We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Todo super bien!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Hill Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Happy Hill Hostel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Todo super bien!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I have spent an excellent time at Happy Hill.
People are very friendly.

Special shout out and extra thanks goes out to Junior Chef Gonzalo,
who took care of every topic that aroused, with great heart and
very reliable!

Muchas gracias otravez! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Definitely one of the best hotels (on the road to Montañita) that I've stayed at. Great one for family stays. It has a wonderful view of its surrounding mountains and nature, and a nice pool area. The rooms are nice and comfortable, air conditioned. Its food is great, the staff is polite and nice. The beach is also at a walking distance.

- Margie. Guayaquil, Ecuador.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

This is an Amazing place if you are attending with your family alone or with your better half it's a fantastic place for
Everyone.
Fabulous views of the sunset away from the city great place for resting or if you just want to party like a rockstar or surf on the biggest waves montanita is 6 minutes away on a cab.
Remember if you want some tranquility away from the city with the most beautiful sunsets / views, just visit Happy hill see it for Yourself you won't regret it !!!
It's a paradise on earth and ecofriendly as well excellence food!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giaworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Yes, the views of the ocean in the distance are pleasant enough, but this shambling wreck of a place (located not in Montanita but nine kilometers away in San Jose) has seen much better days. Most of it is closed off, and the few remaining rooms are falling to pieces; in my room, the sink leaked so badly that a little river flowed past the bed and out under the door onto the patio. Many rooms had no screens on the windows, so mosquitoes had free rein. Advertisements tell of a pool and restaurant, but we never saw them; perhaps they too have been abandoned.

Worst of all, when we tried to leave, we were told that the rate quoted at check-in, $50, had changed -- now we were to pay $75. Only after a tense stand-off did the management back down. Could anything be less relaxing?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrMaxR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Positives- very nice food, with amazing views, ALL the staff are friendly. Rooms clean and safe. Beautiful surroundings, even horses. 5 mins by cab from montanita, nice pool.

Negative- the owner of the complex had me pay in advanced a big deposit for the special room, he sent me pictures, i opted for that room, and confirmed. On arrival the expensive room i paid for was news to the staff, they had no idea. The owner didnt even bother to tell the staff of my arrival. I was offered a standard room, which i thought was pleasant enought, i didnt make too much fuss, but felt ripped off.

I would go back, the cook Henry is an amazing. The setting is cool, beautiful old farm house looking private place- with horses, sea views everywhere as you are on the hill

oh, no internet, tv, but good food freshly made. Good beds, kots of mozzas

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick73nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
5.9 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
6.3 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
6.1 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#5 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#3 of 10 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.9 mi away
El Cielo
El Cielo
#2 of 41 in Montanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hill Hostel

Property: Happy Hill Hostel
Address: Km 697 Ruta del Sol, San Jose. | Km 697 Ruta del Sol, Montanita 5934, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happy Hill Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Hill is an eco-friendly hostel with the family tourism alternative that privileges the contact with nature and the best accommodations and personalized service that a family wants on their vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Happy Hill Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing