We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Haven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages On Mount View
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Haven!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at Mount View at the beginning of March and had a wonderful relaxing and peaceful time! After a very long flight from London, it really was a great way of getting rid of the jet lag and the pressures of everyday life back home, not to mention the awful cold weather!! The cottage was lovely and has everything you need for a perfect stay, and the spa is just the icing on the cake!! Lying in there with a glass of bubbly looking at the most amazing starlit sky is an experience not to be missed, and we can't wait to do it again. The vineyards are easily accessible and great to visit, but it was great to come back to the cottage and relax. The bellbirds are amazing (we thought they were chimes until John told us they were birds!) and we were lucky enough to see kangaroos next to our Spa! All in all, a fantastic place to stay and we can't wait to go back again next time we visit Australia. Barbara and Derek

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    12
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The title says it all.....My partner and I decided we needed a little R&R from the rat race of Sydney. Google to the rescue...and we found Cottages on Mount View....the description and photos sealed the deal and we booked a 2 night mid-week package, with added requests of a Cheese Platter and a nice local Shiraz to be in a cottage on arrival. John (one half of the properties owners) had everything set for our arrival. One of the bottom cottages (#3)...no neighbors - spa warmed and ready - beautiful breakfast basket with Eggs, Bacon, Mushrooms Tomatoes Fresh Cob loaf, butter Juice and another bottle of Shiraz ....we knew then we have found our little touch of Paradise. The cottage was very clean and well appointed with little luxuries that you would not expect. Once settled we shared our platter on the outdoor setting - listening to the Bellbirds and enjoying the tranquility of the property. Dusk fell over the ridge, and we enjoyed our first night in the cottages with a BBQ on the front verandah and the rest of the night sipping wine in the spa and watching the shooting stars in the night sky ....are you sure this is not heaven.
Next day we enjoyed an exclusive full day Gourmet Wine Tour with the Two Fat Blokes Tour Company - highly recommend this one - Thanks Nathan (Tour Host) for a great day.
One more night - then time to say Goodbye to the cottage and a stop at the main house to thank John for a absolute perfect stay......we will be back with more friends to share our little touch of Paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanflavel2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cottages on Mount View at the beginning of March and had a truly relaxing time! We had booked in at a place slightly further south originally, but due to the torrential rain, it was inaccessible, so we therefore looked at alternative places to stay. This looked very secluded and the reviews were good, so I went ahead and booked. I had planned to propose to my girlfriend at the original hotel, so was panicking when they told me that it couldn't be reached, however I called up and spoke with John (Owner of Cottages on Mt View) to inform him of my predicament and he was very helpful in arranging everything and giving me suggestions that would make the occasion a special one. The Cottage itself was so secluded and included 2 bedrooms, fully functioning kitchen, BBQ on the terrace and our own private hot tub! I think 3 out of the 4 retreats have a hot tub and this is something I would definitely recommend. When we arrived John had turned it on and it was ready to go and simple to use...and it was such fun to spend the day wine tasting around the local wineries and then being able to enjoy your purchases in the hot tub underneath the stars-truly memorable! We used the BBQ on the first night and went into Cessnock to buy steak from the butchers and necessities from Aldi-about 20 mins drive away. On the second night we organised a restaurant transfer to take us to a restaurant called Robert's (about 20 mins away-and with excellent food) this allowed us to have a few drinks and only cost $50 for 2 return.
The tranquility of the retreat itself is perfect and you awaken daily to hear the birds chirping. A breakfast hamper is also included, so you can cook bacon, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms on the BBQ each morning which is fun too. The owners live on site, so it's comforting to know they are only a few minutes walk away if you do need anything, otherwise once you meet them on arrival, they will leave you alone to relax in one of the beautiful cottages. All in all a fantastic stay! For those that want some affordable luxury combined with peace and quiet for a couple of nights, this is the ideal place. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elfiemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I and another couple were visiting Australia and wanted to experience ethe Hunter Valley as well as a bit of the Australian 'outback'. We hit the jackpot whe we found Cottage on Mount View. It was perfect for the 4 of us. The 2 br cottage provided just the right level of comfort and quaintness, was the perfect size, the hot tub was an added bonus and was taken advantage off. We love the warm welcome we got from John and the beautiful grounds we were on. We were so close to nature it was fabulous! The breakfast hamper was such a great touch and being away from the tourist trail made it feel like a real getaway. We cannot wait to come back and stay again! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Room Tip: Get the cabin with the hot tub..totally worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashfield, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have been staying at the Cottages for the past 3 years and have taken many of our friends with us when we stay, everyone agrees that it is a beautiful place set deep in the valley. With no mobile phone s to bother us and the sounds of bell birds as you drive into Mount View, I just start to relax and feel at home.The Cottages have just changed hands but the feel of the place hasn't changed, John and Andy have kept the charm going. It's out of the hustle and bustle and tucked away amongst the wineries. The wine tour is fantastic, be prepared for a whole day of eating and drinking. We are going back again in March and probably again later in the year. We can't stay away.

Room Tip: We like the 2 cottages at the bottom of the hill, but even the 2 at the top are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

A girlfriend and I took a mid-week getaway with my 4yr son. On arrival John was more than accommodating. We located our cabin, conveniently positioned away from the others for privacy. A breakfast hamper awaited us complete with local eggs, bacon and fresh milk. The cabin itself is roomy yet cozy with everything you need for a short break. All that was needed to complete the features was a cheese platter and cheese knives. Better quality wine glasses would have been a bonus but not a concern. Beds were super comfy with bedrooms providing extra blankets, pillows, 2 bedside lamps (always annoys me with only one) and hooks for clothing. Bathroom is neat and tidy with a hot shower and plenty of towel racks. One of the best features is the heated outdoor spa - we enjoyed 2 nights under the stars tasting our cellar door selections. The spa was clean, hot and the neon colour-changing under water lights added a touch of drama. We took a stroll around the property whilst not flat terrain was easy to navigate and a good way to burn off some energy of a 4 yr old. Accessed via dirt roads, the property certainly gives the feeling of seclusion. It is only a 10 min drive into the heart of the Hunter. We had a sensational stay at the cottage and will definitely return whether it be with friends, with my partner or family. Thank you to John & Andy who are running a wonderful business. You definitely get what you pay for and more!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and I have been to the Hunter Valley many times and this one (after our wedding) had to be one of the best. It is very off the beaten track and you feel very hidden away in the forest. The sound and smell of nature is all around, yet you can still reach all the wineries easily. We had the bigger cabin with the Jacuzzi, which made for a very refreshing change during the hot weekend. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount View
11.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
861 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
7.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.7 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
154 reviews
8.1 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages On Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages On Mount View

Property: Cottages On Mount View
Address: 1329 Mount View Rd, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mount View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottages On Mount View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
120 bushland acres with abundant birdlife and wildlife, minutes to many cellar doors, restaurants, concert venues and Hunter Valley favourites including Hunter Olive Centre, Hunter Valley Chocolate Company, Smelly Cheese Shop, Blue Tongue Brewery and Hunter Valley Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages On Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing