We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, Romantic and Luxurious”
Review of Cedars Mount View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedars Mount View
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Secluded, Romantic and Luxurious”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have just returned from 2 wonderful nights in the Edge villa at Cedars Mount View. When we arrived the fire was on and soft music was playing, the wine was waiting in the wine cooler and there was a welcoming ( delicious) cupcake for us in the kitchen. It was a lovely introduction to a beautiful location.

If you are looking for a quiet and romantic location where you and your loved one can get away from it all - this is the place! Cedars is very secluded, a good 10 minute drive up a winding ( but perfectly good) road from the main road. There are a couple of wineries and restaurants about 5 minutes drive away but my advice would be to eat out for lunch and plan to stay in for dinner.

The finish, fittings and design of the Edge are outstanding, with everything of the highest quality. Rugs so deep you could get lost in them, a well fitted out kitchen with Scanpan knives, lovely linens, thick towels and bathrobes.

The Edge villa has it's own separate entrance from the road and has a peaceful outlook across a babbling creek towards bush and a green field. The windows are thoughfully placed to feature the views fron almost every room and the full width back deck is a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine ( faces north) . The deck has two comfortable chairs and a low coffee table, one thing we thought was missing here was a small dining setting on the deck - it would have been nice to eat our breakfast out there.

Inside the main living area , at one end is a large comfortable leather lounge ( my husband appreciated the high back, so many "designer" lounges look great but are NOT comfortable) , a huge 3D Tv, with attached blu-ray and Foxtel box. This system is wired into an excellent speaker system. At the other end of the room is a HUGE hydotherapy spa which sits on an elevated position so you can enjoy the bush views from the spa. There is also a second TV placed so that you can watch from the spa. Immediately behind the bath, mounted inside the wall cavity is a wine cooler. This contains complimentary soft drinks and water and a bottle of wine. There is also a third Tv set in the bedroom. They provide an interesting selection of Blu rays ( some 3D - eg The Hobbit and Life of Pi )

Mounted into the wall next to the lounge is a large, gas flame effect heater and there is air-conditioning here and in the bedroom. The bathroom is spacious and has underfoor heating which we apprecited on a cool July morning. A large 2 person shower area with a handheld shower head and a second, illuminated rain shower head. The loo has a fine view too!

The whole villa features attractive mood lighting ( most with dimmers) , we particularly loved the feature stair lighting ( the switch for this was tucked behind the curtains near the spa)

The kitchen is well appointed with oven, microwave, small dishwasher and a wide selection of implements, bowls etc. The only thing we missed was some egg rings for our BBQ eggs. The BBQ is out the front in the carport, has excellent non-slip grills but would be improved with a light immediately over the BBQ - it was a bit hard to tell if the sausages were cooked on a dark evening.

We had ordered BBQ pack and Nibbles platter which were both so generous that they fed us for dinner on our two nights. The breakfast supplies are very generous too - your choice of bread, muesli, oats, pancake mix, baked beans, jams & honey, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, onions, and a wide selection of Twinings teas and plunger coffee.

There are very few cons to the Edge villa - as mentioned above a dining setting on the deck and better lighting over the BBQ would be nice. The design of the villa is overwhelmingly excellent and I only had one fault to find with it - the bedside "benches" are too small and are a bit too far from the bed to reach things easily.

However, those were very minor points in an overwhelmingly positive experience - we loved the Edge villa and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
136
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked The Gums cottage for 3 nights. It's the only 2 bedroom cottage they had. The cottage was set out really well. Bedrooms were on opposite side of the cottage so you felt you weren't on top of each other if you were sharing with another couple. The cottage itself is spectacular. There are 4 cottages on the property but they are so spread out from one another you never notice any of the others. It's about a 10 minute drive from the main winery area but I quite liked that. They also supply you with breakfast provisions which is a nice touch. It was one of the best times I've had up in the Hunter Valley & would definitely stay at Cedars next time I'm up there.

Room Tip: I would arrive there in the day time as it can be a little tricky to find the place for the first ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bj105094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed there with my boyfriend for 2 nights over the weekend and we both wished we could have stayed longer. We are so happy with Cedars, and would chose to stay there again in a heart beat. The whole set up was so romantic and very private. The view from the balcony is amazing. Lots of little things made it all that extra special - e.g. The heating was already turned on for us when we arrived, music on when we arrived, little chocolates and complimentary champagne, a nice selection of food and drinks in the room for breakfast, plenty of DVDs to chose from plus foxtel, the soaps and washes in the bathroom, etc.
Jenny at reception was also very helpful. :) :) the ONLY thing that wasn't 110% was that some kitchen utensils were missing that we needed.. but we managed anyway :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

WOW WOW WOW this place is truley for romantic couples it has everything you could need and is a 5 star accommadation. we try and stay at a different and unique place each year for a long weekend anth this place is right up there with the best it is ultra private and has first class inclusions we will be back

Room Tip: we stayed in the vue lodge the BEST
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed in the terrace for 2 nights. Perfect place for asking the question. Romantic and absolutely private. You don't have to meet the owners if you don't want, but they are great if you do. Well worth the price. Antipasto platter was amazing!

Room Tip: The terrace was wonderful. There is a nice open field where the kangaroos eat at dawn. You can arran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

After staying in the terrace a year ago for our wedding night and having everthing perfect it was an easy decision on where to celebrate our fisrt wedding anniversary.
Just like last time everything we needed and more was catered for, gourmet breakfast for a week, amazing antipasto platter, rose petals, champagne etc.
Since we stayed for 5 nights this time we had a lot more time to explore the property and it was incredible to discover all the wooden bench seats scattered around the property, particularly special are the ones in the shady green clearings around the creek bed...one even has a crystal chandelier! Unfortunately rainy whether permitted us from having any picnics on the property but when we return for our next holiday it will be on the top of the to-do list.
We also found the local dining recommendations to be excellent.
Whilst I love the remote, peaceful location the downside of this is the dirt roads in the area, they are fine in the dry but in the wet parts of them become extremely slippery so be careful when driving there in the wet!
If you are like me and always cook with non-stick fry pans, beware there are only stainless steel pans provided. Completely understandable since I can image the non-stick ones would be destroyed by people who don't know how to use them properly, but if you are stainless steel challenged like I am consider bringing your own pan....the smoke alarm is quite loud :)

Cedar's is the only 'luxury' place I have stayed where the price feels justified, it is easy to pay the same amount for what is essentially a hotel room (or in some cases glorified motel room) in the hunter valley. For absolute value for money this place is number 1. To give you an idea of their customer service focus, I requested a specific brand of milk as I have dairy allergies and they provided it with no problems, I have never had another accommodation place ever even allow you to specify lite or full cream etc.
I cannot recommend Cedars highly enough, most placed we went in the hunter had no idea it even existed but everyone who knew of it said it is the hunter's best kept secret (and some of those people even had their own accomodation venues!)

Room Tip: the terrace and the vue are the most privately located
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip and Meli... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A great place, perfect for a romantic, secluded getaway, or a base to explore the Hunter Valley wine region. Well appointed cottages with lots of little extras. The owners have gone to great lengths to ensure that you are well catered for and happy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTBSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount View
10.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
8.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
8.4 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Mount View

Property: Cedars Mount View
Address: 60 Mitchells Rd | off Mount View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mount View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cedars Mount View 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hunter Valley accommodation for couples in split level open plan one bedroom spa villas or a two bedroom/2 bathroom spa cottage. Cedars Mount View offers the rare luxury of absolute privacy and quiet combined with modern, elegant interiors and all the modern conveniences including two person spas, gas flame log fire, flat screen satellite TVs, DVDs and IPOD docks.These secluded villas are fully self contained to dine in or on the deck and full breakfast provisions are supplied for your stay - espresso machine. Personal itineraries, indulgence packages and restaurant transfers are available on request. Indulgence packages include Helicopter pickups from your door for lunch or events, to in-house massage by prior arrangement.The villas are thoughtfully scattered over 100 acres (40 hectares) with a meandering Cedar Creek running through the property. There are parklike vistas, easy walking trails and abundant wildlife.Mount View boutique wineries nearby and chefs hatted Bistro Molines. Twenty minutes scenic drive to the centre of Pokolbin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cedars Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing