We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay here recently. The view from our campervan was right out onto the beach. Just gorgeous and really well run, clean and efficient. Highly recommended. Try and book out of season on one of the beachfront sites.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivermush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your compliments on the operation of the resort. The team works to make continual improvements and are happy that you noticed. We recommend the hilltop sites also, for campervans and caravans, and if you arrive early enough, sites 1-6 have the best seaviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    208
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
282
227
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just spent three nights at the Sea Villas at this holiday resort. We had the most incredible time. The staff went out of their way to help us and the stay was beyond stellar, white sand beaches, incredible water, a cute tiny village with a nice cafe, a beautiful walk to the spectacular Cathedral Cove, one of the wonders of NZ, a fantastic villa with all mod cons, deck, balcony, fully stocked kitchen, two bedrooms...Really one of the nicest holidays I've ever had an a brilliant family experience. There wasn't alot of 'kid's stuff' but that didn't matter at all as the beach was so gorgeous and the green front lawn a sweet place to kick a beach ball, we weren't lacking for anything nor was our two year old, who was also in heaven...Thanks to everyone there for such a great experience!!!

Room Tip: the villas are extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSLightsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Fantastic! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. With the Seaview Villas just a stones throw from Hahei beach, and views overlooking the bay, they make for a perfect getaway. Thank you for acknowledging the staffs effort, it genuinely makes our day. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Park, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is the perfect place to go glamping. Plenty of options to choose from for every budget. Peaceful yet plenty to do, a perfect place for a relaxing break! Minutes from hot water beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you Agnes for your recommendation. This the the perfect time of year for those avoiding the hustle and bustle of peak season. We are thrilled you enjoyed your relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We took our 1yo toddler, and chose the comfort cabin with separate bunk room and attached bathroom. Facilities were lovely and clean and everything we wanted & needed. Main double bed a little thrashed and I ended up sleeping in a single to avoid squashy night with my husband, but no biggy. The separate bathroom probably wasn't worth it in retrospect, as we had to access from verandah (for this cabin, others didn't) and with an adjoining unit right beside us on the same deck (which we weren't aware of how close), it was hardly private - plus the shower in the main toilet block was heaps better. Beautiful location, fantastic access to beach, camp facilities pretty good. We had heaps of campers come and go around us over the 7 nights, yet it was never noisey or crowded. Would happily come again.

Room Tip: Study the floor plans to make sure you get the room layout that suits your needs best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geegee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Large comfort cabin 8 is the only Comfort cabin with an external bathroom. This is easily accessed from the deck, and is exclusively for your use. We have other accommodation options available to suit different needs and requirements.
We have noted your comments regarding the bed and shower for our team to discuss. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was my 4th trip back to Hahei Holiday Resort this time camping with my kids aged 5 and 6 years. We had the best holiday. There is much to do in Hahei and the location of the camping ground (right on the beach) couldn't be better. Great safe beach for swimming and a lovely tidal river - all perfectly safe for littlies to play around in. Yes you get the odd noisy night from inconsiderate groups of people but that's what you can expect at any camping ground (sadly). It's hard to beat this camping ground so will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Welcome back! Sounds like you had a wonderful holiday. The estuary does provide a fun pool for the kids to splash around when the tide is right. Hahei beach has a reputation of being safe, and a great place to swim.
On the odd occasion we do need to remind guests that we are a family camp, and that quiet time is strictly 10.30pm. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Recent my wife and I stayed at Hahei Holiday resort,We enjoyed our stay apart from the lousy weather all was ok.There were a couple of things that came to mine,one was that people took wine and beer in to the lounge while children were in there,this is a no,no as it seems people did not read the back of the information paper handed out to everyone and the owners did not police there policy,usual the owner would walk around and check these out.Also the other thing people talking and laughing loud after 10.30pm,I went to talk to them about the noise only to be go back to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned we do expect quiet time at 10.30pm and make everyone aware of this on arrival through our information sheet. We are a family oriented park and appreciate when everyone follows our rules, including keeping alcohol within their site/unit. As we are such a large property our management cannot be in all places at once, but we are on call at any time and appreciate when guests alert us of an issue. We will always endeavour to resolve it so everyone has a pleasant and relaxing holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We've stayed at this campground for many years and continue to love it. Right on the beach, friendly staff and good basic facilities. It's a fabulous location with a great swimming/snorkelling/boogie boarding beach, stunning Pohutukawa trees for shade, small river for kids to play in, rocky ends of the beach for exploring, great kayaking and boat trip options, walk to Cathedral Cove and other walks, plus animal farms and a ferry ride to Whitianga within 30mins drive. Also great coffee and icecream just down the road. Can't beat it!! (only feedback would be that an upgrade to the playground would be a real boost, plus the kitchen/bathroom facilities are starting to feel a bit tired)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Melanie. Wow - you've covered it all! Your review highlights all that we love about Hahei and the surrounding areas. There are future plans for upgrades around the camp. Thank you for your feedback, see you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing