We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful way to visit a rain forest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manatee Amazon Explorer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manatee Amazon Explorer
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to visit a rain forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We just returned from a short stay on the Manatee Explorer. I had originally booked it because it was a recommended 50 Best Vacations for 2010 by the National Geographic. I really trust the National Geographic so I assumed all would be well. I was right. It was a well-run operation from the panga driver to the guides and manager. Manager Fausto runs a tight ship. The steward/barman was most attentive to the 4 passengers...that's right, there were only 4 of us so we had a virtual private tour. The staff outnumbered us but treated us extremely well. I have a feeling even if it is fully booked, their attitude would still be to make certain their passengers had a good experience.

Raoul, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable about that various flora and fauna of the jungle. It was a real treat to have our very first safari into the jungle included about an hour-long hike after dark where Roaul found numerous moths, granshoppers, centipedes, and a myriad of strange insects.

I would highly recommend the restful Manatee Explorer. You have the opportunity to view all that the Napo River has to offer instead of only those areas near land-based lodges. From the howler monkeys to the fairy-tale lightning bugs, the trip is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank powycommodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    21
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
54
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We have just returned from a trip to Ecuador which incorporated a 4 nigth stay on this River Boat. The service was excellent, Reubin the Manager ran everything extremely well. We had a charming little cabin, air conditioned, very welcoming. There is a bar and restaurant on the boat. laundry service is also provided.The food was excellent, freshly prepared by the chef. Breakfast,lunch and dinner was included in our package. Soups and fruit juices were all made from scratch. Even the pancakes, and doughnuts we had one day were all freshly made.Each time we went out for our canoe trip, we were always welcomed on our return by the Manager and Jose the bar man with snacks and freshly squeezed fruit juice. Some of our trips involved picnic lunch which again beautifully prepared, and sometimes we were even offered snacks while we were out on the boat. Each evening the manager or the naturalist would go through the agenda for the next day, and on those early morning calls, you were woken up by soft music in your cabin followed by an annoucement as to when breakfast would be ready. Our guides Raul and Milton were excellent, always on time, and made all our trips out varied. At the end of our trip Milton put together a CD of photographs taken from our trip, this was then given to us as a leaving present. Something which a lot of time and effort had gone into. We really did enjoy the part of this trip. The efficiency of the crew was excellent, they really did go the extra mile to make this a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
347 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

By travelling by boat on the Napo there are so much opportunities for visiting distant nature and for enjoying sun and birds while transferring from one place to the other; this is not what you can get in a jungle lodge. The price is equivalent and probably the service as well, but the nature encountering is terrific. The food at board is good, the cocktails are even better (thanks to Jose) and service and programme are well thought and scheduled. The staff is full of jokes and knowledgeable. Cabins are logically not big, but well-furnished and with brand new douche-cabins (with a rainforest shower, too). The sun-deck is always a good observatory and the bar is next door. When the boat is moored, the satellite desk gives you affordable internet access in the middle of the jungle. With 24 hours per day electricity and air-conditioning this is a recommendable experience in the wild

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

I was a bit apprehensive when I first saw the Manatee sitting in the Napo River in Ecuador, but looks in this case are very deceiving. A great boat with an exceptional crew, wonderful guides, good food, and just a really enjoyable time. I was on the boat four nights, but I think an extra day or two would have been really nice. We were also very lucky that we had only 12 guests on board. The rooms were a bit "cozy" but very comfortable. All in all, a great way to see the Amazon basin in Ecuador. I'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsWithStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Ct.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

The Manatee Amazon Explorer provides a comfortable way to explore the interior of the Ecuadorian Amazon basin. Recently, we spent four days on the Manatee Amazon Explorer. The trip begins with a flight into Coca, then an hour and half trip in an open boat down the Napo River to where you meet up with the Manatee. The boat is an amazing refuge in the midst of the Amazon rain forest. With a dozen two person staterooms and a couple of larger ones, each with its own shower and bath, it provides comfortable accommodations while providing access to various refuges, national parks, and wildlife centers along the river. Typical days involve transferring to small canoes for trips up small rivers and lakes, hikes through the rain forest, and sometimes nighttime hikes or canoe trips through the forest. Sightings include many exotic birds, parrots, bats, insects, frogs, snakes, and caymans. Back on board, the meals, served in a spacious dining room, are fantastic. A large lounge and bar area also doubles as a theater and lecture hall to review the day's sightings and photos. Our English speaking guide showed care and concern not only for us but for each and every tiny critter of the rain forest. The boat manager and his crew could not have been more helpful. The rain forest is hot, humid, and sometimes it even rains. After a long day of exploring the rivers and trails, hot showers, good food, and an air conditioned stateroom were a welcome relief.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

The Manatee it is an excelent river cruise, you visit indigenous communities, they help the people in the Amazon of Ecuador.
The most important thing it is that you cruise to 4 protected areas: Yasuni National Park, Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve, Pañacocha Biological Corridor and the Limoncocha Biological Reserve, where you can see a lot of fauna, flora and indigenous people and at the same time help protect the Amazon Basin

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Faustou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
0.0 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#7 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 53 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatee Amazon Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatee Amazon Explorer

Property: Manatee Amazon Explorer
Address: Quito Office: Gaspar de Villarroel 1100 y Av. 6 de Diciembre Edificio Ritz Plaza, Yasuni National Park 17-11-6646, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although expedition cruising by its very nature is characterized as adventurous, the safety of our staff and passengers is of paramount importance to us. The Manatee Amazon Explorer is fully equipped and maintained in order to handle the most challenging conditions and circumstances, and is manned by experienced and conscientious expedition staff and crew. The canoes used for daily shore landings are rugged and versatile and are operated responsibly by experienced personnel. Onboard you will be fully briefed on all pertinent safety issues and concerns, as well as our environmental policy; passengers also receive appropriate and detailed briefings before each landing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manatee Amazon Explorer Hotel Yasuni National Park
Manatee Amazon Explorer Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing