We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but few cheaper options for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location but few cheaper options for families.”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good location but few cheaper options for families. Cabins expensive during 'high' period. Toilets were pretty spartan. Reasonable accomodation but a lot of kids riding bikes fast (nearly cleaned up a couple of times) and making noise throughout the park.

Room Tip: Accommodation away from backpackers and kids would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 663Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We acknowledge there needs to be stricter rules for bikes during our busy period. Being a family camp, the summer holidays bring many children who love the freedom of camping, and naturally noise levels rise. We have a policy of quiet time after 10.30 to ensure a good nights sleep. During peak season we have comparable rates. In shoulder season our cabins are easily affordable, even for large families. We appreciate you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    210
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
287
230
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were lucky to be able to book a beautiful bungalow in this campsite. Situated just a few steps from one of the best beaches in the Coromandel, the bungalow was new, furnished to a very high standard and very well equipped, with everything provided, even tea and coffee. We appreciated the dishwasher etc. The beds were comfortable and with lovely pillows. The weather was the best and the beach is heartbreakingly beautiful. You can jump on the water taxi to Cathedral Cove (5 minutes). The campsite is busy and the tents are just a few feet away but the noise stops at 10pm and it is quiet until dawn when the considerable birdlife will wake you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craventourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Our beach bungalows are the newest addition to our accommodation range, and are great if you'd like the comforts of home. As we have a focus on creating family-friendly holidays, these were designed specifically with lots of space to spread out and relax. The natural environment here continues to amaze us and our guests. If you join us again outside of peak season you'll find even more bird life! We really appreciate your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to Hahei since my parents brought me as a baby. Over the years we have tried many different places around the country but now we just come back to Hahei every year. It's got everything! Great facilities, on the beach (which is one of the most stunning beaches in the world and kid friendly), walks, shops (just don't go near the takeaway bar) and restaurants and cafés. Hahei is NZ's premium family holiday destination, just don't tell anyone!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hahei is no longer a secret although has managed to keep its quaint village charm. We enjoy welcoming generations of families back to the resort year after year. Kids, parents, and grandparents alike make friends throughout the camp and during lazy days at the beach. See you again and for many years to come. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We rented a kitchen cabin for 5 nights, really enjoyed our stay, the facilities at the resort are fantastic, clean, plenty of staff to help you if you need it. The beach is beautiful and only a minute or two walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Being on the Hahei beachfront is the resort's best asset! Our team is always happy to help whether at reception or working on the property. We appreciate your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for the first time over the January holidays, were down in F block loved the shade, but a huge walk to the toilets which were very dirty over our time there, toilet paper everywhere, locks falling off, a thick layer of dust in both toilets and showers. No freezers, and they charge you too store in a freezer which when you are paying high rates wasnt appreciated. Security is non existent, we never saw anyone in F block the whole time were were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodzey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We do appreciate any feedback, and thank you for taking the time to respond. Freezer space is difficult to manage during Peak Season. Guests can relax knowing that their frozen goods are secure. There is a freezer available for slicker pads. Bathrooms are checked regularly during peak season. We have noted all ablutions comments for discussion, and look to make positive changes for next Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our family has been camping with friends in E block for 5+ years now and will continue to do so. We love the fact that our families get the same sites each year allowing us to all make some firm friendships with the other families around us - we all look out for one another....especially when the weather isn't ideal! While the fees are not cheap they are probably comparable with other camp- grounds that have such an amazing location. I'm pleased to read on here that more ablutions blocks are being planned and while the facilities are reportedly checked frequently I wish they would clean the walls when required - the same yucky marks were there for 2 weeks in more than one or two cubicals! Waiting for showers need not be a problem...if there is a queue we went back and had a glass of wine instead....No queues later in the evening! But why are the unisex showers almost always only luke warm??? Thanks for another great summer holiday guys!

Room Tip: Check out the resort map on their website to get a site that suits your needs. Some sites are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-blockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
What a great Summer we've had! We appreciate your response. Cleaning appears to be our main complaint and is definitely being reviewed. We like your suggestion regarding showering outside of our busiest time ( 6-7pm ) where the lines are shorter, and the showers are hotter. See you next Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a great camping ground that meets all our requirements - on a beach, near fun family attractions (Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach), plenty of trees to climb, relaxed atmosphere, etc.

We love it and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluSwedeShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
We're excited about the future of the resort. The proximity to Cathedral Cove is unbeatable, and with beautiful Hahei Beach right on our doorstep it's hard not to be relaxed and enjoy your surroundings. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing