We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glimpse of a long gone era”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dimbulah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyrconnell Gold Mine Cottages
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent two nights here while doing an historical peninsula tour. Tyrconnell is one of the few places that still has tangible evidence of the once great Hodgkinson Golfield. We arrived late in the day and were settled into one of the cottages which was rustic but comfortable. What a surprise the next morning to walk out on the verandah and see the majestic Mt Mulligan bathed in the sun's golden glow! Went for a drive to Kingsborough (10 minutes away and a nice little oasis) and returned for the mine tour when a group of other adventurers arrived about 11:00. Cate started off with some history of the goldfield and Tyrconnell itself, then Andy took over and guided us down to the old battery for some more history and a demonstration of the battery in operation. Afterwards we all had cake and tea on Andy and Cate's massive verandah. We left Tyrconnell the next morning, stopping at what is left of Thornborough and it's cemetery before driving to the magnificent Mt Mulligan, about 30 minutes away. I regret not booking the cemetery tour as we were very impressed with Cate's earlier presentation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

After my hairdresser recommended Tyrconnell as a great place to visit in near proximity to Cairns but still managing to immerse one in a true outback experience, we travelled there in September and spent 2 nights in one of the cabins. What a wonderful place this is! Both the camping ground and the cabins are well appointed and spotlessly clean. Our cabin had superb views over the surrounding countryside and it was tastefully and meticulously decorated and fitted out in true heritage fashion. The proprietors have set up strategically placed wood fire places dotted over the property so that even those staying in the cabins can enjoy an open wood fire cook up if the Weber Q BBQ on the spacious verandah isn't enough! There are a number of other wonderful attractions within easy driving distance of Tyrconnell and as local North Queenslanders, we've vowed to go back with interstate visitors at the next opportunity.

Room Tip: The cabin which is highest up the hill has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

An excellent location for a weekend in the outback
comfortable accommodation in the cottages plus sheltered camp site pitches
The owners Cate and Andy could not have been more friendly or helpful
A wonderful experience not to be forgotten.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwin44-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We spent three weeks traveling in Australia, and Tyrconnell was our favorite and most memorable accommodation. The owners were very friendly, fun and knowlegable, and they fed us extremely well. Our cabin was so comfortable and relaxing and absolutely in keeping with its remote outback location. We loved sitting on the porch and enjoying the sunset and awakening to the sounds of Butcher Birds and other wildlife. We climbed a nearby peak, visited old cemetaries, toured the gold mine, and celebrated my 50th birthday. We spent three days at Tyrconnell, but wish we could have stayed longer. It really is a special and lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJEBishop_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

this stay was great, it encouraged me my frends and family to moove to the dimbulah area, it is in a central position the town is verry freindly and you get to know allmost every one in the town with in afew months of being there.

  • Stayed: January 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2006

This was the highlight of my visit – an experience that was so unusual and historical and a real outback feel.
Only took 2 hours to drive from Cairns – passing through Mareeba and Dimbulah. I left my car at Dimbulah and Andy (the owner) picked me up in his 4WD to go to Tyrconnel – as it is about 40min drive on dirt road.

By the time you get there,you really feel you are in the middle of nowhere.
There are only 3 old cabins – all very originally done, complete with claw foot baths, old iron beds and antique furnishings. They are 2 bed and 3 bed cottages.

Andy took me on a tour of the gold mine, which is right where all the cabins are, so walking distance, while his wife, Cate got dinner ready (while looking after 3 little ones under 4yrs) plus looking after my 4yr old!! Normally she has someone that helps with the kids while visitors are around, but it was the end of the season, so doing everything herself!

You enjoy home cooked meals up at the main house, you can visit the lookout at sunset – that looks out over the mine site, and you can also do gold panning.
Unfortunately the creek was dry when I was there, so they set up a trough with some dirt from the river, and gold panned that way. My daughter managed to get a few grains of gold.

I would highly recommend this visit.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyrconnell Gold Mine Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrconnell Gold Mine Cottages

Address: Thornborough, Kingsborough Rd, Dimbulah, Queensland 4872, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Dimbulah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Dimbulah
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Tyrconnell Gold Mine Cottages Australia/Dimbulah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing