We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on the ocean in Montañita”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baja Montanita
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Baja Montañita, perfect location at the end of a beautiful beach, nice waves for surfing or swimming.
We had the last bungalow or cabana # 12 on the top floor, balcony overlooking the ocean, clean with a comfy Queen bed and 2 twins in the back room, ac's in both rooms, flat screen tv with Direct tv., a small fridge in the room to keep your free supplied water bottles cool. Free
Wi-fi, good free buffet breakfast, overlooking the beach and the ocean.

Beautiful swimming pool with dark blue ceramics and nice landscaping.

Othon and the others staffs are very helpful to fix problems
At first we had problems with the wi-fi and shower had not hot water, the staff were very efficient in solving these problems in a flash!

P.S. The pizza place by the bar makes a delicious pizza! And just steps away from

Room Tip: If you are looking to be by a beautiful beach with nice waves, don't look no more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mychka-tsunami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great beach, very friendly people. Overall was a great experience and would definitely recommend the hotel and the beach to anyone that is looking for a low key fun place. Very good night life and lots of tourist from all over the world. Great surfing spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel Baja Monanita is the most run down hotel that I have ever paid $170/night to stay in. It is hard to believe the hotel charges such prices, but it does have a relative monopoly, considering it is one of the only "higher-end" hotels in Monanita. They seem to have a steady-steam of weekend clients from Guayaquil.
The new Dharma Beach hotel is changing that situation, but Dharma Beach is closer to the noise of downtown Montanita and not all of their rooms have ocean views. I opted for Baja Montanita, because I wanted a quiet family hotel with a pool and a balcony facing the ocean. Unfortunately, the two-bedroom cabanas are very dated. The back room smelled unbearably like mold, probably because it overlooks a swamp (there is a large swamp at the back of all of the cabanas). We tried to air out the room, but since there are no screens on the windows, tons on mosquitoes infested the room. We did not realize this problem until my son woke up in the middle of the night covered in bites. The room had no mosquito nets and spray did not seem to help.
We would have been better off in a back-packer hostal and would have saved a lot of money.
Additional background: When we arrived to Hotel Baja Montanita, after an 11-hour drive from Quito, we got ready to check into the 2nd floor of a cabana (these are two bed-room suites on the first and second floors). We were told we were on the bottom floor, and when we showed email proof of the confirmation, it was too late. The bottom floor suite smelled like complete mold, so we took the option of staying in a 2nd-floor suite in the main building with a queen bed and roll away. Then, we had to move all of our stuff for the remaining three nights that we stayed in the hotel. Turns out that room was worse, due to the mosquitoes, though it did have a great ocean-facing balcony.
The beach in front of the hotel is rocky, so you have to walk down a few-hundred feet to get to a swim-able location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank QuitoResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

me and my 18 year old daughter stayed here in early july we enjoyed the hotel at the end of the beach with surfing directly in front clean pool clean rooms nice balcony over lookin pool and beach food was ok it was very quiet at hotel because it was the off season we felt very safe at all times it was a bit pricey but it was worth it yes i would go back to this hotel it was quiet there if u wanna party its a ten minute walk down the beach and u can party all nite

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Baja Montanita with a group. Because of that I don't know how much we paid. Overall the hotel was adequate. Our beds were comfortable, the showers were hot, and the breakfast was really good. The rooms were sparse and the grounds seemed partially under construction. Still if you want to be a little out of town (a ten minute walk on the beach), for the right price this seems like a reasonable option.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachmishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Not sure what others are offering in Montanita? Baja is not offering much though. We only spent one night and felt badly ripped off. The room that we paid $170 for was "Bare Bones" at best. There were two rooms left we were told. A royal suite and the superior ocean view. We chose the latter as it was cheaper but still crazy expensive compared to traveling around Ecuador. The room did have a decent shower I will give it that. No table to put suitcases on, no bedside lamps?? Room floor was dirty. The bed was clean. Good there. Thousands of ants in the room as well as various bugs. The pool was slippery, full of sand. There was no where on the property to wash beach sand off your feet so therefore impossible to keep pool clean. The grounds were "natural". All I mean is that they never spent a dollar to make it nice. It was sandy and dirty everywhere. There was lots of construction going on so it may be better in the future but I doubt it as the place is old and run down. The beach bar has a terrific location to watch surfers however it was empty. We can only guess that was because drinks are so over priced. We walked 100' to the next bar and enjoyed well made drinks, viewed evening surfing and had a good time for little money spent. All in all we left the Baja feeling robbed of our money. The staff were actually quite nice that we had dealings with. Not sure what the owners think they have that they think they can charge these kind of prices but i guess we were silly enough to pay? Overall, bare bones for 5 star price!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier L, Director Comercial at Hotel Baja Montanita, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear guest,
We have received your comment and on behalf of all the hotel we asked our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay.
We have taken all necessary corrective measures to prevent such situations happen again.
We request you indicate your bank account in order to proceed with a refund of the payment made on site.
We asked very gently remove your comments on tripadvisor.
Please accept my best wishes,
Olivier Loor
Sales and marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We spent three days at the Hotel Baja Montanita (HBM) in mid-February. For us (friends in our 40s), it was easily the best option for us in Montanita. Here's why:

The crowds on the weekends and holidays are crazy. If you want to stay up partying (or just stay up) until 4:00 a.m., then you have many options. If you want to retire at a more reasonable hour, you must be away from the many discos and beach parties going on. The HBM is just 10 minutes north of town; enough to get you out of ear-shot of the pumping bass of town.

The restaurant at the hotel has good pizza and a few other Italian dishes. It was a bit more pricey than what we found in town, but not unbearably so. The same was true with the drinks.

The rooms were clean and had the basics (a dresser, AC, a 16 inch TV with Direct TV), and the bathroom had plenty of room, and good water pressure and hot water. The beds (we had two twins) were fine, but nothing luxurious by any means. The room suited our purpose, but that was about it.

There were quite a few families at HBM. The higher cost and separation from the town makes it a more popular choice for parents who want to take their children to the beach without the intensity of being in the younger crowd. The kids at the hotel, however, weren't a distraction for us.

The grounds are relatively well maintained (considering where we were). The pool was nice as well. Basic, but in a beach town of this sort (catering to more partiers than anything else), it was what we expected.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. No complaints there.

If you want to experience the beach and vibe of Montanita without immersing yourself in the non-stop party, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach. Don't let them sell you on a room with a "view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravlinDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montanita
0.8 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.6 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 10 in Montanita
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 10 in Montanita
125 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
68 reviews
2 mi away
Finca-Hosteria El Retiro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baja Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baja Montanita

Address: Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baja Montanita 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baja Montanita has comfortable rooms and various amenities for your comfort, all located opposite the pool and great ocean views.The hotel has 12 suites family of 4, 5 and 6 people. Each with 2 rooms, ideal to enjoy with family or friends.It has separate private bath in each area, hot water, sea view, with cable TV, air conditioning, internet, coffee bar, located on the seafront and is perfect for surfing, laundry, service room, pool, security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Baja Montanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing