We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostal!”
Review of Hostal Kundalini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Kundalini
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It offers excellent and comfortable rooms for low prices. Offers cleaning service and a good breakfast. While the service is not a strength in Montañita, Kundalini offers a good one. Its an excellent choice.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Juan Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Me and my girlfirend stayed here for one week in the beginning of november. The staff is nice, and very kind and helpful. the rooms are abit small and dark, but cozy and clean. though ALOT of mosquitos, so buy/bring your own net, cause they got through the door cracks and windows, no way to keep them out. (we tried) and that probably counts for all the hostels.
The breakfast brings down the rating, and was not a highlight, not alot to offer; eggs, bread and fruit (one kind of fruit pr day)
the greatest part was the location, as it is abit out of town, but still on the beach, and a 2 min walk to the main street.
as there is a lot of noise coming from town 24/7 and especially on the weekends, it was very nice to be able to escape all the music and partying if you wanna have a quiet night.
we had two different rooms, one on the ground floor and one on the second floor with an oceanview, so if possible ask for a second floor room, with ocean view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karsten89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed over one week at Kundalini, enjoying the beach, sights and activities in Montanita. The hostal is removed from the busy town, however the walls were thin so you could hear almost everything that was happening in the bathroom next door. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great and the ground staff were helpful in cleaning up the pool for our son. The value was excellent, the rooms were clean and free of bugs, compared to some other hostels nearby. We really enjoyed our relaxing time visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ijunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Not a bad experience but my complaint lies in the category of overrated and not great value. Surely Tripadvisors #2 hotel in Montanita should be better than ok. I paid $46/ night which may sound cheap but when comparable hostels in Montanita are under $20, something does not add up. I think the high trip advisor rating has allowed them to inflate their prices. Three specific complaints: 1. I paid $16 more on Expedia than I would have if I just booked on their site- this should not happen- I don't know whose fault this was, maybe my own. 2. A hostel that sells itself as being quiet is anything but- the paper thin walls in my room forced me to hear everything. (Yes, everything) that my neighbours did. I was at the mercy of my neighbours as to whether I could get a good sleep. 3. Stained towels and sheets. I know this isn't a four star hotel but brown stains on all three of my towels is off putting.

Staff are very nice, great location but this isn't worth the price of admission. Again, I think this place thrives on such an excellent trip advisor rating but I don't think it's well earned- average hostels are a dime a dozen in Montanita, for far less $$$

Room Tip: Don't be sandwiched between two rooms, you won't sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalKundalini, Manager at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014
Google Translation

Querido cliente!
1. Gracias a los comentarios de algunos clientes que se han hospedados en las habitaciones entre medio de otras habitaciones, las cuales tenían problemas de privacidad por las delgadas paredes, hemos renovado nuestras instalaciones en Diciembre del 2013, haciendo más privadas las habitaciones con paredes más reforzadas con doble bloque entre ellas.
Comenzamos en el 2007 como un hostal totalmente rustico con paredes de bambú forradas de cemento, pero ahora, debido a los sonido entre algunas de las habitaciones y falta de privacidad, hemos mantenido lo rustico pero hemos aumentado y reforzado las paredes para no escuchar entre habitaciones.

2. Gracias por su comentario, efectivamente hemos logrado crear una igualdad tarifaría en nuestro hospedaje y siempre hemos tratado de mantener precio- calidad y competitividad con los otros hoteles. Alrededor nuestro hay hoteles de más de $200 dólares por noche, realmente del rio de Montanita hasta la Punta, que es la zona más natural y tranquila donde nos encontramos, ningún hotel baja su precio menos de $40 dólares por noche.
Revisando su estadía, es cierto que existió un problema por un mal ingreso de precio en nuestro sistema, ya que estábamos en un proceso de lograr colocar las tarifas iguales en todo el internet, aunque fue un trabajo muy difícil porque la información estaba muy regada por miles de páginas web. Ahora en cualquier página de búsqueda hotelera, sea cual sea, hemos podido establecer las mismas tarifas.

3. De todas maneras, como concejo personal, lo mejor es reservar directamente desde la página web del hotel, ya que si está en nuestras manos mostrar las ofertas especiales para ciertos días del año. Los precios si varían de acuerdo a las diferentes temporadas como en todo negocio, todo hotel se maneja de acuerdo a la oferta y la demanda de las diferentes temporadas y puede variar también de acuerdo a las fechas y antelación con las que realice sus reservas! Pero esto es a nivel mundial, no solo en Kundalini!

Mil gracias por su comentario, realmente nos pusimos a trabajar para no tener el problema de la diferencia tarifaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

we stayed 2 nights in a double room with private bathroom.

+ fantastic balcony with nice view on the beach/sea
+ hammocks on the balcony
+ hot water with nice pressure
+ well situated in a calm area, directly at the beach, 5' walk to the "party center"
+ immediate reply to email request (we wished to book the second night...)
+ good breakfast
+ nice girl at the reception helped us with a call to a spanish speaking fisherman (since our spanish is too bad)
+ free wifi in the common areas

what could be improved in our view:
- provide wifi in the room
- be more friendly at check in and assist guest with special request (this was the guy at the reception, when we arrived)
- provide breakfast earlier than 9 am (eg at 8 am)
- remove the strange smell in the bathroom/toilet

our conclusion: recommended, we would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

after arriving in montanita and staying in a very costly and uninviting hostal,i was just walking down the beach and found what i consider heaven.this hostal has all the ambiance and peacefullness you could possibly ask for.the owner and his staff go all out on making your stay a very memorable one.and the price was less than the one prior to it.this gets 5 stars hands down

Room Tip: if in montanita this little slice of heaven is a must to be checked into
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My son and I had a wonderful stay at the Hostal Kundalini along with another 40-50 Christian Surfers. The staff went out of their way to take care of us. The breakfast was fresh and wonderful. The grounds made for a relaxing time. We were just far enough from the central part of the town that we didn't hear the late night music. Wonderful location and easy to find. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSCBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montanita
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.2 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#5 of 9 in Montanita
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#4 of 9 in Montanita
207 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
53 reviews
4.2 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#1 of 3 in Olon
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Kundalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Kundalini

Address: At the beach 200 mts walking from north from the town, Montanita 5939, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range: £35 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Kundalini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the bottom of the sea in the best area of Montanita, where the silence allows you to rest at night. Restaurants and bars are only at 2 minutes walking. Clean rooms with private bathroom, air conditioner, hot water, wifi, private hammocks and all you need at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Kundalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing