We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hahei Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Great friendly service. Fabulous amenities. Location excellent. Very central to walks, shops, boat activities. Lovely trees and bird life. The black cat was very friendly. Weather was awesome the whole week.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Welcome to Hahei! Thanks for joining us over Beach Hop weekend. Having your classic cars in camp was a real thrill for our guests and staff alike. We were fortunate to have such spectacular weather! Our camp cat Popsy really enjoys mingling with the fisherman! Thanks for staying, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    207
    46
    24
    6
See reviews for
273
224
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This place was one of the most pleasant stays we had in New Zealand. The staff was helpful and the sea villa was very comfortable. We were able to hook up with our kayak trip right there, on the beach and the laundry facilities were a definite plus.

D Ramsey
San Francisco, CA

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Debra, Thank you for your fabulous review, we really appreciate your comments. Our Sea View Villa's are extremely comfortable as you mentioned, and very hard to leave! Having laundry facilities in each of the Villas ensures the chores get done (sorry about that!).
The kayak tours and other boat trips leave directly from Hahei Beach, straight out from your front door! Great you got to experience the highly recommended Cathedral Cove Kayak trip.
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We didn't want to leave! Great staff who were great about changing our booking at the last minute. Accommodation (Comfort Cabin en-suite) spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped. Magical location with beach a few steps away. If you want to spend more time on the beach/water, bring as much groceries as you can - there is a good local 'corner' shop but the big supermarket in Whitianga is a good drive away or a $10 return trip by ferry (so you will be limited to what you can carry on the walk from the store to the boat).
Lovely little craft shop in the village too - pleasantly pleased at the affordability of gifts in it.
We really want to return to Hahei :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hispanofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Leaving Hahei is always tough! Magical is a great word for our location - we love it too! Good advice to stop at a major supermarket en-route. Our local convenience store can provide you with almost anything your forget, but has limited opening hours. Beach Habitat in Hahei, and Moko Gallery at Hot Water Beach are fantastic gift shops. Thank you making the team proud with your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in the very new Beach bungalows. These are great and perfect for our family of four. We were right on the beach, although you can't see it due to the dunes and reserve in front of the bungalows. The staff rang us en route to see where we were, and gave us a late check out as we got in quite late. The bungalows had loads of clean towels, a big kitchen with everything you would need for a self-catering weekend. The resort was well set out and clean. It's close to beautiful beaches such as Cathedral cove and hot water beach. The lovely cafe in Hahei was a short walk away. We were able to get a spade for digging our hot pool at Hot water beach from the camp ground. We would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: The Beach bungalow furtherest from the campers would be best as they can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linso2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We've had such positive feedback from the new beach Bungalows. All you really need to bring on holiday is your beach gear, and be ready for some relaxation! From the Bungalows - Hahei beach is just a quick wander over the dunes, and we love that local shops and Cafe are just a short walk into the village. We thank you for your comments. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

No camping like this in Canada! I was pleasantly surprised - kitchens, bbq, laundry, hot showers (free) and even fish cleaning stations. We got a spot right under an avocado tree, steps from the beach - I loved hearing the waves crash as I fell asleep. I wonder if there would be some way to institute a "curfew" of sorts, unlike North American camping, your tents are right close to each other, and when your neighbors want to drink all nigh, it can be hard to tune them out. Alternatively, a "group" side and a couples/families side would work - in the quiet season anyway. I would go back, it was a great experience and price.

Room Tip: Ask for a spot on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Welcome to New Zealand camping! We purposely do not encourage segregated areas of the camp, as we expect all guests to abide by 1 set of rules. It's unfortunate your neighbours showed disregard and tainted your camping experience with us. On a happier note - thank you for all the compliments, we're really fortunate to be in such a location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hahei Holiday resort has a number of advantages to it - it's a great location with the beach being a short (2 mins) walk away and are a number of ways to stay whether it is lodging or camping. The facilities themselves are also fine, with showers / bathrooms, kitchens etc all well kept and, most importantly, clean.

The only downside, and something that completely wrecked our stay here, was the attitude of the staff. The 'security guard' Alan, was clearly power tripping and downright rude to my friend calling her a 'stupid b*****', that is of course, after some other choice remarks. Going to complain to the employee in charge in the evening proved just as unhelpful, with the woman completely unconcerned with her employee's behaviour and actually acting as we were inconveniencing her. Alan also made sure to try to push the blame to my friend which his boss didn't try to deter at all. Suffice to say, if he has said what he did to my friend in England - with other witnesses non the less - I'm pretty sure he would have been fired.

So whilst this is a great spot, the downright rudeness of the employees in general would make me recommend that people stay away - people like that have a way of ruining someone's day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are committed to providing a safe and quiet environment for all our guests to enjoy. It is unfortunate that, on rare occasions a security guard is required to manage noise levels and monitor and control questionable behaviour. It is disappointing this group continued to be disruptive and argumentative well after the acceptable quiet time and after several requests by Alan to pack up and go to bed. We acknowledge that our security guard (who is licensed and contracted independently to Hahei Holiday Resort) used inappropriate language after being continuously provoked but he did apologise while the group discussed the matter with myself (Office Manager) at the office at 11.30pm.
The complainant was listened to and it was explained to her that she could follow up with a written report of her side of events if she wished the matter to be escalated.
After repeating her story several times, and as she was continuing to work herself into an agitated state, she was asked to go back to bed, encouraged to do so by her friends as well.
To date we have not heard from her. There is a report on record from the security guard as this is standard practice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a beach view camper slot (E-1) with a terrific view and a path to the water. The staff were very friendly and helpful (marked the map with open spots and gave us time to pick our own). Good internet, showers, laundry, kitchen. Loved it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Ron!
H Block Beachfront sites are just a quick stroll to the waters edge, and are our most popular choice for camper and caravans. A perfect place to unwind after a day on the beach! Thank you for your great review, our knowledgeable staff work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing