We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly and Untidy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Galeria Hurvinek
Ranked #21 of 42 Montanita B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hi, I read some good reviews about this place here on Trip Advisor so I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately, my experience was not pleasant. I made reservations ahead of time for a single standard room with a private bath. When I arrived my room was not available. Apparently, someone gave my room to someone else. She put me in a dorm room with a private bath but charged me the same rate. I informed her that the rate was lower on the internet but she insisted on charging me the single room rate. The owner promised to move me to a single room the next day. The next day, she told me the room is located on the street which she says would be too noisy for me. I accepted her reason and stayed in dorm room.

The other problem: They didn't clean my room. I've stayed in hostels in the past and they always cleaned my room. On my first day, my bed had hair on the sheets and on the pillows. The next day, she made my bed but didn't clean the bathroom. The third day, she didn't clean the room. I asked the owner to clean it and then she only made the bed but didn't clean the bathroom. I had to ask her for clean towels and at that time she finally emptied the trash in the bathroom. I was there for three days. On my fourth day, there was no water and no electricity in the city. I had enough and decided to check out early. During check out, I got a cold reception from the owner and no apologies were given.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cece1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Beautiful rooms, great design. Just out of the hubris of the party district. The homemade breakfasts were good with fresh rolls. Cable tv and spacious sheets with hot water. A nice place. My only big problem with the hostel is that the mattresses are HARD. Real hard. If you need a soft sleeping surface do not go here. Btw, the owners are real nice people.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed for one week and loved it. Hotel Hurvinek is all about high quality and lovely details at affordable prices. After travelling in South America for several months, Hurvinek was like coming home. Homemade whole-wheat bread for breakfast (included in the room price), stereos with iPod docks or cable TV in the spotless and funky rooms, private bathroom with hot water, free water, and most importantly, the nicest staff and owner you could wish for. The location (2 blocks away from the nightlife scene) allows you to sleep well at night.

There may be slightly cheaper places in Montañita but nothing compares to the family-like vibes and quality of facilities in Hurvinek.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MatthiasP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed 10 days at a beachfront hotel, then changed to Hotel Hurvinek. I wished I would have known earlier about it. The owner is super friendly. The rooms clean, new and very romantic. Calculate an average of 11 USD per Person incl. breakfast. You have your own bathroom, free water, towels. It is 2 minutes from everything to walk and quiet at night. Hands down, best place in town for that kind of price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank benlatead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caro_Ubilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HurvinekMontanita, Director de Recepción at Hostal Galeria Hurvinek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank René H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
5.8 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 9 in Montanita
52 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pop House
Pop House
#7 of 42 in Montanita
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Sole Mare
Hostal Sole Mare
#44 of 88 in Montanita
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Montanita Cabanas
Montanita Cabanas
#5 of 88 in Montanita
107 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Cielo
El Cielo
#2 of 42 in Montanita
100 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#6 of 88 in Montanita
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Galeria Hurvinek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Galeria Hurvinek

Address: Calle 10 de Agosto | Jose Mejia, Montanita P2-12000, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Montanita
Price Range: £17 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Galeria Hurvinek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing