We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful beyond imagination” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Kundalini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Kundalini
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Helpful beyond imagination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

English was understood by all the staff enough to have our requests fulfilled. The staff and the owner went to great lengths to return some belongings forgotten in the room. The siting right on the beach was wonderful. The location is close enough to walk to town and far enough to be away from the party scene to be able to sleep before 3:00am. I even had the chance to practise a guided Yoga session.

Room Tip: Little half duplex at the back was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veteranexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    162
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
180
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The location is terrific - close enough to the action, but not too close that you can't sleep because of loud music. The shower is nice, with hot water, and it's nice having a hammock - though we got a room facing away from the beach (the ones on the beach side must be spectacular especially at sunset). Beware of the top bed - it's high up, and you gotta be careful climbing on and off. Certainly wouldn't use it after a couple of drinks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank vkat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

My daughter who is 21 and I were looking for a fun but quiet place close to the action. Well this is the place, only 5 min stumble down the beach at night to get to town, right on the beach. Rooms were very adequate with AC and great breakfast. I highly recommend it! Close enough to town but far enough away to be quiet and sleep!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimfromhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I used to travel really often to Montañita, and I've stayed in almost every hotel, hostel, etc., in Montañita. Kundalini is the best in my opinion. A really relaxing place, just as far as needed from the party center. You have great "hamacas" and a perfect beach view.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Magic place , definite the best hotel in Montañita , you have the beach right at your feet . Hotel provides a chill & relax atmosphere with excelent amenities .
Rooms are very confortable , the have a/c , hot water , closet , wifi . Perfect if you are planning a long stay. Plus the price y not expensive at all.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something special , but if you want a nice view ask for 2nd floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank thosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we stayed here in october, and although the hostal was supposedly under some renovation the owner let us have a great ocean view room, which was simple but clean and efficient. a bathroom in the room and also a small balcony. unfortunately the weather was not the best in october but we still had a good time in montanita. the hotel was 5 minute walk on the beach from the center of town.which is better for sleeping although you could still hear the parties from the beach. but i can imagine in downtown it would be impossible to sleep from the noise. the breakfast was included and was pretty good, with some bread and eggs and fresh juice and fruits and coffee. we were very pleased with the hostel and especially the price, i think we paid between 15-20 usd per person for the ocean view.

Room Tip: the ocean view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank pitufala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed two weeks at Hostal Kundalini and loved it! The owners and staff are super friendly and helpful, thank you to all of them for making our stay very special.
The grounds are beautifully taken care of with colorful plants and beautiful flowers. Located walking distance from Montañita center but far enough to not hear the weekend party scene. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I had no idea what Montañitas would be like, my boyfriend organized the trip, It was a great discovery and a place we plan on returning to next year. The beaches are beautiful, the food is delicious and very inexpensive, and the people are warm and friendly. And if you want to learn how to surf there are plenty of experienced teachers to choose from. Highly recommend taking the bus to Los Frailes, amazing beach located in the state park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.3 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#3 of 10 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.9 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#7 of 10 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balsa Surf Camp
Balsa Surf Camp
#1 of 42 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Kundalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Kundalini

Property: Hostal Kundalini
Address: At the beach 200 mts walking from north from the town, Montanita 5939, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Kundalini 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the bottom of the sea in the best area of Montanita, where the silence allows you to rest at night. Restaurants and bars are only at 2 minutes walking. Clean rooms with private bathroom, air conditioner, hot water, wifi, private hammocks and all you need at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Kundalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing