We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper hotel indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
Montanita, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A proper hotel indeed!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If your looking for a nice place to saty look no further, this place has the best price for its dollar and the owners are so friendly they can never say no to helping. huge rooms for groups of 8 and huge suites for a romantic weekend get away.

They also have a swimming pool and hot-tub. Twice a week they fire up there huge grill and serve gourmet food of top quality. This place even has its own micro-brew. So dont waste your time, if you need quality service this is the clsoest thign to a 5 start hotel in Montanita.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    28
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
44
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed here for 2 nights.
it is a pleasant place, but do not expect too much when seeing the pics :-)
the staff was friendly, the room clean and thew surroundings comfortable.
i would go again and can recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have been meaning to write a review for Montanita Estates for some time. My wife, some friends and I stayed at ME for 5 nights in the beginning of April. Being that it was our first time to Ecuador, my wife and I didn't know what to expect out of a hotel in the region. The pictures of the place looked great but we were more than surprised by the resort. The whole layout of the property is great as there are many comfy areas to relax and enjoy the sun including pool side cabana/sofas and many hammocks around the resort. Our room had an amazing view, as you could see the whole city and the ocean from the hill it is perched on. There is a small bar downstairs that serves great beer and wine and has a wonderful mellow ambiance for relaxing after a long day of adventuring. The owners hospitality is unmatched. They were very accommodating and ensured we were well taken care of everyday. There was always a small breakfast available in the morning, perfect for a small bite before heading off for the day. There is a pool, spa and waterfall in the main area on the resort. The waterfall only magnifies the relaxing feeling while lounging around the pool. The staff working the bar are very friendly and have a plethora of information on the surrounding areas, including fun activities. They even can sign you up for day adventures right there at the hotel. I highly recommend the ATV tour through the jungle, it was amazing. The town of Montanita is alive at all hours and is a very fun town to be out and about in. However when you are ready to call it a night and head back for some peace and quiet, Montanita Estates is a mere stones throw away from the main road. Close enough for a very brief walk into town, but just far enough away to be able to enjoy some peacefulness outside the bustling town. We enjoyed our trip here immensely and can't thank the owners of ME enough for their hospitality and taking such good care of us while we stayed down there. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When we checked in no one was really around,we had to look for someone,the girl we found was very sweet and we checked in easily enough.We had a large suite upstairs downstairs.It was poorly decorated,cheaply and kinda dirty.No fresh toiletries or anything. The outside hammock was nice but thats about it.There is no food on this property and when we asked about their roating chef on Sat. there was none.So you have to go into town to eat or bring your snacks. The breakfast was very minimal,never on time,no organization and gone if you didn't make it out there by the time it started even when it was late.It was just yogurt some little fruit,granola and some bread.Coffee was always late and no cream but you cant find cream in Ecuador anyways. Drinks at bar were decent.I was looking forward to jacuzzi but when I asked a worker to turn it on he just ignored me completely.He was so rude and then I asked the lady if it even got hot and she said maybe it was out of heat or fuel? So basically it doesnt work so dont count on it. We stayed 3 days there and never had maid service.I never had my room cleaned or anything,no one ever even came in!It was like a hostel there the owners were very non chalant and really it seemed as if we were more of an inconvenience to them and their guests,the wife invited me to their 1 year olds birthday party that they took up the only pool available to guests and I was like really? Do you think I want to spend my vacation with a bunch of screaming kids!?? So we avoided the hotel as much as possible and just went to beach and town which is the goal anyways.Olon beach is better,cleaner,good food its down just a mile or two from Montanita.Honestly,I have no idea why this hotel or whatever it is was rated #1 cuz Im sure there is better especially for the price.And these are Americans that own it and should know better! No hospitality or comfort here,they obviously put all the money elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlsbadFreespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertxross, Owner at ME Hotel in Montanita Estates, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Carlsbad,

Thanks for the detailed feedback. It sounds like your experience was a bit out of the norm for us and I'm going to check with our staff to ensure it doesn't happen again.

In regards to a few of your feedback.

Our Jacuzzi works everyday and we are proud to have the only hotel jacuzzi in all of Montanita. Generally its too warm in the middle of the day so we turn it on around 4 for sunset. We do not have municipal gas here on the coast so our staff needs to constantly change the tanks which must have been oversight when you checked. We've just finished building a second pool and jacuzzi for the hotel which will open with the new building in October.

I was also surprised to hear you did not receive toiletries and your room wasn't cleaned. We are one of 2 hotels in Montanita that provide toiletries and I worked hard to have them imported into the country. Its important our guests receive these and there rooms are well cleaned. We have 2-3 room cleaners daily for our 9 suites so there isn't an excuse for us not having been in your room everyday and I apologize for this.

We recently built our restaurant and will be opening with a full menu in November. In the interim we have a continental breakfast for FREE and we have rotating guests chefs. Your visit was just after high season when we had a bit of turnover with our rotating chefs. We are beginning again this week with dinners on thursdays and Saturday and intend to open the best restaurant in Montanita in November.

You rented a 1400 sq ft 3 bedroom villa for you, another couple and your 2 nieces. Our 3 bedroom, 2 bath villas are the equivalent size to 4-5 standard hotel rooms in a typical hotel. We believe that the price of $225 per night or $40-50 per room is a fair price for the value we are providing.

Lastly, we though your two young nieces would enjoy my son's 1st birthday party so we extended an invitation. It was Doctor Suess themed and we invited our friends and a number of local children who have never swam in a pool before. It was on a Sunday afternoon when many of our guests had checked out. It was a wonderful experience and celebration for us to have raised our 1st child in Ecuador having moved here 3 years ago. Once we open the new pool and jacuzzi we will have an adult pool which will enable our different types of guests space where needed.

Thanks for your feedback and I'll be sure to check with our staff to make sure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A beautifully amazing location.
the view and great hospitality makes you wana come back ,
staff very friendly only 5 min from the beach. The view of the ocean is great nice cold drinks and food is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We arrived way before our check in time so we had some time to explore the amenities at ME. Wow. Just wow. After spending a week hopping along cities on the Ecuadorian coast and staying in a variety of places, we were more than pleasantly surprised. Drinks were cold, staff was friendly and very accommodating, rooms were clean. It was nice to be across the street from the beach, where you can relax on your own without too many people. The hammocks were the best part! Relaxed, true vacation atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

ME is simply amazing. I recently took my family on a vacation to Ecuador, and stayed at Montanita Estates. After spending a week in town, I can confidently say that ME is the most amazing property in Montanita. The accommodations were outstanding and we enjoyed the beautiful views of the town and city, lounging by the luxurious pool and meeting new friends at the incredible lounge and bar. My daughter also loved the "Maddox's playground" children's play area. However what makes ME truly incredible, is the people and staff. No one is more "dialed in" to the town of Montanita and the surrounding area than Robbie and his staff. Whatever you are looking to do - Dinner out, lying on the beach, an adventure in the jungle, snorkeling, nightlife, surfing / surf lessons, kicking back at a local beach hangout or anything else - the staff of ME will set you up right. I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and the people here. If you are looking for a truly memorable experience, look no further.

Room Tip: Incredible views from all rooms at the hotel. You really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knerison1212 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montanita
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
117 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Baja Montanita
#4 of 9 in Montanita
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#5 of 9 in Montanita
51 reviews
4.5 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#1 of 3 in Olon
54 reviews
23.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ME Hotel in Montanita Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Hotel in Montanita Estates

Property: ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
Address: Urbanization Montanita Estates, Montanita 241702, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ME Hotel in Montanita Estates 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montanita Estates' brand new Tropical Boutique Hotel overlooks vibrant Montanita from a beautiful hilltop just 1 minute on foot to Montanita's bars, restaurants and the beach. Experience spectacular sunsets from every room of our Villas, Suites, Matrimonials and incredible Penthouse. The Suites, Villas and Penthouse consist of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, are furnished with beautiful furniture and have Satellite television, high speed Wi-Fi, A/C as well as daily maid service, concierge and room service. Guests of Montanita Estates enjoy an amazing tropical oasis called, Maddox's Playground. Maddox's playground consists of 2 beautiful pools and Jacuzzis, 2 children's play areas/playgrounds, and beautiful poolside gardens for relaxing during your visit. Maddox's playground was designed by an incredible local architect, and is in an artisan/tropical oasis just outside the door of your Suite. The ME Hotel also offers a full service Tour Office, Concierge and the most beautiful Yoga Studio and Fitness Center in Montanita. Inside the tropical garden and next to the pool is Brawa Restuarant, Bar and Lounge. Brawa serves over 30 different varieties of wine and champagne primarily from Argentina and Chile as well as Montanita only artesanal Beer and Cider from Montanita Brewing Company. During the day Brawa specializes in poolside food, sandwiches and salads, and at night we have a revolving menu of 4 specials changed daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your ME Hotel in Montanita Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing