We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wide range of facilities on a beautiful beach cove” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hahei Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Uttar Kashi
Level Contributor
351 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Wide range of facilities on a beautiful beach cove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I spent several days in a cabin at this charming campground and resort. You can bring a tent or a camper or you can rent a well furnished cabin or apartment suite. They have accommodations for every budget - right on the dunes beside the beach. The beach is clean and good for swimming, but even better is the kayak safaris that are organized each morning. A nice trail hike of about an hour leads to Cathedral Cove, one of the most charming in the area. Hot springs are only a half hour drive away. Worth seeing, but a bit crowded and anticlimactic.

Room Tip: The small cabins are quite adequate, but for the nice suites you have to pay. If you're in a cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atmananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Wow! You've covered a lot of the Hahei highlights. We also highly recommend the Kayak tours. The Hahei Explorer is another great local adventure. Thank you for your compliments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Family Cottage. Thanks for visiting us on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    193
    44
    23
    6
See reviews for
250
207
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We camped for 8 nights right down the end of C Block. Our 2nd year back at Hahei. This is a non powered site, located opposite the new beach bungalows, and VERY close to beach access.
Because it's near the end of the camp, it's very quiet and you have no 'through' traffic, and hardly anyone walking past your tent.
Our tent site was great - huge site, with a tree to tie a clothesline to and a tap at the back of the tent.
While most of the facilities are a bit 'tired', they are well maintained and I hear there are plans for a new toilet block down C Block.
AWESOME beach, very safe for kids, and a short stroll to the store and Maddens Ice Cream/Pizza Parlour.
We love Hahei!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Great to see you back again. We love Hahei and the local icecream parlour. also! The C block sites are a safer, quieter option for families with small children. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is our second time at Hahei Holiday Resort. We usually camp in a powered site. One of our favourite places to stay in January. The beach is beautiful and proximity to other areas like Whitianga, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach makes it a great place to visit.

The resort itself is well laid out, particularly the smaller sateliite toilet blocks and dish washing areas prevent long queues at the main abultion block. The facilities are great if a little dated but clean and well looked after. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The kids love the freedom of roaming the campground and ability to walk up to the shops for an ice-cream. Love the relaxing atmosphere and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, General Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear Hahei is a favorite- with so much to see and do right here in the village or surrounding areas as you mentioned, it's hard not to love!
The staff take pride in keeping the grounds and facilities clean and tidy and we are always happy to help with any questions you may have.
We do our utmost to keep our little campers safe, keeping speed limits to walking pace & enforcing helmets on bikes. Kids love exploring with their new friends and checking out the campground – we really appreciate parents educating their children on road safety.
No beach holiday is complete without an ice cream (not just for the kids!) to cool off after a hot summer's day.
Thanks again for taking the time to review Hahei Holiday Resort and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just returned from our 5th year camping in Hahei. We had the most wonderful 10 nights even though there were gale force winds and rain for 2 of the nights. We have a great powered site in E Block which we had to wait 3 years to get due to the "pecking order". E Block is the best area for families (our 2 daughters are 6 and 8) as it is close to the beach and all the amenities and everyone respects the no noise after 10:30pm rule. I agree with some of the other reviews that the toilets are quite basic but that's what camping is all about isn't it? Small price to pay for direct access to a stunning beach and great location. Well done to all the staff who are super friendly and manage to please everyone's request to campsites and dates! We are looking forward to returning next year, my kids love the freedom of being able to bike round the campsite and meet loads of new friends.

Room Tip: E Block for young families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMikeEllaEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, General Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Wow what a great review! Like you said, the stunning beach and great location are what makes Hahei Holiday Resort a great choice for a family holiday. We are glad to hear you love your E Block site and the kids have space to run around and get a good nights sleep!
The staff do their best to suit everyone's individual needs and requests for the busy season. We have established a 'site history record' to give priority to those who love their particular site so much they choose it year after year.
We look forward to seeing you next summer for your 6th year in Hahei!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

It may be a function of the lack of competition in the area but the 'villa' we stayed in was overpriced relative to typical NZ standards.
Stayed in a bottom floor studio unit that was fitted out with a very old interior (including a small box tv). It was like we had been teleported back into the late 70's.
$170pn for a very dated studio bottom floor unit is too expensive.
It is also part of a camping ground, which in itself is not a problem but all the restrictive rules stand (no visitors etc). As i recall they didnt even accept credit cards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at Hahei Holiday Resort for 3 nights in a Basic Cabin. It was basically a bedroom, with double bed, bunks, a shelf storage unit and a fridge. It was good for short term stay and when the weather was good. Because we had friends camping there, we didn't mind the size because we weren't in our room much. It wouldn't have been so good if it had been raining though, being so small. It was close to the amenities, which were kept clean and tidy.
Having young children, we were glad it was right beside the beach, so no main roads to cross. The beach was beautiful, with no big waves to worry about. The location was great, only a 10 min drive to ferry across to Whitianga. So many things to do in this area. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I would definitely stay there again, and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, this cabin was good, although slightly small. I would book a bigger one ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
The Basic Cabins are our budget accommodation. We have a variety of options available for guests who prefer a Seaview or the comforts of home. The resort is a safe option having Hahei beach accessible with no main roads to cross. We appreciate you recommending the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our 9th year camping peak season at Hahei. We have visited other times too we love it so much. This is the best place to stay. It's has a great ambience and is social and right at one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The sites are a good size and the staff are really helpful,. No extras to pay for except Internet. With cathedral cove and Hot water beach as neighbours and Whitianga and Tairua nearby the location is supreme.

Room Tip: Read swimming pool as beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for being such loyal guests! We can't disagree with any of your comments. Hahei beach is stunning and safe; it is the best 'swimming pool' we know of! :-) Our sites are generous at approximately 8 X 8 square metres, and are big enough for all your belongings to fit within the boundaries. We aim to create a relaxed family environment. We're happy you like the atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
5.5 mi away
Seabreeze Holiday Park
Seabreeze Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Whenuakite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing