We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relatively cheap and nice location...not too clean, though”
Review of Hostal Montezuma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Montezuma
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights during april ( a couple ) and found the place to be pretty cheap. 7 dollars each for a private room with bathroom, breakfast included.

The staff was friendly, though minding their own business most of the time.
The room was very damp and I woke up with a sore throat every day...even if the room had one fan, it didn't work that well and most of the time we ended up just having to go out during the day. The hostel was very noisy, but this was to be expected from montañita, however a few residents at the hostel insisted in having a tv out of their room blasting bad music for hours on end.

all in all I think we got what we paid for. Next time I wouldn't mind paying a bit more for a cleaner/more comfortable place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarioJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had higher hopes for hostel montezuma. After reading about it online I had hoped to find a big party hostel. However what I did find was an average hostel where the party happens outside. Rooms have about three beds and start at 8 dollars per person. Breakfast is included but not on weekends. There is no wifi but there is a very expensive Internet cafe downstairs. No real place to hang out on every storey there is a small balcony but not big enough for a crowd. No mosquito nets but there are fans. I wasn't necessarily impressed but all other hostels around it start at about 13 dollars a night so for the location I would say it was decent value

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I've been traveling alone through Ecuador for a while now, and it's always interesting trying to meet not just friends but people along the way. The main receptionist here was always incredibly helpful, chatting with me about things to do and trying to set me up with other people from the hostel. The hostel itself is very nice considering the price/area ($7 in a less developed part of the coast) and has a good environment for meeting other people. I'm not sure if the receptionist speaks English. For the price of $7 you will recieve hot water, hammocks to chillax in (first come first serve though!), huuuge tables to socialize at in the main lobby, and breakfast each morning--although if you're really into the Montanita spirit, you won't be waking up in time to take advantage of this. BUT. It's there ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cjfalkenrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We spent 10 days in this hostel, they got good prices acording to the rooms and a breakfast as big as I nowhere else get before.
Stuff is very friendly, they gave us a lot of informacions about trips and all the movement. The hostel is in the best ubicacion, in the whole center but not as much noise like in the other Hostels around, after restaurant close guests are aloud to use the installations with music etc. and consume the own drinks. We drunk a lot of ,,,,he he he
A Hostel not as comercial as the other ones.
- We made a lots of friends and come back for shure-

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

When we got off the bus in Montañita, we were going to look for a hostel called Centro del Mundo. A man came up to us advertising Hostel Montezuma. He said that Montezuma would cost 8 dollars a person per night. We thought this was way too much money and kept walking towards the other hostel. He eventually offered it to us for 6 dollars including breakfast. We took him up on his offer and were led into a small, dark room for all 6 of us. It has one matrimonial bed and 2 bunk beds in a space that would have been better off with just 2 bunk beds. Everything was sandy, no surprise at the beach, but also very dirty. The matrimonial bed had no mattress, just sheets on the springs. My bunk bed was just fine. We did have a private bathroom with hot water which was unexpected at the beach. The breakfast was bread and fruit but not bad.

So basically the room was really bad but the service was very friendly. Yan, the guy who met us on the street, went out to dinner with us, partied with us, and hung out with us the whole 2 days. However, I wouldn't ever stay here again because it wasn't that cheap but it was not a nice hostel AT ALL.

Word of warning: my friend Marlene got stung by a sting ray in the shallow area. There is no way to prevent this but if it does happen, go to the free hospital 1 town away instead of the pharmacy in town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UberLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montezuma H, Propietario at Hostal Montezuma, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank conradoplotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montezuma H, Propietario at Hostal Montezuma, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.5 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 9 in Montanita
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pop House
Pop House
#7 of 42 in Montanita
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Moai
Hostal Moai
#7 of 88 in Montanita
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiki Limbo
Tiki Limbo
#5 of 42 in Montanita
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperanto Hostel
Esperanto Hostel
#1 of 88 in Montanita
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Montezuma

Address: Calle de los Cocteles y 10 de Agosto, Montanita 100156, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Montanita
Price Range: £11 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Montezuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Montezuma Hotel Montanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing