We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Hospitable and Memorable Estancia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castillos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estancia Guardia del Monte
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredibly Hospitable and Memorable Estancia”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I visited Estancia Guardia del Monte in December 2013 as part of our "babymoon" and felt this was the highlight of our trip to Uruguay. We were the only persons staying there on New Year's Eve and felt truly pampered throughout, including delicious homemade lemonade when we arrived to a dinner made-to-order by the incredible chef on site, Adriana. Imagine our shock when she asked what we wanted for dinner and then went on to suggest she could make a unique gnocchi (noqui) out of a local squash. As foodies, we were surprised to find that we anxiously awaited each meal given the extremely high quality of cooking on display. A breakfast pastry from Uruguay was cooked on a local leaf that gave it a wonderful, herbal quality.

The natural environment around Guardia del Monte is unique in Uruguay, with one of the largest groupings of the ombue tree. The owner took us on a personal hike through the ombue groves and gave us a great overview of the Uruguayan flora and fauna (she was much more knowledgeable than normal guides and showed a real interest in the subject matter). I also had a great horseback ride the evening before. That guide was great, later allowing me to try some of his mate (it's surprisingly difficult to try mate as a tourist since everyone essentially makes it themselves and it's not often sold commercially). The estancia is very remote, which is great because it's wonderfully quiet and at night the sky opens up with no light pollution.

A few tips for booking -- the hotel really doesn't have e-mail access, including via Facebook. If you want to make a reservation, you will need to call and speak to the owner, who speaks English. Save yourself the trouble and book this way. But, overall, the attentive and police service here makes this an effortless and memorable experience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlingonLoveGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were made to feel so welcome and at home at this beautiful and historic estancia. Alicia is the charming and gracious hostess. She speaks English and seemed very happy to explain about the history and ecology of the local area. The bird life, forest, views and food were all outstanding. Best for us was the riding. We went out riding with Carlos in the mornings and late afternoon. The horses were responsive and would gallop off and stop when asked to. It was a wonderful experience to ride through the wetlands, with the horses often wading through flower filled marshes. The bird life is abundant and we also chanced across an armadillo which Carlos caught and we held it! The finale par excellence was cantering through the lagoon. On a practical note, our transport there was by bus to Castillos (4 hours from Montevideo) and then a taxi to the estancia. We combined our trip with a stay in the nearby coastal village of Valizas, which we also recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had a wonderful experience at Guardia del Monte.
I was traveling alone, they may me feel as family.
The food is delicious, you can have homemade yams, cakes, cow milk…I think I gained a couple of pounds.
Senora Alicia has a great knowledge of local flora and fauna and there is an Ombu Forest in the property that can be visited.
Horse rides can be arranged and they will give you a horse according to your level of expertise, so you do not have to worry if you like me don’t have enough practice.
The personnel will try to make you happy all the time.
This place will also be great for families.

Room Tip: they will let you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabymassiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Staying at Guardia del Monte was one of the most amazing travel experiences my husband and I have ever had because we felt we were experiencing authentic Uruguay life in amazingly beautiful surroundings. The ranch house, dating from the mid-1700's, is set on a knoll surrounded by gently rolling cattle fields on three sides and the Castillos lagoon on the west side. Sitting on the porch watching the sun set over the lagoon was an unforgettable experience.

Alicia, the estancia owner, exudes warmth. She gently helped us structure our two days and nights at the ranch, first welcoming us with torta frita upon our arrival and then setting up a horseback ride with Carlos, the gaucho. The gentle horses took us near the lagoon where we saw roseate spoonbills, through an open field where the resident young cattle and horses greeted us, and through the ombue forest. On the second day Alicia took us for a walking tour through the ombue woods, explaining their unique features and how she is trying to foster the growth of more of these young and rare trees.

Dinners and breakfasts were superb, cooked using local ingredients and techniques. Cooking is done on a large wood-burning stove that was salvaged from a shipwreck off the coast in the 1800's. The second night we shared the dinner table with two other couples and conversation was lively thanks to a combination of the other guests' good English and a little of our Spanish.

Our comfortable room had a beautiful view over the rolling cattle fields, tiled floors and nice sized-bathroom. The silence in the middle of that ranch was wonderful.

This was Uruguayan hospitality at its best, and I highly recommended it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trehugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katwijk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Love this place, the estancia is beautifull, there is a lot of personal attencion, everybody is verry friendly. The horseriding was great, went 2 times for a long ride. The guide was verry willing to explain things. The surroundings is very special, the lagoon, forrest and wetlands. The room i stayed in was lovely. The value of wat you get for the money is good, it is worth every penny, lodging with full board and all the activity s including horseriding is 160 dollars per peron per day.

Cleo Dubbelaar
The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The landscape was beautiful, the host has great knowledge about the local fauna and flora, unfortunately the cost of USA $250 per person a day did not match the experience of walking through the forest, accommodation and food. Also prices changed for the bottle of wine depending on the hosts flippancy and we were charged the same as other couples that went horse riding, which we did not get offered. Also no credit card facilities, the local bank does not take international cards and the property has no wi fi. Overall too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorijea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Senora Alicia is the lovely resident-owner-hostess, of this historic hacienda nestled alongside an estuary filled with exotic waterfowl and a forest of Ombu trees that look as if they are from Tolkien's Middle Earth. I have been there on two separate occasions. My first trip there was part of a horse back tour of Uruguay. The interior and exterior ambiance combined with the charm and hospitality made it a place I just had to revisit with my wife. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with a trip to South America which included this stop. My wife is not keen on riding horses, but she was willing to try so that she could get a better look at the wildlife and the flora. She was given a great horse for her skill level and she rode for more time on each of the 3 days that we stayed there. This location will seem as if you are visiting another world. You only live once...go stay with Senora Alicia while there is still time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Estancia Guardia del Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Guardia del Monte

Property: Estancia Guardia del Monte
Address: Ruta 9 | Palmar de Castillos, Castillos 27200, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Rocha Department > Castillos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Castillos
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Estancia Guardia Del Monte Uruguay/Castillos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing