We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - a privilege to visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

An outstanding example of a community run project. Napo is an inspiration and an utter joy to visit. The overall vision is impressive. You can see the investment made by the local community and the respect they have for both the rainforest and their guests. This is place that cares about your experience. The staff are impressive in their professionalism and knowledge. The guides share your excitement and sense of privilege in seeing the wildlife which makes your experience the richer. Early mornings, night time treks and paddles, observation towers, narrow creaks, pathways and hides offer you lots of opportunity to see a phenomenal range of animals and plant life. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: Napo provide wellies and ponchos which are perfect for the conditions so don't worry about bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed the stay with us. Best regards, Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

We just got back from a few days in this Wildlife Centre and enjoyed it immensely! The experience was great. The people are from the native tribe in the area and so your money goes to their education and other necessities. The centre itself is amazing, with great accomodations right on the lagoon there. The food was excellent and plentiful (even on the 4 hour ride there and back on the river). The guides and naturalists were knowledgeable, fun, and interesting. Activities included were hiking through the rainforest, canoeing on the river and the lagoon, and informative sessions about the area and the people there, including some about the current drilling of oil in their Country and how it affects the environment. We saw many animals, birds, reptiles, fish, and bugs. We went through Columbus Travel, which suggested them and would use again. Great trip!

Room Tip: Bring lots of bug repellent and get ready to get up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solsenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hi, thanks for your review back in April, Please feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

What a great experience. I went during the "wet season" which is hot and rainy, but the 4 days and 3 nights were spectacular. Our guide, David Yunes knew so much about the history of Kichwa people, current projects and Amazonian flora and fauna. He communicate a lot of information very efficiently without taking away from the joy of the trip. The staff was all very helpful and polite, the canoe/hiking/cultural tours were all very interesting and there is a lot of opportunity for pictures. The center itself is well maintained and the bungalows are great. Meals and snacks were based on local menus and we always had plenty of it. I came away with a new respect for Amazonian conservation, the Kichwa people and just how quickly and how much our world is changing. This project is eco friendly and directly supports the Kichwa people, funding economic development, schools, medical care and more. Where else can you swim in with Pirhana and caymen?

Some photos at https://picasaweb.google.com/102716581761389829547/20120313CocaToNapoDay1?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCO_X_fKQ9-buxgE&feat=directlink and https://picasaweb.google.com/102716581761389829547/20120314NapoDay2?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCJrI7rm7zZ3ZpgE&feat=directlink

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are great, but if you can get one right on the water, it makes for a relaxing n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hi Steve, thanks for your review back in April and for posting the link to the pictures. Please feel free to share your experience with others

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a truly magical place to stay in. The first view you get of the lodge on your approach along the creek is very special amongst the backdrop of the most beautiful rainforest. There is an abundance of wildlife here in the surrounding creek - birds, otters, caimans and lots of species of monkey. In the morning we could hear the howler monkies in the distance which with the sound of the birds and insects was a reminder that we were in a special place with the richest biodiversity on earth.

Our room here was so comfortable with a big 4 poster bed, a well needed mosquito net which was very effective and a very clean bathroom. We had a balcony overlooking the lake and it was so pleasent sitting out on this after a day of jungle activities watching the active and colourful birds in the tree tops next to the main lake. I recommend climbing the observation tower at the lodge which offers terrific views of the trees and lake below.

The activities were so well organised and each morning we had a personal wake up call for breakfast before heading out to see lots of amazing things. We took lots of trips in a canoe along the smaller creeks in search of wildlife with our own naturalist who was able to point out and identify so many species of birds and mammals and impart so much information to us about all the animals of the forest which was fascinationg. We were taken to a clay lick where we saw lots of parakeets and parrots which was a highlight and we also went to an observation tower in the forest where we got a wonderful view of the jungle canopy and the surrounding area which was beautiful.

The food was very good with a lovely buffet each night with so much variety and the breakfasts and lunches were also very good with different things each day. The staff were helpful and were always on hand if we needed anything.

It did cost a lot of money to stay here but you get all your meals and activties included which was worth every penny. This is a very special place and I will never forget my wonderful time here.

Room Tip: Have a cerveza at the top of the lodge's observation tower at around 5pm. As the sun nears to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Napo Wildlife Center. This kind of feedback helps us to continue improving our services. Really appreciate the time you have taken to write about us. Best regards, Mariela Cárdenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The experience was excellent in all regards. Our room was large, well maintained and clean. Mosquito nets over beds as well as room screens, so no insects in the room. The food was always excellent with a good variety and choices. Both our native and naturalist guides were very knowledgeable and extremely good wildlife spotters. Our three full days there, as well as the day in and out were always busy. Both canoe trips on the rivers and forest walks always had wildlife with the guides providing full information on whatever we saw. Also good commentaries on the tremendously varied vegetation.
The trip in and out were somewhat unknown, and the description on the website might put people off. However, they were both delightful. The motor launch from Coca is comfortable and relaxing. The "dugout" trip from there is very comfortable, and the guides do all the paddling. If need be, there are ponchos, and wildlife is seen all along the way. When you arrive at the lodge, it is hard to believe it has been almost two hours.
Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I do not hesitate to recommend it fully, and I would be delighted to go there again.
Allen & Eileen

Room Tip: Only 18 rooms available, all similar, so book early if you want to go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lzrdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Allen and Aileen, thank you for your review back in March, we would of course be happy to welcome you back some day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Ditto all the good things everyone has said about location, wildlife, organisation, comfort etc. Two other things stand out for me: the amazing story of this local community which has pulled together to build and run such a fantastic place from scratch - and alongside this the wonderful, friendly 'family' atmosphere which the staff create. They clearly enjoy and have pride in doing what they do and they do it very well, from the chef and bar manager (who are both great characters) to the canoe paddlers, the ladies at the interpretation centre and all the backroom staff.
I do agree with other reviewers that having to eat with the same people all the time feels a bit uncomfortable, particularly if you don't particularly get on with someone in your group! We also thought it would have been nice to have the option for slightly longer/more adventurous treks for those fit enough to do them.
A few tips - if like us you are travelling around a lot and have the option of leaving the bulk of your luggage somewhere else, do so. All you need is lightweight trousers and a few long-sleeved tops in a small rucksack. Boots and waterproofs are provided. There are sockets in the room if you need to recharge your camera. The laundry service here is quick and cheap (unlike Quito hotels) if you need stuff washing while you are away.
Overall we absolutely loved this place and were really sad to leave. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lagoon - some have trees in front which is a shame
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed visiting Napo WIldlife Center; we will transmit this to our staff at the Community. Your comments are welcomed and we are already implementing some changes. We kindly ask you if you visit our web page and click on our social media. Thank you again for your time. Best regards, Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Napo Wildlife Center is a superbly run resort that showcases the extraordinary richness and variety of the biodiversity within the magnificent Yasuni National Park and the Ecuadorean Amazon. This is a unique place in every way. The local Anangu people are to be lauded for keeping Big Oil at bay and for creating this superb haven deep in the rainforest. Anyone who visits this place will come away enriched beyond imagining. Everything possible MUST be done to preserve this fabulous region. There is nowhere like it on Earth.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lionelfriedberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for your nice comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit at Napo Wildlife Center. Please enter our web page and click on our social media as well. Thank you for your time. Best regards, Mariela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
143.6 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Auca
Hotel El Auca
#4 of 5 in Coca
30 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 6 in Yasuni National Park
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiripuno Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#2 of 67 in Napo Province
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Address: | Añangu Lake, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing