We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO RELAX”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
MONTAÑITA
1 review
“GREAT PLACE TO RELAX”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful sorroundings the forest and the ocean view one of the most beautiful convinations, great place to relax and enjoy the wilderness of nature, great for tropical bird watching, excellent chance to get closer to the ancient ecuadorian culture, very interesting healing possibilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RINCONADA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Costumer:
Love to have you at Samai Lodge....you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    17
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
30
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I cannot say enough great things about this wonderful and mystical place!! I simply loved it!
For true relaxation away from the mundane and "typical", boring hotel experience, Samai is the place to be! Not only the lodge is strategically placed on top of a hill from which you have the most amazing view of tropical forest and the ocean. Additionally, the peace, calm and soothing atmosphere and incredible joyful/generous hospitality of the manager/owner will make you feel like wanting to stay there forever!
As if this wasn't enough, they also offer special rooms for massage and/or yoga practice. As a Yoga practitioner that I am, I felt I have found heaven on earth! The place envites to truly connect with your-Self and with nature...deeply! Love their concern for the environment and the animals who surround the gorgeous and delicately decorated rooms. I am planning on returning for an extended stay, hopefully in early 2014. :-) One last thought: This is not a place for just anybody, that is for sure! Is for the special ones who truly appreciate nature, and are looking for real peace/relaxation and sane fun. :-)

Room Tip: Any room looks good, I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Costumer:

Guest like you help our spirit of service grow !!! You are always welcome at Samai.
Samai = Spirit (Quichua)
Regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I found this hotel online about a year ago and chose it for my first visit to Ecuador. I was considering a move and chose this as a place to start. The owners not only welcomed me as a guest, but they went far beyond expectations to help me learn about the area. The views from the room and the restaurant were breathtaking, but it was the people that made me want to return. I returned a couple of weeks ago with my wife in hopes of selling her on the adventure. The beauty of the property and the kindness of the staff were all that it took. Samai was paradise the first time, but to share it with my wife was even better. We will return soon to look for a home, but it was the beauty and friendliness of Samai that won our hearts.

Room Tip: The view from the honeymoon suite is a beautiful as you will find anywhere on earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Costumer, was fantastic to host you the second time....see you soon again.!!!
Regards,
Ed & Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

When we looked up Samai lodge we read some pretty great reviews and were excited about staying there. We did come across one previous review that didn't rate it too well, but given it was outnumbered by good reviews we decided to go ahead and book a triple room for 1 night.
The pictures online looked amazing and we love eco-lodges. Saying that we don't mind the occasional bugs - spiders, moths etc don't generally bother us when you have an expectation for that, especially when staying in a cloud forest environment.

Unfortunately we didn't have a good experience.
When we arrived at Samai lodge it was roughly 3pm in the afternoon. We were greeted by two lovely employees and although they didn't speak much English they were warm and friendly. There was no formal check in process and although it disconcerted me slightly we were quickly and without too much fuss or trouble shown to our room. The location of the hotel is stunning - perched on top of the mountain side with views down to the Olon coastline - breaktakingly beautiful.
Once we reached our room it did look tidy upon quick glance and very quaint and again the views were stunning. As we were starving we didn't stay in the room for too long and headed out for food. Once we returned in the early evening it was approximately 8pm we headed to our room. This is where things took a turn for the worse. There were a few too many cockaroaches in the room! Additionally the bed sheets were really damp and when we turned down the bed we found all along the pillow edge tons of bugs, some were dead or dying others were alive - there were WAY too many for it to be hygienic. In addition, in the bathroom there were tons of bugs and insects on the floor under the bathmat too! Considering we didnt eat in the room, nor keep any doors or windows open we were really disappointed (actually gutted).
We read the information card that suggested if we saw the occasional bug - spider etc to contact reception who would help safely remove them. There was no means to contact reception from the room. It was raining heavily and there was no phone in the room. We used our mobiles to try and contact someone but no luck getting through. We trekked up to reception to try and speak to someone but the entire reception was closed including the restaurant and no one was around. We then saw cockroaches in the reception area and near the kitchen door!
All we could do was head back to the room and wait until morning - suffice to say, we didn't get any sleep at all.
At check out, there was a little confusion about the room payment. Bookings.com had said we already pre-paid but the reception staff called the manager who told us that wasn't possible for a number of reasons so we paid them. To be fair, the manager, Tania, spoke great English and was very polite. I recommend that Samai ensure they have their management on site.
Additionally we read reviews where people were disappointed that they couldn't get massages done at the hotel and the management said it needed to be pre-booked in advance. Knowing that, I had emailed in advance to have 3 massages booked and to reserve parking. I did hear back about the parking but did not hear back about the massages despite 2 emails asking about this. When we arrived we also asked and were told we could only have massages the following day after 3pm (which was useless as we were only staying 1 night and checkout was at noon). In addition yoga was also an activity promoted by the hotel. My cousin is a yogi and qualified practitioner and she was looking forward to an early morning session - we were also told this wasn't possible when we arrived.

In conclusion, although the location is stunning, Samai lodge needs to fix these teething problems before advertising differently on their website and booking sites. I agree with another reviewer that it was over-marketed.

We moved on to another eco-lodge further up the coast called Mandala in Puerto Lopez and it was so lovely. We also stayed in another eco-lodge in the Mindo that had few staff but everything was organised, clean and exactly as described. Samai could learn a lot from them and I hope their management takes this review seriously enough to change as they have the potential to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rae_lovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Costumer:

Thanks for your comments. Yes, Samai is located in an spectacular cordillera "Mountain and Ocean" just 5 places in the world could match this setting.
So sorry about you bug experience at your Triple room. As I said in an early review to your roommate. It was a very wet and raining Tuesday. The rain-forest could get very dump some days like that one. By mistake the staff give you the wrong room that was not double check and smoked with "palo santo" to prevent in a natural way the out side visitors of the forest.
So sorry......I'll learn from your review and from our colleagues in other provinces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend this location primarily because of the cleanliness issues of the room. Although the location is beautiful and the staff were friendly, the rooms were not in good shape. I personally love nature, however, the dead bugs and damp beds demonstrated a lack of hygiene. Also, in the rooms there was information that said if you are not happy with the rooms than contact the staff at reception. So we tried contacting them but there was nobody there. So basically we were stuck in that damp wet cockroach infested room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakshmi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Customer:

Greetings from Ecuador.
The weather did not help during your visit at our Lodge. Raining season in the tropical forest is difficult. The rooms are clean but the humidity hard to combat.
Hope your next visit could be compensated by great sun and dry air.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at Samai for a week in May. The staff were amazing - friendly and attentive, as were the owners. The cabins are very clean and well maintained, beautifully situated between lush rainforest and a stunning coastline. Highly recommended! (To address some other reviewer comments about bugs... It's the jungle!! There are bugs everywhere and some are going to make their way indoors. Have you never found a local insect in your own home?)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocoOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania62_13, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Traveler:
It was a pleasure to have you in Samai Lodge. Your appreciation for a responsible truism and respect for nature helps us to host you with enthusiasm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at the Samai Ocean Lodge for several days in Feb 2013 with my husband.

The large, lovely room on the website must be a photoshop deal or be in the owners' home, because while we had a "good" room after insisting on seeing others since the first one did not look remotely like the website, the fact is that the "cabins" are four rooms on top of each other with SEMI private balconies; the food was indeed good, but three shrimp to a plate? - please; the cockroaches were abundant at night (no, we did not take food into the rooms) and it is a shame that the ownership requests that you keep your screened in windows closed to keep them out thus missing the breeze and bird calls that the screens would presumably allow in the early morning; it is up a very steep hill - while you can walk down a dirt path, cutting off time, if you have gone to Montanita in the evening, you'll need to taxi up, so hopefully you have a car, feel good about a lot of taxis, or just don't have any interest in the beach.

In short, we left early and would have liked to have left earlier but it was carnaval and rooms were scarce. If the marketing had not been so good - upscale, natural spa idea- we would probably have grumbled quietly about the distance but would have been ok (we took a ton of books and wanted to chill). But that is the risk when you oversell yourself. Your leave your business open to criticism and disappointed people.

The young people who work there, by the way, were all supremely nice.

Room Tip: Visit the place before you take a room. And if you do, check out three at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samailodge, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Dinah:
Thanks for your review.
We are at the top of the Cordillera Chongon -- Colonche, a place that is very difficult to get but with spectacular views, nature and peace.
It is a privilege to experience a place where Ocean and Mountain meet together and have all the commodities, beautiful rooms and conformable installations.
Yes, you did not like us - Samai from the moment you step in, even before we give you the opportunity to cheek all the rooms and choose the one you like it. I'm very sorry about this.
The nice room that you mention is not in the private home of the owners, it was taken by the young "honey mooners" form Uruguay. I could not send them out in order to give it to you.
Also, you did depart earlier and we gave your money back,. Remember?
I apology for my limited English, is not my first language.
Best regards to your wonderful husband.
Tania

Samai= Spirit (Quichuaa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
4.6 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
4.9 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
4.7 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#7 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#5 of 10 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
#6 of 88 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa

Property: Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
Address: Km 700 E15 Via Espondylus | Loma de San Jose - Santa Elena, Montanita 241756, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa offers a new concept of healthy traveling services where you can experience the environment, eco-tourism activities, cultural exchange, healthy food in first class settings. Here you'll enjoy the serene splendor of the cordillera mountains, pacific ocean and rain forest all in one place! You will find the extraordinary peace and tranquility of Ecuador, that is still largely untouched by civilization, rejuvenating your spirit and give you a new lease on life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing