We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Come to La Casa de Curia if you want to enjoy...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Montanita, Santa Elena Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
vanmac123
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come to La Casa de Curia if you want to enjoy amazing hospitality, accommodations and activities!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I can not emphasize how much we enjoyed our time here. In proof, we actually came back to the house twice during our trip to Ecuador. The property is lovely, hosting two rental houses - La Casita and La Casa de Curia. La Casita is perfect if you are in a smaller group (4 ish) as it hosts one big beautiful bedroom (with a view of the ocean) as well as a nicely sized common space with a deluxe futon. La Casa de Curia is an ideal spot if you have a large group. There are three large bedrooms, plus two lofts. The bedrooms each contain queen sized beds and the lofts host a combined additional 6 twin bed (we had a group of 7, but the house could have easily accommodated more). The house itself is very spacious, has a big patio and lots of common space. Both of the houses have fully equipped kitchens, which we appreciated and took advantage of.
The house itself is situated on a little hill, and is very private. I felt completely safe. You have access to the beach, however it is not waterfront. To get to the beach you have to cross the road and unlock the private gate (which belongs to the property owners). The walk to the beach takes no more then 5 mins.
The Olon-Curia beach is very quite and extensive. I walked the length of it in about 1:30 mins, only passing people here and there. We rented surf boards in Montanita and brought them back to this beach during both of the trips and really enjoyed how peaceful it was here. The house also provides you with some boogie boards as well as a few bikes to use.
The town of Montanita is approximately 6 km away from the house which you can easily get to by car, or taxi. The town has many restaurants, shops and LOTS of night life. The Montanita beach is quite beautiful, yet often PACKED. There are many shops that rent surf boards, bikes and there is even a dive shop if you are so inclined.
The owners father lives on the property (Julio) and was exceptionaly courteous with our group. On our first visit he gave us a great tour of the town, and showed us some spectacular views and great places to get coffee and groceries. The groundskeeper and cleaning staff was also fantastic.
I would hands down recommend staying here, and hope that one day I can return. If you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay, within reach from Montanita and the beach, search no further!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, Location, Experience.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2012
Thank You Vanessa.
Thank you very much for your very nice and generous review. We all hope you will be back sometime soon.
All the best for you and keep exploring the world.

Bernardo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc, canada
Reviewed 27 April 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montana
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Apr 2012
Thank you very much my friends, We will try to visit Yellowstone one day.

Bernardo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sparky333...
salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Julio, makes La casa de Curia what it is. (Paradise)”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

La Casa de Curia is a place of serenenity.The constant sounds of rushing surf that guarentees a peaceful nights sleep and speaks to the secure feeling we have had during our stay here. (this is a very safe place). We would first of all like to thank Bernardo who was very quick to reply to our questions via E-mail and by telephone which made booking a real pleasure.Lastly but certainly not least we would like to express our deepest thanks to Julio (Bernardo's father) who did bend over backwards in order to ensure our satisfaction. He and his staff deserve a five star rating and so too the wonderful accomidations. Again, Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No car rental needed .40 cents for bus to Montanita.(Quick walk down hill)
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Reviewed 29 February 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Reviewed 22 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TEXAS
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing