We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount View B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this B&B for our special 40th getaway. It did not disappoint. I honestly cannot find a single thing we did not like. The hosts were so friendly and helpful. We were welcomed at the door and immediately made to feel right at home. The room was so beautiful and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Breakfast was bought up to our room every morning with a smile. This is one getaway we will always remember. Thank you so much.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed in the cottage with a friend for a wine tasting vacation. The retreat is absolutely stunning will spectacular views of the valley on a secluded hilltop. Our cottage had a cosy fire place and had everything we needed. Chris was a brilliant host who was very hospitable, ensuring we had the best stay possible. She even offered to pick us up post wine tour from the gate. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. I could not think of a more perfect place to spend a quiet few days away. Highly recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: The cottage has a fireplace which was nice and cosy. It was also very quiet as away from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I chose to stay here as a little weekend getaway to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary.
From the second we drove up to the house we felt relaxed, the views are stunning!
We were welcomed at the door and shown to our room which was the Wattagan spa suite within the main house. Very clean and the bathroom was very spacious with a great double spa bath (which isn't really shown off as well as it could be on the website). The room had a TV and fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.
The bed was amazingly comfortable!!
We had our own private balcony, which was lovely, but unfortunately the balcony has a roof which made it impossible to see any stars at night and the sunrise, as this room is at the back of the house (we watched the sunrise through the bathroom window!)
One evening was spend downstairs in the main lounge room area in front of the open fire....absolutely amazing!
We will stay here again and have already recommended to our friends!!
Beautiful place, hosts and area!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preciouspops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunter valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in the self contained cabin for 4nights after Easter The views from this place are spectacular along with the peace and serenity Chris and Joe the hosts are really friendly but you only see them if you need something We would highly recommend this place to anyone who needs some time to unwind relax and admire the views or be as busy doing wine tours as you want We live less than 20 minutes from bimbadeen and can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I am leaving here this morning after a two night 'mummy retreat' on my own in the self contained cabin. I have enjoyed this so thoroughly I am making an annual ritual of it. No photos could show the true beauty of this special place, it's unbelievable views at every turn and heavenly atmosphere. The Bellbirds and wildlife (finches, other exotic looking wild birds, butterflies, wallabies etc) create a natural ambience that is very relaxing; all packaged with excellent customer service of the caring kind. Chris and Joe never encroach on your space (you hardly see anyone at all!) unless you need anything. On my second night Joe appeared right about the perfect time to quickly set up my personal cosy fire for me again, and each morning Chris brings a delicious continental breakfast to my doorstep! Healthy and delicious. The bed was soooo comfy and the self contained kitchenette made me feel right at home. Cleanliness was flawless. It is close to the vineyards and Cessnock town centre where there is everything you could need- 'Ink' cafe made me a really great coffee there. I went on a little bush walk starting just to the left of my cottage if you're facing it- through the wrought iron gate; and discovered little rickety bridges and lovely natural wonders everywhere. I love this place!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay. The beautiful view of the valley enchanted us right from the beginning and throughout our stay. Whether watching cattle or kangaroos milling about on the fields below, sunrises, fog covering the valley in the morning or an evening storm rolling through, we were often taking pictures and saying, "wow..."

The cozy, self catering cottage was a delight. It is compact and had everything we needed for our stay including electric frying pan, toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer, microwave and utensils. There are also two very nice B&B suites in the beautiful main building.

The retreat also boasts a magnificent stone patio with fish pond and more great views, beautifully kept grounds with various sitting areas and wildlife that regularly visit, including a wallaby named Skippy, a goanna lizard and many varieties of birds. The surrounding forrest is alive with sound day and night. An easy walk along the estate's country road or hike on walking trails is a great way to spend an afternoon and probably see some kangaroos.

Many wineries are very close by and the nearby town of Cessnock offers several grocery stores, butchers, fruit and veg stands and, on the main street, one or two barbers and salons ;-) and many interesting shops.

The best part of the retreat are the wonderful hosts, Joe and Chris. They are truly lovely people that couldn't do enough for us and are a delight to spend time with. I enjoyed listening to Joe explain many things about the area including local flora and fauna, the construction of the retreat itself and just chatting about anything.

I highly recommend staying here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank obfuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for our one year anniversary after 2 different friends recommended it. Could not have been happier!! It was exactly what we were looking for on our first trip to the Hunter Valley - secluded, romantic, breath-taking views & amazing personalised service.

We stayed in the Wattagan room and although Bimbadeen was fully booked we never saw the other guests. The view was stunning and we got to enjoy breakfast on our balcony each morning. Plus my boyfriend chose the balcony as the setting for a proposal. Absolutely perfect!!

The driveway is steep but easily tackled for any modern-ish car. Pack sneakers if you want to explore the 55 acres of land (great exercise after everything you eat & drink in the Hunter).

The daily continental breakfasts, personally delivered to the room by Chris, are sensational!!! Great variety and we never felt hungry.

Chris and Joe provide outstanding service. We cannot wait to get back to visit.

Room Tip: Wattagan Room - lovely view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec28383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount View
9.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat

Property: Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat
Address: 37 Moon Mountain Dr, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing