We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place, great experience and perfect services”
Review of Sani Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sani Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull place, great experience and perfect services”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Sani lodge location is very remote, set on the riverbank in the primary rainforest. Maximum 35 people per lodge. Cottages, meeting room and dining room are lovely and built from local materials and really luxurious. Cottages are very clean and they change towels every day, mosquito nets in windows and above beds as well. Personell is from local community and is very nice, friendly, carefull and helpfull. Our guide Freddy is fantastic, enthusiastic, has perfect knowledge of local fauna and flora and also very good english. All people provided us with a great service. All food was like from 4star restaurant.
As we have travelled quite many countries including rainforest places, we are quite experienced travellers and thus quite demanding. For those who search for perfect stay in Amazonia, Sani lodge is a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatalieTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    38
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
50
86
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We travelled with our 2.5 year old son, so were obviously a little hesitant as to what to expect. We were met at the airport by the guide and boarded the boat for 3 hours up the river, which included lunch. Our guide Javier was fantastic, he made our time so wonderful by pairing us appropriately with another family that allowed our time enjoyable. We saw so many incredible creatures, animals and the night walk was our favourite. The chefs were very accomodating, the food was delicious and our cabin was rustic, yet perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ijunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Sani Lodge is incredible, after the three hour boat ride along the Napo, switched to a canoe for a twenty minute paddle to the lodge itself. Cabins adequately equipped with mosquito nets over the beds. Hot water on tap. Food is superb, in my experience the best food I've eaten anywhere, it really is that good. Our local guide Orlando possessed wonderful field skills, picking up birds invisible to me. We racked up over 200 species of birds, five species of monkey, Black Caiman and various insects. If you are thinking of staying in the Amazon rainforest, Sani Lodge is a must. Additionally it is run by the local community.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthNorfolkBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights in the camping part of the lodge and would highly recommend Sani if you want to visit a beautiful and remote part of the rainforest. Our guide Javier was excellent, he had an amazing knowledge of the flora and fauna of the rainforest as well as a lot of enthusiasm for every aspect. The meals at the lodge were delicious and service was consistently great. Activities were varied and interesting - we especially loved the boat rides and the night walk, and the canopy tower was cool too. We saw a lot of different wildlife, particularly birds, insects and monkeys, plus the odd caiman lurking in the lagoon.

The camping area is basic but well set up (although bathrooms could perhaps do with more shelves or pegs for hanging stuff while in the shower) and generally pretty comfortable, with fresh sheets and towels provided in the tents each day.

Thanks Javier and team, hopefully we'll return some day to meet that elusive jaguar...

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I reserved a spot to stay in the tents last December. Since no one else was staying there at that time, they moved me into the lodge for no extra fee. It was a fantastic experience for many reasons but most important, because of the guide (Javier). His environmental consciousness and perfect English allowed me hours of incredible information. The man who worked with him, while he spoke no English, pointed out the most subtle signs of animal activity and I swear, could see in the dark. The community visit did not seem artificial, but hospitable and an attempt to be educational. While ecotourist experiences can certainly have its negatives, this was not one of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gretchen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Sani Lodge is a treasure for the Yasuni people and the whole world. The cottages are very comfortable and in the heart of the amazon. I had the pleasure to be there in August when it was dryer and there were no mosquitoes. I traveled to Sani in August 2012 and everyone should experience the rain forest and the treasures that lie within.

The trip begins with a 30 minute flight from Quito to Coca. You are greeted by a guide that takes you to the small harbor where you pick up your motorized canoe. Depending on the water level the trip can take anywhere from 2 to 4 hours. The river trip is breath taking and there are components of National Geographic anticipation, excitement and nervousness. You are in great hands all of the guides were awesome.

Once you get near Sani, you will take a 15-20 minute walk through the amazon rain forest on a fantastic wooden path built above the forest floor. Monkeys are swinging off the trees and everything is alive:D. You then take a canoe for 45 minutes manually powered into the Yasuni Lodge.

Juan was our guide and he was super encyclopedia of knowledge, experience and spoke multiple languages.

The staff is lovely, everyone is welcoming and the food is delicious and the fruit juices are awesome. Everything I tasted was excellent and waking up to the sounds of the forest coming back to life is something that cannot be described with words or pictures.
This is the folks you should book for an awesome amazon adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My family (me, my husband and two children (21,15) stayed here from 26th to 29th July and loved everything about it. It starts with the adventurous trip there, 85 miles (km??) slaloming down the Napo (as the Amazon is known in Ecuador) to miss the sandbanks, then a short trek along a boardwalk across soft ground, then into another canoe to glide along backwaters and then across the lagoon to get to the lodge....and it never stopped then until we left!! Gliding across the silent lagoon after nightfall to spot caimans, up at 5 for a morning canoe and hike to spot the wildlife and birds at their most active (we saw so much - but i don't want to spoil everything!), up to the top of the rainforest canopy, another hike (take water it gets hot!), hike after nightfall to spot night insects, spiders (breathtaking - do not miss this opportunity). Then next day up again at 5 to head for the "quaint" parrot clay lick, then a visit to a farm, visit to their community centre to meet the locals and understand more about their way of life, Ecuadorian lunch prepared by the Sani community, football match (locals), then piranha fishing, learning to use a blowpipe......the list goes on. If anything, I could have done with half an hour to gaze in silence across the lagoon.
The food is excellent....there were three vegetarians in our group of 9 (including myself) and they catered brilliantly for us. And even when we were out and about food and drink kept appearing out of nowhere. And there is also an opportunity to try Ecuadorian "citric" ants if you want and some bulbous larvae (dead or alive) if you wish to!!
Javier our guide was second-to-none...his English was exceptional and his knowledge boundless. And so much enthusiasm. This place has been set up with oil money with ALL proceeds going to help the local Sani community resist the ingress of the oil companies onto their land...and there is a strong eco-message here about the damage to the forest and wildlife. This place deserves your support.
It's not luxurious...the cabins are basic comfortable, hot water is intermittent, plumbing iffy and electricity intermittent...but only for the Western standards we have become used to. This is the middle of the jungle for heaven's sake...you are so remote here - that is its charm. You feel like a real adventurer here and the kindness of the staff and the wildlife you will see is hard to beat. As you can see I loved every minute and intend to go back again for longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scottishlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
33.4 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Auca
Hotel El Auca
#3 of 5 in Coca
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 56 in Napo Province
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guacamayo Ecolodge
Guacamayo Ecolodge
#4 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Lodge

Property: Sani Lodge
Address: Rio Napo Riverside, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sani Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sani Lodge is the only jungle lodge in Ecuador that is 100% owned and operated by the indigenous Kichwa community of Sani Isla. On the banks of a stunning lagoon, and surrounded by pristine rainforest, packed with monkeys, manatees, sloths, manatees and over 550 types of birds, this superb jungle lodge is a perfect base to explore the Amazon jungle by day and enjoy some real comfort by night. Camping option available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Hotel Yasuni National Park
Sani Hotel Quito
Sani Resort All Inclusive
Sani Lodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing