We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The rooms were damp, full of dead bugs and dirty.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The rooms were damp, full of dead bugs and dirty.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend this location primarily because of the cleanliness issues of the room. Although the location is beautiful and the staff were friendly, the rooms were not in good shape. I personally love nature, however, the dead bugs and damp beds demonstrated a lack of hygiene. Also, in the rooms there was information that said if you are not happy with the rooms than contact the staff at reception. So we tried contacting them but there was nobody there. So basically we were stuck in that damp wet cockroach infested room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakshmi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Customer:

Greetings from Ecuador.
The weather did not help during your visit at our Lodge. Raining season in the tropical forest is difficult. The rooms are clean but the humidity hard to combat.
Hope your next visit could be compensated by great sun and dry air.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    17
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
30
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at Samai for a week in May. The staff were amazing - friendly and attentive, as were the owners. The cabins are very clean and well maintained, beautifully situated between lush rainforest and a stunning coastline. Highly recommended! (To address some other reviewer comments about bugs... It's the jungle!! There are bugs everywhere and some are going to make their way indoors. Have you never found a local insect in your own home?)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LocoOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Traveler:
It was a pleasure to have you in Samai Lodge. Your appreciation for a responsible truism and respect for nature helps us to host you with enthusiasm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at the Samai Ocean Lodge for several days in Feb 2013 with my husband.

The large, lovely room on the website must be a photoshop deal or be in the owners' home, because while we had a "good" room after insisting on seeing others since the first one did not look remotely like the website, the fact is that the "cabins" are four rooms on top of each other with SEMI private balconies; the food was indeed good, but three shrimp to a plate? - please; the cockroaches were abundant at night (no, we did not take food into the rooms) and it is a shame that the ownership requests that you keep your screened in windows closed to keep them out thus missing the breeze and bird calls that the screens would presumably allow in the early morning; it is up a very steep hill - while you can walk down a dirt path, cutting off time, if you have gone to Montanita in the evening, you'll need to taxi up, so hopefully you have a car, feel good about a lot of taxis, or just don't have any interest in the beach.

In short, we left early and would have liked to have left earlier but it was carnaval and rooms were scarce. If the marketing had not been so good - upscale, natural spa idea- we would probably have grumbled quietly about the distance but would have been ok (we took a ton of books and wanted to chill). But that is the risk when you oversell yourself. Your leave your business open to criticism and disappointed people.

The young people who work there, by the way, were all supremely nice.

Room Tip: Visit the place before you take a room. And if you do, check out three at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samailodge, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Dinah:
Thanks for your review.
We are at the top of the Cordillera Chongon -- Colonche, a place that is very difficult to get but with spectacular views, nature and peace.
It is a privilege to experience a place where Ocean and Mountain meet together and have all the commodities, beautiful rooms and conformable installations.
Yes, you did not like us - Samai from the moment you step in, even before we give you the opportunity to cheek all the rooms and choose the one you like it. I'm very sorry about this.
The nice room that you mention is not in the private home of the owners, it was taken by the young "honey mooners" form Uruguay. I could not send them out in order to give it to you.
Also, you did depart earlier and we gave your money back,. Remember?
I apology for my limited English, is not my first language.
Best regards to your wonderful husband.
Tania

Samai= Spirit (Quichuaa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed our last night in Ecuador here. Beautiful view and peaceful. Tons of wildlife around and the staff and owners were friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable, hot water was abundant, and water pressure great. The cabanas are spaced out nicely to provide privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The road leading to the hotel is in horrible condition and you definitely need a 4WD. But it's so worth it. The people are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and clean and it's just such a relaxing environment. Not to mention, the food is out of this world! The only issue is the location, if you want to go to the beach and the town of Montanita. Its a 20min walk down a dirt path to the beach and you a 45min walk to the shops and restaurants of Montanita. Regardless, still highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We arrived just before sunset, and the jungle noises all around really set the atmosphere. The lodge is located about two miles off the highway up a steep dirt road in poor shape. I am glad we had our 4x4, high clearance pickup. But once we got there, the views were worth it. Set on the top of a hill in the jungle, there are expansive views of the beaches below and the Pacific.

Since we showed up without a reservation and there were no other guests, the cook was not there. One of the workers volunteered to drive into town and bring her back, but we weren't that hungry. We asked if he would go to a store and bring us some snacks, which he gladly did.

We ate them with the beer, soda, and wine they had available there for sale, while we had a most enjoyable conversation with Ed, the owner, probably two hours, covering everything from the Shamanic services they offered to all things Ecuadorian.

The grounds offered a couple of open air patios, a small pool and a hot tub, all with vistas of the ocean. Our room was jungle lodge rustic, basic but servicable. Overall, nice people and great vistas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samailodge, General Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Customer:

Thanks for visiting Samai Lodge and to be open to explore the Cordillera Chongon Colonche at the Ecuadorian Pacific Coast, a few places in the world where ocean meets the rain forest.
It was an honor to have you as a guest.
Best regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Samai Lodge is a beautiful resort on one of the most amazing properties very near the beach in Ecuador, north of Montanita. It is very lovely and has a very soothing atmosphere. You can get to the beach (across the road) as well as take part in their spa services that have a lot of healing modalities if you choose. It is also close to Montanita if you want some night life but you will have the option of really staying in a quiet atmosphere. The style of the buildings fit very well into the location and the natural surroundings. The food was good and I felt very cared for by the staff. The owners have a lot to offer in the way of natural healing methods. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: They have different size and style of cabins--it depends on how many people are with you and how the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowandforever19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samailodge, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Costumer:

Greetings from Samai Lodge.

It was a pleasure to host you at our Hotel. Hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,
Tania Duran Tuttle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
4.6 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.9 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
4.9 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#3 of 10 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
#5 of 86 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa

Property: Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
Address: Km 700 E15 Via Espondylus | Loma de San Jose - Santa Elena, Montanita 241756, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa offers a new concept of healthy traveling services where you can experience the environment, eco-tourism activities, cultural exchange, healthy food in first class settings. Here you'll enjoy the serene splendor of the cordillera mountains, pacific ocean and rain forest all in one place! You will find the extraordinary peace and tranquility of Ecuador, that is still largely untouched by civilization, rejuvenating your spirit and give you a new lease on life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing