We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbugs, terrible smell and broken door lock.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Montezuma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Montezuma
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bedbugs, terrible smell and broken door lock.”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

So we arrived to Montanitas late in the evening and saw a banner for this hostel and decided to check it out. Got a private room on the second floor with 4 beds and private bathroom for 8$ in a decent location. That's about all the good things that I can say about hostel Montezuma.

Wifi connection was horrible and receptionist didn't even know the Wifi password. Breakfast is served only on weekdays and you could barely call it breakfast.

Walls were paper thin and the smell in the whole area was disgusting, smelled like sewer.

Our door wouldn't lock. Asked the receptionist to fix it, he just adjusted the lock but it could still be easily opened. By the end of our 2 day stay we had an ipod and a couple of other electronics stolen from the room.

To top it all of all 4 of us got bedbugs and the staff didn't seem to care about it. Once we were checking out they asked for the full amount per night and when we gave him a 20 - he said he didn't have change even though he did. Laziest staff I've ever met.

Room Tip: Avoid like cancer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simongeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    25
    15
    12
See reviews for
2
13
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights during april ( a couple ) and found the place to be pretty cheap. 7 dollars each for a private room with bathroom, breakfast included.

The staff was friendly, though minding their own business most of the time.
The room was very damp and I woke up with a sore throat every day...even if the room had one fan, it didn't work that well and most of the time we ended up just having to go out during the day. The hostel was very noisy, but this was to be expected from montañita, however a few residents at the hostel insisted in having a tv out of their room blasting bad music for hours on end.

all in all I think we got what we paid for. Next time I wouldn't mind paying a bit more for a cleaner/more comfortable place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarioJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had higher hopes for hostel montezuma. After reading about it online I had hoped to find a big party hostel. However what I did find was an average hostel where the party happens outside. Rooms have about three beds and start at 8 dollars per person. Breakfast is included but not on weekends. There is no wifi but there is a very expensive Internet cafe downstairs. No real place to hang out on every storey there is a small balcony but not big enough for a crowd. No mosquito nets but there are fans. I wasn't necessarily impressed but all other hostels around it start at about 13 dollars a night so for the location I would say it was decent value

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I've been traveling alone through Ecuador for a while now, and it's always interesting trying to meet not just friends but people along the way. The main receptionist here was always incredibly helpful, chatting with me about things to do and trying to set me up with other people from the hostel. The hostel itself is very nice considering the price/area ($7 in a less developed part of the coast) and has a good environment for meeting other people. I'm not sure if the receptionist speaks English. For the price of $7 you will recieve hot water, hammocks to chillax in (first come first serve though!), huuuge tables to socialize at in the main lobby, and breakfast each morning--although if you're really into the Montanita spirit, you won't be waking up in time to take advantage of this. BUT. It's there ;-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjfalkenrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We spent 10 days in this hostel, they got good prices acording to the rooms and a breakfast as big as I nowhere else get before.
Stuff is very friendly, they gave us a lot of informacions about trips and all the movement. The hostel is in the best ubicacion, in the whole center but not as much noise like in the other Hostels around, after restaurant close guests are aloud to use the installations with music etc. and consume the own drinks. We drunk a lot of ,,,,he he he
A Hostel not as comercial as the other ones.
- We made a lots of friends and come back for shure-

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

When we got off the bus in Montañita, we were going to look for a hostel called Centro del Mundo. A man came up to us advertising Hostel Montezuma. He said that Montezuma would cost 8 dollars a person per night. We thought this was way too much money and kept walking towards the other hostel. He eventually offered it to us for 6 dollars including breakfast. We took him up on his offer and were led into a small, dark room for all 6 of us. It has one matrimonial bed and 2 bunk beds in a space that would have been better off with just 2 bunk beds. Everything was sandy, no surprise at the beach, but also very dirty. The matrimonial bed had no mattress, just sheets on the springs. My bunk bed was just fine. We did have a private bathroom with hot water which was unexpected at the beach. The breakfast was bread and fruit but not bad.

So basically the room was really bad but the service was very friendly. Yan, the guy who met us on the street, went out to dinner with us, partied with us, and hung out with us the whole 2 days. However, I wouldn't ever stay here again because it wasn't that cheap but it was not a nice hostel AT ALL.

Word of warning: my friend Marlene got stung by a sting ray in the shallow area. There is no way to prevent this but if it does happen, go to the free hospital 1 town away instead of the pharmacy in town.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UberLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montanita hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.5 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#7 of 10 in Montanita
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Moai
Hostal Moai
#10 of 87 in Montanita
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperanto Hostel
Esperanto Hostel
#1 of 87 in Montanita
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montanita Cabanas
Montanita Cabanas
#3 of 87 in Montanita
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lumaga Hostal
Lumaga Hostal
#8 of 87 in Montanita
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Montezuma

Property: Hostal Montezuma
Address: Calle de los Cocteles y 10 de Agosto, Montanita 100156 , Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Montezuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Montezuma Hotel Montanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing