We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay in Hahei” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hahei Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Hahei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Hahei Holiday Resort in one of the ensuite cabins. Here are my notables:
Location: Excellent location right next to a beautiful beach and only a short walk into town. The grounds around the property were well maintained.
Room: Neat and clean with a nice flat screen TV, kitchenette, and queen bed. The bathroom (and particularly the shower) was a bit small but nothing to really complain about. The accommodations in the comfort cabins aren’t lavish (it is a holiday park after all) but they were comfortable and clean.
Customer Service: Check in and out was quick. The staff accommodated all our requests and even provided us with a free shovel for our trip to Hot Water Beach.
Overall: It was a good experience and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a less expensive option in the Coromandel area. The holiday park accommodates camping, camper vans, and has several cabins/self contained options. I imagine that your experience is quite different depending on what type of accommodation you choose. Additionally, I was at the Resort during the off season so it was very empty (there were only a couple camper vans). I’m sure the experience is very different when the resort is full of campers during the busy season.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Jen Marie. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. The ensuite cabins are a comfortable choice depending on the beach experience you are looking for. We have a variety of accommodation options and guests are welcome to contact our friendly team for guidance planning their Resort visit. Autumn is a beautiful time of year to enjoy the Coromandel without the Summer crowds. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    207
    46
    24
    6
See reviews for
273
224
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have camped many times in a tent at Hahei - and loved it, but it was a bit cool this time of year, so we decided to stay in the Cathedral Cove Villas and so enjoyed it!
Lovely and peaceful, a wonderfully comfortable bed and everything we needed to relax and put our feet up.
We loved every minute and didn't want to come home. Less than a min to beautiful Hahei Beach - we could have moved in! We will be coming back for more again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Mandy. What an outstanding review! The Villas do provide a lot more warmth than a tent during the winter months! At this time of year, Hahei is such a peaceful and relaxing place to be. Our team are so pleased to hear you loved your experience with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend stay at Hahei Holiday Resort and we cannot say enough about the place. We opted for a Kitchen Cabin and it was wonderful. The park is clean and tidy, the facilities are in great working order, the cabin -- although not flash -- was very comfortable and offered everything a couple could need for a cozy getaway from the city. Only a couple hours from Auckland, it is a great place to relax for even an overnighter. And the scenery doesn't get any better than Hahei and Cathedral Cove.

Room Tip: The Kitchen Cabins are centrally located and have easy access to the toilets & showers, and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Gregory. What a great idea getting out of the city for the long weekend! The kitchen cabins are a comfortable option, nice and close to the amenities. There's always the option of the family kitchen cabin, which is more spacious and modern for extra friends and family.
We're very fortunate to be located on such a beautiful part of the Coromandel coastline! Thank you for the review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Rented a ground floor garden studio for the last 2 days of our holiday in NZ- what a treat!
Well appointed accommodation and right next to such a beautiful beach, breathtaking.
Great walk to Cathedral Cove and short drive to Hot Water beach
Perfect place to unwind and would love to return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilldigger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts! It truly makes the team smile to hear such positive reviews. Studios units are just perfect for couples. We recommend wandering to the Pa site for Sunrise from beautiful Hahei Beach. Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove also provide plenty of natural entertainment. See you when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our third visit to this great camping site, it won't be the last! Very clean, well run, good spacious sites. Really is a beach site, and what a fantastic beach. Very friendly, helpful staff. Free showers and BBQs a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you Angela, and welcome back again! With just a few steps over the dunes you've got sandy toes on beautiful Hahei beach. We feel fortunate to be in such a spot. We love sharing this 'fantastic location' all year, and take pride in making sure our guests have an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Worth the extra $ for beach front location.
Be prepared for families and children during school holidays.
Facilities are very good, clean, tidy and well appointed.
Free showers are a plus!
A late checkout wasn't a problem in our case.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Kevin. Isn't it great that the Hahei Beach location, providing such an amazing holiday, is just a few hours drive away! We recommend the Beach-front sites to our guests with camper-vans and caravans. We feel they are well worth the few extra dollars! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in the new bungalows at the Hahei resort which were well appointed with soaps and towels and amenities. They have a lovely light and bright feel and are luxury by the sea.The bungalows are privately set off to the side of the camp and it was great to have our own piece of the beach and the walkway even has its own cool water shower for getting the sand off your feet/body. My partner who had never been to Hahei before thought it was the most beautiful and stunning beach in NZ and thought Cathedral Cove was just as amazing. A well kept secret, as I have been coming back each year for 3 years now to the resort. The friendly staff give a service that is very efficient, helpful and accomodating.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 636Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thanks Robin. We're really thrilled you loved your upgrade to the Beach Bungalow accommodation. The feedback has been exceptional. It certainly helps having Hahei Beach right on our doorstep! The entire team work really hard to ensure guests enjoy their experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
PS - Your forgotten pillow is in the post! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing