We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Hostal Papaya

Hostal Papaya
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montanita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Papaya
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here a few days a go and rented a private on the third floor -- There was party going on down there all night and and there was no noise in my room. A tip: Montanita is a noisy city if you want quietness get yourself over to pto. lopez 30 mins away and sleep there , just what i expected of an american or european ran hostel. During my stay i thought i lost my lenses and they were cool with checking the cameras for me and giving me a full report. This is is a big plus and i would stay here repetedly because i think my things are safe. Price was superb, bed was comfortable and with cover for mosquitoes, hot water. I've heard/seen some nasty stories on hostels of Montañita like old matresses with FLEAS and people sick over the place specially argentinians/uruguayans so better be cautious on where you stay/are with here. this is not my first time staying in montanita but this hostel's got enough for me to put a review on them. great job guys and my gretings to marie h

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal, canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile



Well if you're in montanita to party and not sleep this is the place for you otherwise this place is horrible (too noisy). Couldn't sleep at all because of lound music at night and construction in the morning. They also lie to us saying that they had hot water and wifi and the room wich is not the case. The only good point was my room was clean (no cockroaches) and also the staff was super nice!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montanita hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

You probably aren't going to pick this place up after seeing the other reviews. Unfortunately, we ended up in Montañita on a whim and ended up staying there without looking at reviews of hotels/hostals first. BIG MISTAKE. You really can't sleep here, and we had a room on the top (4th) floor. Some kareoke started just underneath us at 2:30 AM and it was absolutely impossible to sleep at that point, so we actually got up and went out for another drink since there was nothing to do. Miserable. Montañita is small-enough--find a hostal on the outskirts so that you can sleep once you are done partying.

If anyone is interested, the hostal costs 9 dollars a night per person for a double, and they would not negotiate, as of October 2013. It is the same price as any other place in Montañita.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMurcielaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We couldnt sleep at all at this hostel since its located right on the party street where the music super loud never stops. The pla its self isn not bad, the problem is the location. There s no social area so not recommended to meet people. Expensive compared to other hostels where you can sleep and are nicer fir 12 - 15 usd. We paid 25 each. Staff is ok. Pillows to sleep too big, not great matresses either for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreadukus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montanita, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This hostel I will not recoment do anyone... apart from it's good location and restaurant downstairs it is terrible. As the first person stated there are even no doors to the bathroom just a robe.... rooms are locked with padlocks as there are no proper handles as doors are just made of planks (not save to keep you belongings in the room).... but the worst thing is that you will not be able to sleep in this place... it is located next to beach walk when from 10p.m. till 4.a.m. EXTREMELY loud music plays non stop (also during the week) and than when you get to bed at 5a.m. the gym next door opens at 8 and again starts playing loud music. we slept only 3 hours last night and will not stay here any longer!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwiato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2008

I had the best time at the Papaya, rooms are clean, colorful and cozy. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I recommend the place!

  • Liked — good warm shower
  • Disliked — my noisy neighbours
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montanita
0.0 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.0 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.0 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 16 in Salinas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Pakaloro
Hostal Pakaloro
#20 of 89 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pop House
Pop House
#6 of 43 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montanita Cabanas
Montanita Cabanas
#3 of 89 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Papaya

Property: Hostal Papaya
Address: Guido Chiriboga y Villafuerte, Montanita, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hostal Papaya Hotel Montanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing