We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sani Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge(Yasuni National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Tapir Lodge(Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Bamboo Lodge(Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Siona Lodge(Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
205
40
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
40
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watercamping arealocal communitythe riveroil companiesnatural historycanoe ridecommunity visitpiranha fishingguide victorcommunity centerspecies of birdsrubber bootscreepy crawliestheir livesblack caimansbird tower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great food, position, staff.......and best of all.......... all monies goes to the local Kichwa people.
Rooms were well above average considering its in the jungle on a stunning lake.
Many animals to be seen here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Lots of waiting in-between activities to start, especially when there are new members joining the existing group. Didn't see much of wildlife but saw lots of insects e.g. leaf cutter ants, stick insects and butterflies etc. The tree-top tower gives a good view of the forest canopy. Our guide was knowledgeable and the crew were friendly. Our room/cabin was clean and supposed to have hot water but it didn't work during our stay. Electricity was restricted to certain timings (though there's electricity 24 h at the office) and there's a lights-out timing at night, so come prepared with your own torch lights or headlamps. Food was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

It is very hard for me to try and describe how incredibe the Sani Lodge is. It's authenticity and people of the Sani Tribe are truly something one can only experience. This is not a lounging vacation though. If you want 5 star hotel and relaxation of sitting around this is not for you. But if you want to truly see the jungle and experience all that it has to offer, see more wildlife than you can imagine, and learn more in one day than you can remember then go to Sani Lodge. We went as a family of 5. Two kids ages 10 and 7, my husband and I and my Mom who is 69 almost 70. We loved every minute of our time there. Our boys would have stayed for 2 weeks, but we only had 4 nights and 5 days, which is really 3 1/2 days as the last day you leave the lodge at 7am, and it takes about 3 1/2 hours to get there once you land in Coca. My Mom stayed in the lodge, and we stayed in the tents which are very close to the lodge at the moment, but they are moving them to an hour away from the lodge, to be able to have a true camping experience. We saw 7 species of monkeys, a baby Fer de Lance, Tucans, and so much more you have to go there to experience it all for yourself. We were up most days at 5 and as we had young children to bed about 8:30 as they were exausted. Our Guide Javier was amazing and is the primary guide for families as his English is so good because he was educated in the USA. The best part for our boys was the blow gun practise and they just wanted to do it over and over. We all got our face painted and be sure to get the jungle stamp. If you are lucky enough to go to this incredible spot be sure to put your clothes in plastic bags, and take only 2 sets. One for hiking and one for later. It will all be wet and stinky, but it doesn't matter if you take the time to breath and look at where you are. It is like no where else on earth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KirstenBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

If you want an authentic jungle experience this is it.
First, I was very impressed with the common areas both in elagance and views. ESPECIALLY considering the location.
Second, we got our own two guides for just three of us and we got to choose our schedule.
Sure the guides arent textbook bookworms but they have lived in the area their entire life and therefore have the local and cultural knowledge of the area. If you have a questions they will answer them!
Third, THE FOOD AND COFFEE WERE AWESOME.

I loved our guides, I thought the were genuine and fun. During our trip we went up into the canopy, caymen watching, night hikes, parrot licks, hikes, pirhanna fishing, and took a visit to the community that runs it all.... all on our own time with our guides

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I was at Sani Lodge as a sole traveler for 3 nights and 4 days. My experience was incredible for the following reasons:

- it is run exclusively by the local Kichwa community
- it is deep inside the jungle which makes for spectacular caiman/parrot/monkey/snake/spider/etc. watching
- the accommodation is VERY comfortable, spotless AND has Wi-Fi if you choose to stay connected while you're there
- the food is DELICIOUS with great variety and a nice balance between local Ecuadorian fare and international dishes
- the staff is unbelievably friendly, thoughtful and helpful
- the cost is significantly less than other lodges in the area

Overall, I can't imagine a better way to visit the Amazon. Sani is 5/5 on all fronts. Book and enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kshine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews