We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An incredible experience at Esperanto Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esperanto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esperanto Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shanghai, China
1 review
“An incredible experience at Esperanto Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have been raving about our experience at Hostel Esperanto. We have traveled the world and visited beautiful beaches, but there are not many views like the view from the terrace here. Hostel Esperanto is set in the low-key area of Montanita. You can walk for five minutes in one direction and join the wild parties or a enjoy a great meal. We loved having the opportunity to go out and join the party, but when it was time to call it a night, it was very comforting to be able to walk back to the hostel and enjoy a peaceful, quiet sleep. In the other direction, a five minute walk will take you to the best surf areas and surf schools.

Hostel Esperanto is a very clean and well-maintained hostel, which is something that is hard to find in a party locale.

Please introduce yourself to Jorge, the owner, during your stay. Jorge is a native Ecuadorian who is passionate about Montanita, surfing, and traveling. He will be able to give you great advice and history about the city and surrounding areas – where to eat, where to surf, where to party.

We wrote about our experience on our blog:
http://lucidpractice.com/backpacking-montanita-ecuador/

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    47
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
21
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed at Esperanto Hostel for a total of 2 weeks during a month-long surfing and yoga trip to Montanita. Of the 3 hostels i stayed at, this was my favourite. The price is very good value. Jorge (the owner) and his staff are really friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable (i tried both a 4 bed dorm and a private room). The rooftop terrace on the fourth floor is the highlight of the building. It's a great spot to chill in a hammock and read a book or watch the sunset and drink with the other guests. There are enough people so that you can make friends easily but it's not too crowded. There is a good mix of nationalities and types of travellers staying here as well.
The location is awesome as well - right on the beach and close enough to cocktail alley without being noisy. This would be the first place that i'd go back to if I found myself in Montanita again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveTan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, MI, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This may be my favorite hostel in South America! I was nervous about having a noise problem in Montanita, but the Esperanto Hostel is the perfect distance away from the action - close enough to walk there in less than 5 minutes, but far enough to have a good nights sleep.
English/Spanish speaking staff, great kitchen, hot water, towels, clean bathrooms, balconies in every room/ dorm, fast wi-fi, beautiful grounds and outdoor shower all right across the street from the beach.
The staff was so helpful when we were looking for surf lessons, places to eat, bus schedules, etc. I had a really hard time leaving and would love to go back.

Room Tip: The hammocks on the roof terrace at Hostel Esperanto offers probably the best beach views in Montani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rederk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Staying at Esperanto Hostel was a truly wonderful experience. It is one of the best accommodations i had during my 3-months travel around Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador. Reasonably priced, conveniently located, only a few minutes from the beach and very clean. The owner is former traveller himself, so the hostel is thought to very little details - comfortable beds, indoors and outdoors shower (very useful when you come from the beach), flowers, lockers, shelves and hooks (!) on the walls. The staff is super friendly and eager to help. Great view of the ocean from the top terrace. The owner showed us around, told about all the secret beaches north of Montanita and even took us to one of them on his car. Will come back one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaninochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hostel Esperanto, Has what you want whether you are simply backpacking through Ecuador, Surfing the point break out front of Montanita, or on a weekend get away with your significant other. The Staff and most specifically the owner Jorge are amazing. I personally went there on a surf trip and Jorge acted as my free of charge guide charting out on a map each spot I should check out. If you are into night life then Montanita has more than enough to offer, some people come just passing through and end up there for weeks. Hostel Esperanto Rocks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks in hostel esperanto. At the beginning i just booked 4 nights because Jorge - the owner - said they are fully booked then. When i arrived there, they very helpful with carrying my luggage upstairs. Jorge welcomed me like i would arrive at home, and felt like arriving at a friends house. He is very endeavored that his guests have a good time at his place. He took me and another guest of the hostel to another beach, and out for a drink at night. He is always up for a joke and he is a very funny companion. But also the people who work there are very friendly and the whole environment is very familiar. When the hostel was fully booked Jorge gave me his room because he was not here, so i could stay at the hostel.
Some Infos to the hostel: the rooms are basic equipt with beds and lockers and a little balcony. But clean and comfortable. The toilet and the bathroom are downstairs.(warm water) But if you book a private room you have it in your room. Don't expect a 5* Hotel, its a Hostel, but a very nice one!
They have a kitchen for cooking, but you can not get breakfast here. But you are very close to town so you can try every day another delicious breakfast at a different place. During the week its calm at night, but on saturday when the town gets crazy you can hear the music. But then you should be part of the party anyways :) Jorge also takes care that its calm from 10 onwards, so people can get their sleep.
My favorite place at the hostel is the rooftop with the hammocks. Perfect to hang out and relax.
And they have a really good internet connection. i was pretty impressed. i am a photographer and had to sent some files and it was really fast!
All in all it was the best decision to stay here, because I really had a good time and definitely want to come back! I am going to miss that place and Jorge who really had became a friend during my stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I came in during christmas and was having a hard time finding accomodation in montanita due to the season. The owner of the place Jorge was the most accomodating person you can get, and I had a really sweet dorm bed with a nice toilet and fresh towels every day until the 28th. To help me out for the rest of my days, when he was fullbooked, he gave me the option to stay at his house in Las Tunas. Luckily I found a room somewhere else in town, but Jorge really did all he could to help out. He's a surfer whos been to Sweden for some time, so we had lots to talk about. Surfing or not surfing. Also the people working there are really nice, and the vibe is very chill and laid back. You have a big kitchen and a rooftop for some beers in the sunset! Go for it and make sure to take some surf lessons.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.2 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montanita Cabanas
Montanita Cabanas
#3 of 86 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Moai
Hostal Moai
#11 of 86 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanto Hostel

Property: Esperanto Hostel
Address: | 2 minutes walking up north from the bus stop, beside the DHARMA BEACH HOTEL, Montanita, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Esperanto Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do not worry about the next day if you went out for party, the only noise maybe you can hear here is the birds and the waves =0) Our rooms have sea view and some of them can let you see the POINT BREAK. Our Big Terrace with Hammock offers a place to hang out with your friend or other guests while you enjoy the sea view or another beautiful sunset or simply just to check the waves for your next surf session at the Point Break or in the Beach Break. PRIVATE OR SHARED DORMS ROOMS : Our rooms has Fan Ceiling, security Boxes, mosquito net and shower with non electrical hot water. Free additional services internet, kitchen. We also have electrical power generator so, no electrical blackout in our hostel. IN THE SHARED ROOM there are inside every locker a electric outlet so you can charge your electronics gadget with safetly =) PRIVATE SPANISH CLASSES-----> Would you like to get better at Spanish while staying at our hostel right by the beach? We offer private one on one Spanish lessons at Esperanto Hostel and all our instructors are certified Spanish teacher with years of experience. Learn Spanish in the right environment 2 – 3 hours per day, while you still have the rest of the day to chill at the beach sipping on Caipirinhas! And we even offer discounted accommodation if you sign up for a Spanish course with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Esperanto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing