We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paperbark bed in the bush”
Review of Paperbark Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paperbark Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“paperbark bed in the bush”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

2 night midweek stay. Check in was quick. We stayed in the deluxe tent called kingfisher, I liked the overall look of the tent it was clean and well presented. You can expect all the usual supplies robes,slippers,tioletries, also a good supply of aerogard and mozzie coils. the walk around the grounds showed us campfire, some canoes a huge hammock, also communal lounge, fireplace, station for recharge of all electronics like phone,laptop,etc. This is also the restaurant The Gunyah for breakfast and dinner and bar snacks its licensed. The food here is the star no doubt about it. The breakfast cooked to perfection both mornings. The dinners on both nights was exceptional the menu was completely different for dinners and completely loved both. Overall it was pleasant but not enough to warrant a second visit the tents are serviced so this must be relative to the price, the location yes its scrubland with some perfect paperbarks trees and peaceful with the odd kangaroo thumping past the tent with some local birdlife you would expect to see in the area. The staff were casual in their manner the stand out staff person to me was the french guy he truly looked happy to be there doing his job. It is a quick easy drive to hyams beach,greenpatch or huskisson.

Room Tip: go deluxe so you can experience a hot bubble bath in the bush take your own bubbles, I also took ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    62
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
30
174
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The weather definitely has a huge bearing on this place.unfortunately for us it has rained the whole time and we will be relieved to travel on tomorrow to somewhere more civilised.
We are in a luxury tent,it is large and the bed is good,however just about everything feels and is,damp. There are the standard Mosquitos and cockroaches as well,we haven't seen any animals but that's ok
What is definitely not acceptable is supplying a battery to power a breathing machine which the ceases to work in the middle of the night.
We were told when this was requested that they deal withis sort of request every week so no problem. However at 3am it is a problem which is not fixable then
Also not acceptable is being told that your second cup of coffee( and bear in mind this is a small cup,not even a mug) has to be paid for!
Are they serious? If a full breakfast is included then surely that includes your coffee?
When we queried this, thinking the waitress was having some sort of joke,the answer was to direct us to the free chicory tasting powdered coffee.
Food for dinner was well presented but beans stringy and these are an extra!
We won't have the chance to return but would like to think they can improve so that my cynical nature doesn't just think that this place is a bit of scrubland with a few fancy tents on it selling a so called experience to people.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterGlamper, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for providing your feedback, Management have taken it on board and have addressed these problems. We've contacted your travel agent who were not aware that special arrangements were required and would have informed us should they have known. Having met you at your tent in such a fine mood, we're deeply sorry your opinion has changed and hope that perhaps one day you may consider visiting again.
Kind regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I wouldn't normally write reviews, but I felt compelled to so that other couples have some more info before they fork out $500/night.
We have stayed in a bunch of luxury Eco places before (Ratua private island being our favourite), and I think the trip advisor views of paperbark compared to that are quite misleading.
3 pluses, 3 question marks...
+ getting away!
+ tent and bathroom were very cool & natural & secluded
+ brekky very good
? It is built on a wetland (aka swamp) beautiful for bird spotting, but odd choice for a camp, regardless of time of year, suggest the whole place (including bedding your clothes tent etc) will be very damp
? Service - frankly there wasn't any. Receptionist and wait staff reminded me of a best western motel at best. Whilst it's nice to be left in peace, for a place with only 12 tents, the service could have been charismatic and could have made the weekend. Relais and chateaux call it the "mark of the innkeeper" and whilst I read a nice story on the website I didn't feel it at all at the camp
? The bed was 2 singles stuck together so had a big seam down it - not conducive to the romantic weekend thing...

Overall - a cool experience but very overpriced for wet location and lacking service. Surely there are better Eco camps in Australia??? If not, I'm opening one!!!!



  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HungryHelensAdvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Yes, the safari style tents (spacious, beautifully furnished, clean hardwood floors, supremely comfortable bed, hot water showers) made for a very special experience unto itself, but the star of Paperbark is it's food. We went for the Pamper package which included Dinner for Two for both nights, and Breakfast for Two each morning. The menu is exceptional, the ingredients fresh, and the plating exquisite. Each meal was a culinary experience rivalling a big city experience and we are picky diners! From the fresh baked corn bread, to the crisp roast chicken, the care and passion was blatant in every plate presented.

Beyond the food, we found Paperbark to be a beautifully quiet place, serene - "wild" enough to wake up to bounding kangaroos steps from the tent yet "civil" enough with great amenities. We stayed in the Bandicoot, which contrary to previous reviews was very quiet, we could glimpse the main building through the trees around the back of the tent, but it was no issue at all. We also took advantage of the free kayaks and had lovely early morning jaunts down the Creek.

A great value, and a lovely establishment. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeesumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend - it was deadly quiet! very comfortable accommodation however there is no electricity in the rooms there are lights which are solar and thats about it! At first I thought oh no what have I gotten myself into but it was actually very nice not to have a tv, or fridge, etc. I loved the open air bathroom however I wouldn't recommend going any later than March because I imagine you would freeze! It was very enjoyable to get back to nature.

Room Tip: We had a delux tent - the Kingfisher it was the last tent and therefore very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunter valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a 4 night stay @ Paperbark, which totally blew me away, as he is definitely not a camper, I'm the camper!!! Well I don't know where to begin, to convey what an awesome 4 days & nights, we experienced! From the moment we entered reception until the moment we checked out, we were made to feel really special. Billie-Jade you were wonderful and certainly a huge asset to the business.....Sandra our German waitress, what a beautiful person you are, both inside and out, again what an asset!!! To the chefs, what can we say???? The food was magnificent, with me going outside my comfort zone and trying (and loving) raw fish, kangaroo and rare rump, you certainly excelled!!! So to all at Paperbark, a huge thank you for an amazing stay that was faultless in every way. I strongly recommend Paperbark Camp to anyone wanting to experience something out of the ordinary and a truly memorable indulgence!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenni191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a very relaxing two night break here for my birthday. It has been on our wish list for a while. Paper Bark is lovely. Though it feels very remote once you are there, in fact, it is not very far away at all from civilisation, so it's very accessible and an ideal destination for a weekend break. We had the larger deluxe tent and were very pleased with the standard. It is very elegant but understated. This is not super high-end luxury. But the things that matter with regards the tent are very well done - plenty of soft pillows, very good quality linens, lovely soft duvet on the bed and an incredibly soft and comfortable mattress. There are good quality toiletries in the bathroom and lots of bug spray! Though our stay was relatively bug-free. (Lots of mosquito spray seemed to do the trick). The outdoor shower and toilet is nice (if a bit daunting with regards to the bug issue - but we didn't see any spiders).
Apart from the great tents, the highlight of Paper Bark was the food. It was really fantastic. We ate in the restaurant both nights - its a set menu - and we did the wine-matching option both nights. The meals on each night were completely different and incredibly good, with the wines always incorporating at least a few local/regional options that were excellent. For the money, the food and wine was excellent value. And the corn bread was amazing! We felt that the staff, though extremely nice, did let them down a bit; service was a little hap-hazard, with the wines not arriving with the courses and things being forgotten. The staff just seemed a little inexperienced. It was a minor thing and didn't colour our experience at all but with food that exceptional, the service probably should be too. Having said that, the environment and ambience is quite unusual and unique, with possums strolling along the balcony etc so it's a bit more laid back than a typical high-end restaurant anyway....! And I want to reiterate that the staff were very nice!
Speaking of laid-back, we did take a canoe out on our second day, paddling to Huskisson for a drink and a bucket of prawns before heading back. We are quite fit and experienced paddlers - be warned! It really is one and a half hours each way! At least! And against the tide, it is not much fun! We enjoyed our excursion immensely but would not advise most people to attempt to go all the way to Husky and back unless they are prepared to put in some hard graft! Also, the team at Paper Bark, in typical laid back Aussie fashion, didn't really give us much of a brief when it came to putting in the canoe at Husky - we couldn't find any where to tie up the canoe easily. We eventually asked the local kayak rental company if we could stick it on his jetty for an hour or so but it was all a bit confusing and a bit annoying. Make sure you get the Paper Bark guys to tell you exactly where to put in at Husky - we're still not sure, to be honest, where we were meant to go. And make sure the canoe you select has some sort of rope on the bow so you CAN tie up if you have to (instead of dragging onto land, which may not be an option). We really liked Paper Bark and would recommend it for a chance to get away from it all - no wifi in the rooms/tents is great. If you need to check emails you can do it in the main restaurant/reception area. If you're so desperate for wifi, go somewhere else for a 'break'. Regarding comments from pervious reviewers regarding lighting in the tents, we found it fine. It's not really bright, but there were small reading lamps attached to the wall next to the bed on each side and angled correctly they did the trick, no problem.

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest tent which is called King Parrot. It is quite a lot larger than the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_G.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollamia
23.7 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
552 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
151 reviews
2.6 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
260 reviews
8.5 mi away
South Coast Retreat
South Coast Retreat
#1 of 2 in Greenwell Point
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paperbark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Property: Paperbark Camp
Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Woollamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Woollamia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia
Paperbark Camp Australia/Woollamia, New South Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing