We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep in the rainforest with the Huaorani - be ready for a cultural adventure”
Review of Huaorani Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huaorani Ecolodge
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was an incredible opportunity to learn about ways of being and thinking that are vastly different from the ways most of us in developed countries have ever experienced. Go now if you are able as time is changing these people forever. We had some glitches in out trip and if you go you must be prepared to adapt as this is the rainforest - vast, green, and wild. There were 6 tourists in our group and we needed 2 planes to get in. Four of us went in one plane and our backpacks and the other 2 tourists were supposed to follow us shortly in the other plane. We landed on the grassy strip in the middle of the rainforest and waited 4 hours but the plane with our friends and our packs never arrived. We felt very worried and there was no way to contact anyone to find out what happened. A lack of radio communication left us feeling vulnerable. We found out the next day when we were reunited with our friends and packs that second plane was not allowed to take off due to a storm that had rolled in. The Huaorani people were wonderful to be with. Happy to share their world with us. Clearly struggling to find their own ways in the new world rapidly encroaching on their ways of life. We visited 3 separate communities of Huaorani people and at each community the people greeted us with warm welcomes. Our naturalist guide Cris was a strong knowledgeable leader. Our Huaorani guide Gaywa was delightful and tolerant of our lack of ability in the rainforest. He seemed to love trying to teach us how to use a blowgun or throw a spear. The hope of the younger Huaorani's showed in their faces. We were honored to have for a moment been a part of a disappearing world. Cabanas were clean and very comfortable. Food was adequate. Canoe trips up and down the Shiripuno delightful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debralovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was won of the best travel experiences I've ever had. It was rugged, real, well-organized, informative and relaxing. The Huaorani people are humble, gracious and knowledgeable - and their cause and way of life reminds you of the humanity that is being lost in the developed world. From the moment our FANTASTIC ecuadoran guide Roberto picked us up for the drive to the small airport to board our plane into the jungle from the day we left taking the "toxic tour" out seeing the impact of logging and oil drilling on the rainforest my boyfriend and I were treated to a playground of culture, rainforest hikes, cayman spotting, kayaking the river, eating the delicious meals prepared just for us, seeing the communities of the Huaorani and learning their way of life. Roberto was fantastic as were our Huaorani guides Bai and Domingo whose knowledge of the land was mindblowing. We were the ONLY people there when we went so we were treated to a private experience. The ecolodge was perfect - no frills,no phones - just the sounds of the jungle to put you to sleep at night. I would highly recommend Huaorani Ecolodge for anyone looking for an authentic rainforest adventure complete with culture, rest, and adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhilCalTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our guide Roberto picked us up at our hotel in Quito and as we traveled through the mountains, he gave us the history of the Huaroni people and their company's 20 year relationship with this indigenous tribe. This helped to prepare us for first an exciting flight where we landed on a runway in the midst of the rainforest and found ourselves surrounded by by the Huaroni people. They took us in their dugout canoes to our cabanas and lodge, which we learned were built and managed by the community. We were their welcomed guests for 6 amazing days. They led us for hikes in the jungle teaching us how to identify animal tracks, bird calls, and even us blow guns and wooden spears. They prepared our meals, which were simple but nutritious. They also invited us into their simple homes to taste chiche and purchase handicrafts made from natural materials.
It was amazing sleeping in our screened in cabanas and listening to jungle sounds at night. We also decided to do the optional 5 hour kayak trip out of the jungle.
Roberto was a great birder but even more important, a great ambassor and interpreter for us with the Huaroni people. They thanked us profusely for supporting their Eco tourism work as they struggle to find ways to make money in the modern world, and keep the loggers and oil companies at bay. In the end, we may a donation to the Huaroni people and Tropico offered to match our donation, one of many evidences that they are committed to help support these people and their struggle to adapt to a different world.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stowellCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our visit to the Huaorani lodge was very exciting. We had the privelig to visit the ecolodge the Huaorani villages this January, To look over the amazone rainforest from the air was overwhelming and the flight with the small airoplane kind of an adventure. So was the canoetour in the river including birdwatching and fishing big game. The accomadations were fine the service good and all the people we were in contact with very friendly and helpful We reccomend this tour.

Room Tip: number 1- 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A friend and I stayed at Huao Lodge in early January '14 with six other people. We found the "vintage" 5 seater airplane trip there a bit nerve-wracking and were puzzled by the 10 lb luggage weight limit that had been imposed - but no one seemed to respect. But we got along with the minimum change of clothes just fine. The accommodations were better than I expected..comfortable beds in screened in cabins, functioning toilets and (cold) showers..solar light fixtures. Sleeping to the sounds of the jungle was amazing. The food was delicious, varied and copious, served at regular times announced in advance. We applauded the kitchen staff for the valiant effort with so many challenges in the jungle. Our guide, Gustavo, was terrific.. very knowledgeable, an excellent communicator, and excited about being there to show us everything. Bai was our Huaroni guide, who showed us much of the hunting and medicinal practices of his people and took us to meet his family. We enjoyed both guides very much. Our outings in the jungle did not bring many bird or animal sightings because the area is quite hunted out (the Huaorani are still hunters)..but we enjoyed slogging through the mud and such to experience this incredible place whether in canoe or on foot (in rubber boots - which they provide).
We spent our last night in the campsite up river on our way out of the area.. The tents were newish and clean, with real mattresses, , toliets and showers well functioning, paths and steps in place to get around safely, and the team cooked a great pasta dinner. We enjoyed it.
We left very aware of how precarious the traditional life is for indigenous peoples now..surrounded by oil rigs and cutting in the forest. This is a very worthwhile effort to preserve the land and culture of the Huaroni people..We wish them well and were very happy to have shared this experience with them. Kris H

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kristine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our visit to the Huaorani Ecolodge and communities was a privilege. We felt the tour was designed to show us how very unique and fragile the Huarorani way of life is--so close to the devastation caused by the oil companies. The hope is, of course, that eco-tourism will provide an alternative.

I cannot say enough about our local guide. Learning about the rain forest from him was unforgettable, and everyone worked hard to give us an experience of the culture and beauty of the Ecuadorian "Oriente."

This trip is not for everyone. It is not luxurious. But for those who are physically able, who wish to connect more fully with the beauty and fragility of the Amazon and some of its most earth-connected inhabitants, and who know that journeys like this require a certain ability to roll with whatever might happen next, it is a rare and precious gift.

Room Tip: Rooms are very basic. Enjoy the deep quiet and sounds of the rain forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was the highlight of my trip to South America in November 2013. It was fascinating to see how the tribe would have lived and have been adapting to the outside world since they were contacted in the 1950s. It was a privilege to be there as well as being an adventure. Both our guides were excellent and all the local people we met were so friendly and very welcoming. I had an amazing time and it was so memorable. Still talking about it! I can definitely recommend the lodge.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
0.5 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
148.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
454 reviews
153.9 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huaorani Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huaorani Ecolodge

Address: Yasuni Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range: £114 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in an eco-lodge situated at the headwaters of the Amazon and run by the Huaorani, one of the most isolated ethnic groups on earth: first contacted by the outside world only 55 years ago, they speak a language that is unrelated to any other. You’ll learn to use a blowgun, hear their leader relate the tribe’s fight against oil exploration, and take a two-day meander down the Shiripuno River in kayaks, watching for tropical birds and monkeys.Highly Commended -The Virgin Holidays Responsible Travel Award 2009 and 2010Best Company in Innovation 2010 - LATATrips of a Lifetime award by Travel & Leisure 2010Best Sustainable Tourism Project 2008 and 2009 - LATABest Adventure Travel Companies on Earth by National Geographic 2009 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huaorani Ecolodge Hotel Yasuni National Park
Huaorani Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing