We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, location and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Moai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Moai
Padangbai, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rooms, location and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very cool hostel.. Room was air conditioned and spacious with a balcony and 2 hammocks. $30 a night for a room with 2x bunk beds (double under and single bed on top). Hard to find initially so make sure you know exactly where it is before arriving. Fairly good breakfast. Staff speak minimal English..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

the last weekend i stayed in this hotel, i have to say that the room were very clean and they have hot water for the shower time. the owner of the hotel is a very good person that always gives you the best tips so you can pass the best that you can in montanita. i deffinetly recommend the Moai Hostal

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights at Hostal Moai in a lovely big room with a verandah, hot water all the time and close to town without the noise and hassle. Everyone at the Hostal was incredly helpful, Antonio helped Richard buy a surfboard at a good price and he also rents boards. He also showed us a couple of cheaper restaurants with great food. Antonio is also a keen surfer and very knowledgable on the local and surrounding breaks. He and Richard were up at dawn, most days, when the swell arrived, for an early surf. We definitely recommend this friendly hostal and hope to be back in the future!

Room Tip: We preferred the first floor so we could catch the breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

A friend and I came by chance into the hostel Moai
We were made to feel very warm and had a great time.
The hostel is designed very comfortable and inviting to relax.
The bright colors and the nice people gives everyone the perfect holidayfeeling.
I liked it very well, that you can be soon be the center of town, but you not directly live in the center.
You are very fast at the beautiful beach and there is the opportunity to take surfing lessons from the surf instructor from the hostel.
All in all ... a place to have a good time, to do some sport, relax and go out to dance and celebrate... everything is possible.
I can recommend this hostel and wish you a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I'm from Switzerland and came to the beaches of Ecuador and I never imagined to have such a good experience in this hostel, recommend to anyone going to Montañita, staying at the hostel Moai, is very close to the beach, and lived a good atmosphere

Room Tip: everyone is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great location, just a walk away from Montanita's beautiful beach, yet close to restaurants and hangouts. Excellent service, hospitable and friendly staff.
I was referred to it by a couple of friends who had stayed there and had positive things to say. It's great since it's close enough to restaurants and dance spots, yet it's not in the middle of the noise if one chooses to get away a bit. I loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marysol2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pop House
Pop House
#6 of 42 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Cielo
El Cielo
#2 of 42 in Montanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Moai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Moai

Property: Hostal Moai
Address: Ruta del Sol km 180, | Puente de Montanita a Mano Izquierda , Bordeando el Rio a 80 Metros Del Mar, Montanita EC090112, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Moai 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Moai located along the river, one block away from the beach, is the perfect place to enjoy the peace and the party of Montanita, meet people from everywhere and have a good time. The hostel is offering you a sweet garden, a comfortable social area with sofa, hammocks, TV cable, Netflix, DVD, and a really good internet to chill and party. A toilet and an outside shower are also at the disposition of guests and friends. The included breakfast is from 8:30am to 10:30am (tea, café, natural juice, fruit salad, eggs and bread or french toasts..) The rest of the day everyone is welcome to cook in the kitchen, where you can use the fridge, oven, blender and much more.. The 8 private rooms are spacious and cozy, with air conditioning, private bathrooms, private balconies with hammocks and ocean view for two rooms. The dormitory is comfortable, with air conditioning, lockers, and a big private bathroom. There is also a big balcony full of hammocks to relax. We will be happy to share with you all the tips to enjoy Montanita and the area, the best beaches, the best surf spots! Surf boards to rent for a really good price. Guests will find several restaurants serving national and international cuisine within a 5-minutes walk of Hostal Moai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Moai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing