads behind it, which are more sketchy to walk through. It also felt very secure and enclosed from the public beach area, and was fine walking back to after dark. Wifi was just out of reach from our room, and breakfast was good (egg, toast, juice, coffee).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montanita
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.2 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 9 in Montanita
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#5 of 9 in Montanita
208 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
61 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Kundalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Kundalini

Address: At the beach 200 mts walking from north from the town, Montanita 5939, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range: £33 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Kundalini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the bottom of the sea in the best area of Montanita, where the silence allows you to rest at night. Restaurants and bars are only at 2 minutes walking. Clean rooms with private bathroom, air conditioner, hot water, wifi, private hammocks and all you need at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Kundalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing