We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great experience with people who care”
Review of Sani Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sani Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really great experience with people who care”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was really a great experience of the rainforest. Although, we had no rain, it was sunny and really nice which may have affected the reason we saw only a few species. Great guide, great food. The cabin was relatively comfortable. Wished though the bed net was newer and in better shape. Thank you for giving us such a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    38
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
87
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 4 days 3 nights at Sani in the tents in November. This seemed like the perfect length of stay. The tents in the camping area were clean, a little bit small for 2 people, but not too bad. The mats were pretty comfortable. The canoe ride to and from the tents was a little bit restrictive for things like taking showers, etc; but beautiful in the morning and at night. We spent most of our free time at the main lodge bar area and observation deck where there were comfy chairs and fewer bugs. The camping area could use an update such as some chairs and larger tents (it would have been nice to have room for our bags inside).

Our guide was very knowledgeable. It was obvious that he leads a lot of groups and was somewhat jaded. We enjoyed the native Spanish speaking guides more because of their energy and excitement. We saw many species of birds, insects, caiman, a snake, and 3 types of monkey.

The lodge is set in an absolutely breathtaking setting on a lagoon. This setting is unique to Sani, and most of the other lodges are on the big, brown, Rio Napo. Paddling around the lagoon was wonderful. The other unique feature is that the lodge is run by the Sani community. Part of the stay was a visit to the community, including seeing one of our guide's family home. It was obvious that groups from other lodges went to the community earlier than us, and we felt like we were lucky to not be rushed but just enjoy the local food and culture.

The food was very good. I have a somewhat restrictive diet of no red meat and no dairy, and they made me delicious food. They remembered my preferences the whole time we were there. Also the bar was not too expensive.

Overall, I would recommend Sani highly. If you have the money, the cabins are nice. However the camping was a good experience and I was glad we went.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWideAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

went to Sani Lodge as part of a Ecuador family vacation. what a fantastic experience! the staff is super courteous, the surroundings just unbelievable, activities surreal (rainforest day and night hikes, cayman viewing, kapok tree viewing, local resident lunch (ate grubs!)), and there are bonuses like great food!

couldn't have asked for more ...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrld1trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We chose Sani Lodge due to it being run by the local community, small numbers of guests and the option of camping. We chose SO well!!
Going to sleep in our tent each night to the symphony of insects, and sitting in a canoe on the still lake at night with the hundreds of stars reflecting in the mirror waters, are amongst my favorite memories. The food is excellent, our Sani guide Fredy a fount of knowledge and so passionate about his people, animals and forest. All other staff were lovely, the activities and transfers (motor canoe, short walk, then paddle canoe) smooth and easy. The small group size made for a more intimate experience. The camping setup was clean and you feel closer to the jungle (huge night frogs nearby every night), the showers very adequate (take your head lamp)...I will be sending my family and friends here!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuccalUnderPressure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This place exceeded my expectations in that it was a fantastic add-on to my Galapagos cruise. Very remote! The best part of my trip was catching a piranha and having them cook it for the group. The caimans were cool too (especially at night) as was the parrott wall with the thousands of parrots!!!! My guide was fantastic as was the naturalist. Wish I could remember their names!
I had them all to myself and I learned much from them!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Sani lodge location is very remote, set on the riverbank in the primary rainforest. Maximum 35 people per lodge. Cottages, meeting room and dining room are lovely and built from local materials and really luxurious. Cottages are very clean and they change towels every day, mosquito nets in windows and above beds as well. Personell is from local community and is very nice, friendly, carefull and helpfull. Our guide Freddy is fantastic, enthusiastic, has perfect knowledge of local fauna and flora and also very good english. All people provided us with a great service. All food was like from 4star restaurant.
As we have travelled quite many countries including rainforest places, we are quite experienced travellers and thus quite demanding. For those who search for perfect stay in Amazonia, Sani lodge is a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatalieTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We travelled with our 2.5 year old son, so were obviously a little hesitant as to what to expect. We were met at the airport by the guide and boarded the boat for 3 hours up the river, which included lunch. Our guide Javier was fantastic, he made our time so wonderful by pairing us appropriately with another family that allowed our time enjoyable. We saw so many incredible creatures, animals and the night walk was our favourite. The chefs were very accomodating, the food was delicious and our cabin was rustic, yet perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ijunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
33.4 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Lago - Lago Agrio
7.7 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 61 in Napo Province
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#8 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Lodge

Property: Sani Lodge
Address: Rio Napo Riverside, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sani Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sani Lodge is the only jungle lodge in Ecuador that is 100% owned and operated by the indigenous Kichwa community of Sani Isla. On the banks of a stunning lagoon, and surrounded by pristine rainforest, packed with monkeys, manatees, sloths, manatees and over 550 types of birds, this superb jungle lodge is a perfect base to explore the Amazon jungle by day and enjoy some real comfort by night. Camping option available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sani Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sani Hotel Yasuni National Park
Sani Hotel Quito
Sani Resort All Inclusive
Sani Lodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing