We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far best BnB in Montanita”
Review of Balsa Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balsa Surf Camp
Ranked #1 of 42 Montanita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We spent 6 nights in Balsa Surf camp and we enjoyed it a lot! The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and they are cleaned every day. The food in the restaurant is simple and good! There are 5 different options for the delicious breakfast! Julie the manager/owner is super nice and if you surf you can rent a board shaped by her husband "Rasty". We checked other places before going to Balsa, and what we have seen this is by far the best you can get in Montanita.

Room Tip: I would suggest the upper units because u have sea view, especially the unit to the behind the resta...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Balsa Surf Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Great place just out of the mayhem of Montanita but still able to walk into town when you feel like it. This part of the beach is close to the point break and it's only 20m from the front of the property (through another property) to reach the beach. The food is good, would recommend including dinner in the package. Staff are super friendly. The Balsa boards for rent are good fun too, worth a try. Only con is the walls are really thin, you'll get to know your neighbor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent one evening in Montanita at a hotel just down the road from Balsa Surf Camp. My wife, daughter and I signed up for surf lessons with the Balsa Surf Camp instructors...and we completely regretted that we didn't stay here.

Balsa Surf Camp is in a peaceful, zen-like lush setting - walking paths wind around trees, flowers, inviting hammocks and artwork. It's not a huge campus. More like a collection of funky, clean and well-maintained buildings arranged with a central garden area.

We spotted a lot of college-age and older people lounging around, talking and simply enjoying the place. Not sure if 'family with small kids' is the perfect demographic, but the owners and staff were simply lovely and would have welcomed us.

It's incredibly close to the beach and other B&B's with restaurants and drinking areas. (Not really bars.) Think of this as more of a peaceful retreat from the Montanita action versus the scrum of activity within the town itself.

SURF LESSONS: Money well spent with the Balsa Surf Camp instructors. Patient, well-versed and very good at what they do. I'd highly recommend using them!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We took our 4 teenage kids to Ecuador and this was their favorite place out of all the stays in our month long trip. A 1 minute walk to the beach on the far end of town, about a 5 minute walk on the beach to the main part of town. Quiet and beautiful. Hammocks and a fire pit were a great place for us to relax after a long day of playing. Food was great and the owners, Julie and Rasty were very nice. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlie9776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just returned from the Balsa Surf Camp. Perfect place for both beach activities and relaxation. The hammocks throughout the camp are great, and the landscaping is incredible. The restaurant is small, but has very good meals, and they are very accommodating of special requests. The owners are friendly and helpful, and work to keep guests happy. The rooms add to the overall tropical setting, with bamboo throughout, and private balconies with hammocks. We had a couple incidents of being without water and/or power, but that seems to be a recurring problem throughout Ecuador, not just here. We had a wonderful time, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkaeea6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

First of all, we loved Ecuador as a whole. The people are friendly, beautiful country, great surf and overall pretty safe with a stable government. I can't wait to go back, and when we do, I would stay at Balsa again! Rasty and Julie have built a great little garden like oasis very close to the beach. It is a perfect location if you want some quiet at nite, or, you can take a ten minute walk to the town for partytime! They like it loud, and on the weekends, they party til the morning hours. The food at their liittle restaurant on the property is great, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. Different fresh squeezed juices everyday with breakfast. Our room was clean and very treehouse like. We were on the second floor with a hammock and hanging chair on the balcony. 24 hour hot water available (you have to ask about this when choosing a place to stay). The staff is great and helpful and Julie likes to check in to make sure you are comfortable and having a great time! I can't say enough about them!!! Thank you!! Dwayne and Tracy Robinson

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, but, there is a two story cottage that has an ocean view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Balsa Surf Camp is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are lusciously-planted and well-maintained and our room (#4) was like living in a beautiful, hardwood treehouse with a lovely balcony with two hammocks and a decent view of the ocean. The breakfast (included in your stay) was delicious--a choice of five various combinations of fruit, eggs, and other sides--and usually lasted us until dinner time. The rooms are clean and equipped with a ceiling fan, which was enough circulation and cooling to keep us comfortable. The hotel is just across a little dirt lane from the beach and very easy to get back and forth (though you might just sink into your hammock and stay there instead). It's an easy walk along the beach into town during the day and a $1.50 or so taxi ride back at night.

My main problem here was with infrastructure. We had several brief power outages, which weren't a big deal at all. However, we were repeatedly without water in the sink, toilet, or shower, including the better part of one night. I will say that because it was sporadic and happened at inconvenient times (late at night, in the morning when we were rushing to catch our bus back to Guayaquil), we didn't really bring it up with Julie as we should have, and I feel confident she would've addressed our concerns as the customer service was generally helpful and responsive, if not entirely warm. I know they are very environmentally-aware and I appreciate that, but there are apparently still some things to be ironed out.

Also of note, the location (decently far outside town but still an easy walk along the beach into the heart of things) is quiet for Montanita, but not actually quiet. You'll still hear music most of the day from the beachfront hotel next door which is somewhat loud in the evening--heck, even the garbage trucks in Montanita broadcast music. It didn't bother me personally, but if you want true quiet, Montanita might not be the place for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babycobalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.7 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#5 of 9 in Montanita
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#4 of 9 in Montanita
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Moai
Hostal Moai
#8 of 85 in Montanita
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsa Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsa Surf Camp

Address: at the Point, Montanita, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Montanita
Price Range: £37 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsa Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our BALSA SURF CAMP in Montanita, Ecuador, made by and for surfers! The perfect place to discover a country and its waves, its culture and the wonderful art of balsa wood boards shaped by César Moreira, owner of the camp. It is a reconciliation, a union with nature. Imagine! Surfing a tree! Discover our beautiful style of Ecological bungalows only 30 meters from the surf! There are handcraft built by local carpenters using bamboo and wood. In a friendly environment you will enjoy the Montanita surf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Balsa Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsa Surf Camp Hotel Montanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing